We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location, good hotel”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #49 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“Good Location, good hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

If all roads lead to Rome, all Roman public transport leads to Termini. This hotel is located withing a 100 metres or so of that famous station so getting around from here is easy.
We found the hotel has all we needed with very kind staff, quiet rooms and good air conditioning. Priced above some of the bargains we have to say we have no regrets; we had a busy schedule and each evening we had a comfortable place to return to with good breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubelero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    594
    80
    20
    10
See reviews for
485
1,194
95
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wetheral, Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Diocleziano from 16th to 22nd May and can't praise it enough !
This small (ish) modern hotel was ideally situated just away from the hustle and bustle of Terminii station in a quiet renovated area. Metro, bus and train facilities were a short walk away and the hotel staff provided excellent recommendations for local restaurants, bus tours and guides.
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and helped to make our stay in Rome special and memorable.
We would love to visit again one day and would recommend Hotel Diocleziano to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorderMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Excellent location near Termini station where metro and buses are cheap and easy to get to anywhere in Rome - saves your feet. Hotel pristine, Staff very friendly and helpful, particularly Tommasso on reception. Breakfast plentiful and good quality. Hotel very quiet no road noise or horn honking. As for Rome, mad and vibrant the only down side it was exorbitantly expensive £70 for a two course meal with house wine for two, not in a central location either. Also in 1/2 an hour spent in a street bar three lots of "musicians" passed by with hands out plus a rose thrust in the face and a sunglass seller we gave to the first but it really was a bit much. If you are happy to smile and say no and be prepared to suck up the prices you will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Perfect for an overnight in Rome. We landed in Rome on Friday morning and were headed to the Amalfi Coast via train the next day, so we needed quick and easy accommodations for one night. This hotel was perfectly located. Although it's close to the train station, it's on a very quiet, clean street. No taxi required.

The hotel staff was excellent and the service was better than we've received at more "big name" hotels in Rome. The room, while compact, was scrupulously clean. We had a large jetted tub and shower. Plus, free WiFi and minibar. Two thumbs up.

A great value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hg6649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed here in May '11 for a long weekend break in Rome. Hotel is very clean and looks to be recently redecorated. Rooms are a good size with reasonable views. Beds were a bit firm for our taste. Booked on the basis of other Tripadvisor recommendations and not at all disappointed. The communal areas are small for a 4-star hotel - small bar and tiny lounge but a nice big breakfast room (and the breakfast was a lot more than your typical European croissant and coffee). The staff were all very friendly and helpful If you're used to quiet nights at home the Rome police sirens will keep you awake at night! Only possible down-side is that the hotel is a 20 min walk to the main sights or 3 stops on the metro but the main railway station is 200m from the hotel.

Room Tip: The best views are at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyonhishols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Located in a quiet street close to Termini station, meant easy access to metro, buses & plenty of cabs. We found it a great base to explore Rome from. The hotel is small & quite basic, but it delivers an efficient and high standard of service. Our room/bathroom was fine in terms of size and furnishing, although the bed was a bit hard (we asked for a softer one, they provided it without any fuss). If you are planning on spending more time "out" in Rome rather than "in" a hotel, I would highly recommend this hotel as a base. The staff were all helpful, and responded without any fuss to any of our requests. For what it offered, and based on our stay, it is hard to fault.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIMreddoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Ver nice hotel located within 2 blocks of Termini Station. Excellent, friendly, helpful staff, esp. Tomasso. Good buffet breakfast (they will make you fried eggs if you ask them!). Rooms are clean and efficient (read small) but very typical of European facilities. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWL1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#46 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing