We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service in Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #45 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best service in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Diocleziano for 5 nights on a recent "tour" of Italy. This was our first oversees experience and did not start off well but Tomasso and the other front desk guys at the Doicleziano made everything so much easier. We had booked a "shared" transfer from the airport to the hotel. There were 15-17 other people in this van. The driver went hotel to hotel dropping off guests. We were the next to last to be dropped off. When we got out to retrieve our luggage I noticed that my husband's suitcase was missing. The driver insisted we did not load it in the van while we were the airport. We knew we had and that he had mistakenly left the suitcase on the sidewalk at another hotel while unloading someone else's luggage. The driver, who spoke very little english, went inside the Diocleziano and spoke to Tomasso who was on duty at the time. After an overnight flight, we were all exhausted and upset about the situation. Long story short, Tomasso and the concierge, (I'm so sorry I can't remember his name), made several calls and two hours later our luggage showed up !! The entire staff at the Diocleziano went out of their way every day to make our first stay in Rome wonderful. Everything from their restaurant suggestions to their daily freshly stocked mini frig was great. The last morning of our stay there, we decided to sleep in for a bit. My daughter and I missed breakfast so I went down to the bar area and asked for a cup of cappucinno. I was going to take them both back up but the bar tender said he would bring them up for me. A few minutes later, he showed up with a beautiful tray of pastries, toasts and nutella, and our cappucinno ! What great service. It was also the only hotel in Rome that offered a coffee/tea maker in the room. Very close to the train station, but very quiet location. I would definitely recommend the Diocleziano to anyone travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,480
    582
    78
    19
    10
See reviews for
475
1,172
94
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights a few days back. Had a great stay. Very well located hotel. Rooms are clean and good size. Would definitely recommend. Great buffet breakfast. Most tourist attractions are walking distance. Bus and Train Termini is a 5 min walk.

We took a private taxi back to the airport. Mercedes Benz with a great chauffeur, only Euros 45. The concierge will be able to make a reservation.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euro0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This hotel had everything you would normally expect from a 4-star hotel: clean rooms, friendly staff, decent breakfast and good location. However, the important factors are the extras that they feature. First, the minibar is complimentary with soda and water and restocked daily. If you're travelling in warm months, that's going to save you $10 per day on drinks you would buy. Also, they had a gym and a sauna. And finally, upon checkout, we received a complimentary pair of glasses with Spumante at the bar. Combine the bonuses with the short distance from the train station and this one has great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donkeysaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Flats, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here the night after our cruise ended, planning to leave the next morning for the airport and home to the USA. The staff at this hotel is outstanding. Very friendly. The room was very clean and included complementary drinks (non-alcoholic) in the minibar in the room, and a nice breakfast in the morning. The hotel is tucked away in a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the train station and central bus station. The desk clerk arranged a limo to take us back to the airport for only a couple more euro's than the horrible, and expensive Leonardo Express train service to the airport. If we go back to Rome, we will stay at this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in August prior to our cruise, and it was as lovely as all the reviews have stated. We arrived at Fiumcino (FCO) airport in Rome, and took the Leonardo express train to Termini station. From there, exit on via Marsala and walk up past the plaza full of buses. The hotel is no more than a 10 minute walk from the station. Breakfast is included (ask the server to make you a cappucino or latte) and the wifi is included as well. There are restaurants in the area, and a full supermarket can be found downstairs in Termini station.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

what a great place to stay! nice clean room, friendly people, nice breakfast and locattion is just great, only few mins from central train staion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank This-is-He
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We picked this hotel after reading reviews. It suited our purpose exactly. It is a few minutes from the Termini rail/underground and bus station. It is also the only point on the system where the two metro lines meet. The hotel is tucked away in a quiet side street and there is no noise disturbance whatsoever.
The free mini bar (soft drinks/water) filled up every day was an added bonus after a day sightseeing.
We will cetainly use this hotel again when we revisit Rome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europhile05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#50 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#58 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#79 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing