We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Cost”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Warning: This hotel is in a very bad area. Although the staff was wonderful and the premises very clean, the place is over priced for what you get. The terace room was nice; basically a patio. The bathroom was well equiped with a jacuzzi tub/shower. The room was small but large enough. I just think that if you need to stay in the area neer to the train station, you might want to try the Hotel Mediterano. It was in a MUCH better area and the rooms are bigger.

Room Tip: The terrace rooms have a very big patio and are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diocleziano, Direttore at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Whilst we thank this former guest of ours for taking the time to write a review, we feel that we have to reply to his comments. Of course we do know that it is impossible to please everybody at all times and in every aspect..

We are located in an area which is considered to be one of the best to visit Rome (as anybody is able to read from the comments on Tripadvisor), near the railway station, the air terminal to the airports and the underground which takes you to the Spanish Steps or Colosseo in 2 stops only. It is not considered a dangerous area: however, Rome is no different from any other large city at night and we urge all guests to use prudence when out and about especially after dark. The walk from the hotel to the Spanish Steps, Colosseo and other historical places such as the Foro Romano and Palatino, can be done in half an hour. The National Museum Romano is next door. The walk to the St. Peter is about 1 hour. Íf the weather is poor or if you don't like walking you can take a bus tour across the city. The bus stop is also close to the hotel. So sightseeing is very easy.

Just a quick note, our rates are justified by the location and the services offered. The price is commensurate with the quality offered. Benefits included in the room rate:
Rich full buffet breakfast, All beverage from minibar free of charge, High speed Wi Fi connection, Free use of internet point! (3 workspaces), Free use of the new Gym and Sauna.

We wish a pleasant stay to all those who would choose to stay with us at the Hotel Diocleziano

Anna Aveta
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Diocleziano for 5 nights on a recent "tour" of Italy. This was our first oversees experience and did not start off well but Tomasso and the other front desk guys at the Doicleziano made everything so much easier. We had booked a "shared" transfer from the airport to the hotel. There were 15-17 other people in this van. The driver went hotel to hotel dropping off guests. We were the next to last to be dropped off. When we got out to retrieve our luggage I noticed that my husband's suitcase was missing. The driver insisted we did not load it in the van while we were the airport. We knew we had and that he had mistakenly left the suitcase on the sidewalk at another hotel while unloading someone else's luggage. The driver, who spoke very little english, went inside the Diocleziano and spoke to Tomasso who was on duty at the time. After an overnight flight, we were all exhausted and upset about the situation. Long story short, Tomasso and the concierge, (I'm so sorry I can't remember his name), made several calls and two hours later our luggage showed up !! The entire staff at the Diocleziano went out of their way every day to make our first stay in Rome wonderful. Everything from their restaurant suggestions to their daily freshly stocked mini frig was great. The last morning of our stay there, we decided to sleep in for a bit. My daughter and I missed breakfast so I went down to the bar area and asked for a cup of cappucinno. I was going to take them both back up but the bar tender said he would bring them up for me. A few minutes later, he showed up with a beautiful tray of pastries, toasts and nutella, and our cappucinno ! What great service. It was also the only hotel in Rome that offered a coffee/tea maker in the room. Very close to the train station, but very quiet location. I would definitely recommend the Diocleziano to anyone travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priscilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights a few days back. Had a great stay. Very well located hotel. Rooms are clean and good size. Would definitely recommend. Great buffet breakfast. Most tourist attractions are walking distance. Bus and Train Termini is a 5 min walk.

We took a private taxi back to the airport. Mercedes Benz with a great chauffeur, only Euros 45. The concierge will be able to make a reservation.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank euro0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This hotel had everything you would normally expect from a 4-star hotel: clean rooms, friendly staff, decent breakfast and good location. However, the important factors are the extras that they feature. First, the minibar is complimentary with soda and water and restocked daily. If you're travelling in warm months, that's going to save you $10 per day on drinks you would buy. Also, they had a gym and a sauna. And finally, upon checkout, we received a complimentary pair of glasses with Spumante at the bar. Combine the bonuses with the short distance from the train station and this one has great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Donkeysaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here the night after our cruise ended, planning to leave the next morning for the airport and home to the USA. The staff at this hotel is outstanding. Very friendly. The room was very clean and included complementary drinks (non-alcoholic) in the minibar in the room, and a nice breakfast in the morning. The hotel is tucked away in a quiet side street just a few minutes walk from the train station and central bus station. The desk clerk arranged a limo to take us back to the airport for only a couple more euro's than the horrible, and expensive Leonardo Express train service to the airport. If we go back to Rome, we will stay at this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in August prior to our cruise, and it was as lovely as all the reviews have stated. We arrived at Fiumcino (FCO) airport in Rome, and took the Leonardo express train to Termini station. From there, exit on via Marsala and walk up past the plaza full of buses. The hotel is no more than a 10 minute walk from the station. Breakfast is included (ask the server to make you a cappucino or latte) and the wifi is included as well. There are restaurants in the area, and a full supermarket can be found downstairs in Termini station.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank acyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

what a great place to stay! nice clean room, friendly people, nice breakfast and locattion is just great, only few mins from central train staion.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank This-is-He
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,396 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,271 in Rome
4,330 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#78 of 1,271 in Rome
2,706 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £76 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing