We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Standard Hotel within Easy Reach of the Main Events”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #47 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

A great choice (helped by Trip Advisor!) over many options. Don't let the immediate surrounding streets put you off - they look a little rough around the edges but is very safe at night. The hotel itself is a wonderful standard and spotlessly clean! Free mini bar which is really very handy when you've been pounding the streets. Breakfast was wonderful and fresh with a wide choice. Staff very efficient and will perform all concierge services for you in a timely manner. The nice quiet side street makes sure you have a great nights sleep. Very handy for tourist activities etc. The only thing I would say is that high quality restaurants are around 15 mins walk away as there are none that really stand out nearby. But exploring and discovery is part of the fun! Extremely good value given the price of Rome hotels and the standards first class. Free internet is very handy when planning your activities in the beautiful city of Rome!

Room Tip: Always try your luck with an upgrade - especially if its a big occasion. It's situated on a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinjaRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

We booked this hotel for a five night stay on our first trip to Rome. Two of us travelling alone, having managed to leave the kids with their grandparents.
We had booked on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews and booked through the hotel website, getting about €400 of a saving for web booking direct. We only noticed the negative comments about the hotel location just before we left so we were a little nervous.
Starting with the location, we got a train direct from the airport to Termini station and then had less than a 5 minute walk from the station doors to the hotel (just make sure you walk out the correct door). Some people have commented that the area is very dangerous etc. All I'll say is that it's a city centre location and is exactly the same as any other city in the world with the usual odd types hanging around drinking etc, not too many of them either. I work in a city centre and once you walk around with your eyes open watching out for yourselves you'll do fine.
The hotel itself is fantastic. I have never seen a city centre hotel this clean and well maintained. The rooms are clean and will be made up whatever time of day suits you. There is a free soft drink mini bar in the rooms, free wi-fi and decent tv. Could be a few more English tv channels but overall not bad at all. Also, there is a new gym opened with 3 cardio machines and a half dozen free weights. Not going to do for a hard weights session but will let you stretch out.
I was going to drop a point for a buzzing noise from the circuit board in the room but once the key was out of the slot the electrics went quiet. inconvenient but not too bad.
Finally the staff. Before travelling I sent a couple of emails to staff looking for help with booking restaurants and stuff. They really couldn't do enough to help at every stage of our visit. I could go on all day about them, assisting with booking tickets, restaurants and making a genuine effort to make sure our visit went as well as possible. Breakfast every morning was pleasant with fresh fruit, cereals, pastrys, tea, coffee and juices.
Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definately stay again if returning to Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonyc187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel is located about a block north of Termini Station and is an easy walk with luggage. Due to the spread out nature of most of the attractions in Rome, this is a perfect home- base due to the convenience of having buses as well as the subway station so nearby. Upon arrival, we were checked into our hotel room, which was fairly small and crammed with beds. I was traveling with my two sisters so the room, a standard triple, was litterally two twin beds with a folding bed in a row with just enough room at the end of the beds for a little desk. It was tight! The only way out of bed was to scoot to the end, there was no room between the beds to get out, and of course no nightstand in which to place a clock or water or even my glasses. By far, the smallest room we had on our trip, and among the smallest I have stayed in while traveling in Europe.

The bathroom was spacious and the room was clean. We didn't come to Rome to stay in a hotel room so overall the small size was laughable, especially when we were trying to get up and having to scoot down the bed.

Breakfast was the best we had while in Italy, plenty of fresh tasty pastry, yoghurt, coffee, fruit and the breakfast staff was extremely friendly. The morning we left my sister went to go get an apple and she was handed an "on the go" prepacked breakfast which was very thoughtful. The hotel booked a car service to the airport since we were departing from Rome and the cost was 45 Euro for all three, which was very reasonable.

Due to the close proximity to the train station there is a population of homeless people with obvious mental illness, one of which came up to the car window as we were leaving and babblling. One of my sisters did not like having to go past them on the dark street to the hotel, but the area was populated enough where I never felt we were in jeopardy. Overall the staff was extremely pleasant and the price was excellent and I would recommend without hesitation. Room was also very clean.

One last thing, not related to the hotel, beware of taxi drivers trying to rip you off. One driver cleared the meter then asked for almost double the fare. When questioned he claimed it was his English...which was pretty good. I asked the hotel for a number to report him, but even with his license number it was obvious the officials could not be bothered.

Tip: Baths next door are being restored and while they will be a remarkable attraction one day and may be good if you have a little time to kill, they are not really worth your valuable time in Rome

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nomad413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Close to Termini Station but otherwise a bit removed from many attractions. Overall this didn't bother us as we needed the exercise after 2 weeks in Italy. Clean, comfortable, and QUIET hotel room facing front. All of the staff, and I mean all, were super nice - from the front desk staff, to the bellman, and the breakfast room ladies.
Items in minibar are complementary. My spouse asked bellman to have regular Coke replaced with Diet Coke which was done without question daily.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The staff is helpful, friendly, professional. The rooms are clean and well kept. The location is perfect for tourism - walking distance to many of the primary sites, and a block away from the main train/subway station. As visitor from the U.S., I could not have had a better experience. The staff spoke English perfectly, and they were able to advise on tours and arrange them. I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Rome from the U.S.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The staff at this Hotel are absolutely exceptional! They were all very helpful and kind to us during our stay in Rome. Nothing seemd like it was too much trouble. The location is excellent - very close to Roma Termini from where various tours depart including the hop on hop off buses. An easy and safe walk to Trevi fountain and surrounding restuarants. Excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeandMary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I arrived at this hotel on Monday October, 17 for the start of our honeymoon and from the moment we arrived we felt right at home! There is always someone to greet you at the door with a friendly smile. We are staying in a standard room and it is a very nice size with a king size bed and perfect size bathroom for two people to get ready. The breakfast is very nice and there is plenty to chose from, although you don't want to fill since you will want to eat all day :) the beds are a little on the firm side but still very nice. Whatever you need the staff will never say no...they are very helpful! For a tip on restaurants near the hotel go to resturante famigla ...it is so great and always packed with locals which is a good sign!
Also we are about a 15 min walk from almost everything yet it is on a quite side street...just perfect!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenniferd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
4,310 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
2,438 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £80 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Splitty, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing