We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent visitor”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Frequent visitor”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Diocleziano many times and will continue to do so in the future. The staff is very accommodating and even remembered our anniversary with a bottle of champaign. The rooms are clean, fresh sheets every day and quiet. The location is perfect, within 5 minutes walking to bus/metro. We have come to Rome for many years and since we discovered the Diocleziano, it is "our hotel" and home away from home.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank popspublisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    605
    81
    21
    10
See reviews for
497
1,215
97
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We chose the hotel based on reviews and we were not disappointed. Excellent location, less than five minutes from Termini station & Plaza Republica. We received a free upgrade to a superior room which was very nice, a good size and spotlessly clean. Free minibar (soft drinks). Great choice at breakfast. Really helpful, attentive, courteous staff. Great restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Apart from using the open top bus and a couple of organised tours, my wife & myself walked everywhere, it was very easy to follow maps or ask locals or one of the many policeman if you needed reassurance on which direction to go. About 20 - 25 minutes easy stroll to the Trevi Fountain or the Spanish Steps. Would this hotel recommend to family & friends and we will stay there again on our next trip to this lovely city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vittoria, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We spent a week in Rome. We had the VIP room. King size bed and a terrace. Nice quiet street. Easy walk to the main sights and a short walk to the subway. Good breakfast, helpful staff. Really liked that the minibar was free (soda, water and juice) The view from the terrace was amazing. Lots of shops nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I had been travelling in Italy for a few days and my flight back to the US was from Rome. I selected the Hotel Diocleziano because of the reviews and location. The hotel is located so close to the train station (Roma Termini) it so helpful, as I was alos taking the train to airport in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful explaning how to catch the airport train and with close recommendations for dinner. The room was nice, seemed a little dated in terms of bedspread and carpeting, but more importantly it was clean and quiet. I was able to walk to the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, the Ruins and the Colesseum then took the subway back to the train station. Good location, great staff. I would return here next time with hopefully more than a n afternoon in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCCam94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed 1 night and enjoyed our stay. Can't beat the location to the train station!! Large room, bathroom and very clean!!! The staff was very nice and so friendly!! The breakfast buffet was good with a nice selection for the price. The only thing that was disappointing at the hotel was the Internet although it was free it was also very slow. Overall we had a great stay and will return on our next trip to Rome!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Only stayed on night, in town on business. Location was the main factor in picking the hotel, along with postive reviews here. I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel. Nice large room, excellent bed, roomy bathroom. When I was told at the front desk that there was also an excercise room and a sauna, I regretted having not packed suitable clothes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdehls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Diocleziano.

Won't repeat what other travellers have said suffice to say that its location is great in a nice quiet street, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are all so nice and friendly. Rooms are well appointed including the free soft drink mini bar and free wifi

It makes an ideal base for exploring Rome as its so close to the Metro, train and buses. in addition it's also a two minute walk to the first stop of the hop on hop off sightseeing tour bus (always like to do that on my first day to get my bearings)

There was a good selection at breakfast.

I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elmac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,264 in Rome
1,329 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,264 in Rome
4,185 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,264 in Rome
2,645 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#43 of 1,264 in Rome
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing