We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly reccommeneded!”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #49 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly reccommeneded!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Has been in Rome few times, but his hotel for sure made our last trip there memorable. It's on nice walking distance from a lot of main attractions. Personal at front desk is very polite and helpful. They provide an airport pick up and drop off service for a very reasonable price. Restaurant (breakfast) staff is absolutely fantastic. Well done! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    597
    80
    21
    10
See reviews for
490
1,199
96
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I would recommend this hotel. It is far from pretentious and the rooms are of a good standard. It is not in the 'luxury' hotel league but it serves the purpose. Breakfast is simple and quite good. Convenient location next to the Diocleziano Baths. In a quiet street which is also a bonus. RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripping-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay in Rome. The hotel staff were fantastic on arrival and we found Theodore and Doreen in particular to be very helpful. We stayed in a superior room which was both clean and comfortable. The hydro-massage tub was great and went particularily well with the bubble bath found in the complimentary beauty kit. Mini-bar was restocked for free daily with a selection of soft drinks and water. Breakfast was good quality and included scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, croissants etc. Hotel is in a great location and found it very easy to walk to all the landmarks around Rome. With the aid of a map we receive from Theodore we were able to reach the Collseum in around 20 minutes. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a place to stay in central Rome.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jaypenny88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Booked this lovely hotel on the recommendations on here, ideally located near the Termini and also near the two open top bus routes, really quite location. Plenty of choice at breakfast time to suit all tastes and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We upgraded our room and it was lovely and clean, mini bar with snacks and soft drinks was re stocked daily, fabulous idea. Would definately book again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel staff were as wonderful as all the Italians we met - both welcoming and well versed in English language, which was most helpful and appreciated. Fantastic breakfast provided each morning. Rooms, as expected in Rome, a little tight but very suitable. The workout/fitness area was an unexpected bonus - a bit spartan but sufficient! The location was very convenient to the train station and hop on hop off bus pickups. 15 - 30 min walk and you are in the center of ancient rome! The only concern was the number of restaurants and the quality were a bit jacking in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

just return from a surprise trip to Rome with my husband and daughter. The hotel was excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean - with plenty of space despite the extra bed for our daughter. The close location to the train station and many restaurants made it great base for our Rome trip. Breakfast was lovely and served in a pretty restaurant. The fridge filled with soft drinks was a benefit when staying with children. Great choice for staying in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edimilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This hotel was tops during our 4 day stay. Our mini-bar fridge only partially cooled, and when I mentioned it to the front desk, they immediately called maintenance. When it was no better the next day, they brought in a new one still in the box. I can't ask for better service than that.

Perks - 2 free waters, a Coke, Fanta, and blood orange juice in the minibar. They are actually free.
Get the breakfast. $12 Euro if you get it once, $9 Euro if you get it every day you stay. We would up eating a large breakfast, which included scrambled eggs, pancetta, cereals, croissants, fruit, torts, fresh squeezed blood orange juice (they squeeze each glass for you!!).
After the large breakfast, we usually could go way past lunch and have a nice 2 hour Italian meal (how else do two people finish a liter of wine??) at a local trattoria and have the two meals suffice for the day.
The rooms are typical European rooms. Small, but not cramped. Comfortable memory foam mattresses. The baths are small and typical, but designed to even give a large person room on the toilet. Everything was clean, and everyone was friendly.
Free, but slow internet. Mae sure to get a login for each device you want on WIFI.
Just one block to the train station Termini, which also serves both the Metro lines.
I highly recommend this hotel.
Please disregard pool rating - there is none, but I could not clear it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLARenovate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
1,272 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,096 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,256 in Rome
2,314 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing