We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel for 5 night stay”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed 5 nights over the Easter school holidays , 3 of us (grandma, mum, daughter). Room was clean, comfortable, and small (this is however typical for italy). Bathroom was clean and small. Room had a mini bar - and the things in it were complimentary - each day we received free waters, and soft drinks - a nice surprise.
Cupboard space was ample, though a few more hangers would have been useful.
Bright and fresh room - warm, when we needed it to be at night, and we could open the windows easily to air during the day.

Breakfast included was great: juices, pastries, toast, fruits, some cooked items (scrambled eggs). The breakfast staff were very friendly, and brought tea or coffee quickly. Bright breakfast room, nice atmosphere.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful - giving us directions and advice, and generally being welcoming and concerned. Other staff were also friendly. Lovely atmosphere.

slight drawback was the location - in that we needed to catch a bus to get into the parts of Rome we wanted to visit - this was ok in the morning, but in the evening the buses were quite full - having said this though the bus trip was quick about 10-15 minutes depending on time of day.

We had great fun exploring the Forum, Colliseum, Vatican, and the squares and fountains. Campo di Fiori was fun to eat in during the evening, sitting outside (but be warned the prices there are geared for tourists and are very high - we found they were about 3 times the price of a similar meal that we had in a restaurant in Trasterveri).

The hotel was well located in a street set a couple of roads back from the main bus stop and station, round the corner from the recently opened Diocletian baths, that we enjoyed walking round. It is in the side street - and quiet in terms of almost no cars coming past - this meant we slept very well, and could open the windows without breathing in fumes.

we had a fabulous week, and the hotel was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 947JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 2,306 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

I booked this hotel for our Wedding Anniversary based on past reviews. It was a pleasant surprise, clean and quiet. We had a room at the back with an good view. The hotel is situated in a quiet street away from the busy traffic of Rome. It is within walking distant of the main Railway and bus station, making it an ideal location for visiting Rome and further afield, especially if you take advantage of the transport multi-ticket.

The staff were very friendly and most helpful. The rooms were a good size, clean and in good repair. The breakfast choice was excellent. I have no hesitation about recommending this hotel, especially, if there is an offer available.

Room Tip: The view from the upper floors at the rear have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVHWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Susanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Has been in Rome few times, but his hotel for sure made our last trip there memorable. It's on nice walking distance from a lot of main attractions. Personal at front desk is very polite and helpful. They provide an airport pick up and drop off service for a very reasonable price. Restaurant (breakfast) staff is absolutely fantastic. Well done! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I would recommend this hotel. It is far from pretentious and the rooms are of a good standard. It is not in the 'luxury' hotel league but it serves the purpose. Breakfast is simple and quite good. Convenient location next to the Diocleziano Baths. In a quiet street which is also a bonus. RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripping-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay in Rome. The hotel staff were fantastic on arrival and we found Theodore and Doreen in particular to be very helpful. We stayed in a superior room which was both clean and comfortable. The hydro-massage tub was great and went particularily well with the bubble bath found in the complimentary beauty kit. Mini-bar was restocked for free daily with a selection of soft drinks and water. Breakfast was good quality and included scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, croissants etc. Hotel is in a great location and found it very easy to walk to all the landmarks around Rome. With the aid of a map we receive from Theodore we were able to reach the Collseum in around 20 minutes. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a place to stay in central Rome.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jaypenny88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Booked this lovely hotel on the recommendations on here, ideally located near the Termini and also near the two open top bus routes, really quite location. Plenty of choice at breakfast time to suit all tastes and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We upgraded our room and it was lovely and clean, mini bar with snacks and soft drinks was re stocked daily, fabulous idea. Would definately book again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,413 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,364 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,272 in Rome
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,018 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#77 of 1,272 in Rome
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Rome
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £69 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing