We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #48 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hong kong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is close to termini so you can easy to take a bus ,metro and tran within 5 mins reached.It is situated at quiet street and the staff is very friendly to welcome you everyday. So you can easy to get around without fear.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    597
    80
    21
    10
See reviews for
490
1,200
96
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

On previous trip to Rome had stayed in Hotel Artemide , but as this was being renovated in January , I booked Hotel Diocleziano based on TA reviews. Couldnt find any fault with hotel for our three day stay. Bedroom and all other facilities in hotel were spotlessly clean , breakfast was excellent with hot and cold meats , good selection of fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice as required. Staff were most helpful and assisted with recommendations for restaurants and helped with printing our boarding passes. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free access to computer near reception. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leitrim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Loved my stay at Hotel Diocleziano, a 4-star with a personal touch!
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the staff at reception and offered a cappuccino while we waited for our room to be made up (although it was still early for check-in time, so we hadn't really expected the room to be ready yet - bonus points for that!).
Room was spacious and comfortable, bathroom had a vast shower and pleasantly fluffy towels.
Free wi-fi is provided, as well as free gym and sauna and complimentary newspapers.
Excellent, plentiful buffet breakfast with long opening hours, so as to cater to all needs (6.45am to 10.30am, or something similar).
Pretty decent room service, too, if you don't fancy going out again after a long day sightseeing.
Firmly on the list of my go-to places in Rome and looking forward to staying again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ros138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I booked a four night stay at Hotel Diocleziano. In my opinion, the best and worst of
Hotel Diocleziano is its location. Conveniently located to the Termini Station of Rome, which was a good fit for us since we took a day-trip by train from Rome. We also utilized the station for transportation To/From the airport and a metro trip to the Vatican. There are also several sights/museum located within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The worst part is that it is relatively far (walking) from many of the "great" sights of Rome. Taxis and/or the metro are an option for a few sights. If we make it back to Rome, we may consider spliting the difference between the termini station and historical Rome. The staff was friendly and answered questions, good suggestions for close dining. We were able to purchase the Roma Pass from the front desk which was convenient, not an option in other cities we've visited in Europe. Rooms were sufficient, clean, and quiet, served their purpose. Breakfast was great, more options then I expected. Overall we were satisfied with our stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends. Would consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyboy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay here and can hand on heart say the hotel and it's staff made our stay complete.

We went for our Mums birthday as a treat and from start to finish we were very well looked after. I had emailed ahead and requested that we had two rooms close by, on arrival they had upgraded one room so that our two rooms were next door.

Theodore at the front desk gave us a map on arrival and told us bus routes etc for getting around (excellent bus services, well worth getting a 'Roma Pass for €34 for 3 days which gets you into 2 museums for free and includes all bus travel).

Our rooms, along with everywhere else in the hotel (I literally mean everywhere) was absolutely spotless. One night we came in late and we saw Sherwin, one of the staff, cleaning. He was really scrubbing away at an area that was already clean but this is obviously the high standard that is maintained at the hotel. Sherwin was great at making our hot chocolate before we went off to our rooms for the night, a very friendly gentleman.

The breakfast is wonderful, again a spotless room with a huge selection to choose from. The ladies that seemed to run it were always very cheery and eager to help, remembering our drinks requests and keeping everything stocked up.

There are other staff that we encountered but unfortunately we did not get their names. They all really are a credit to the hotel, so friendly and approachable.

The location of the hotel was perfect for the main train and bus station, just a 5 minute walk.

I really cannot praise this hotel and it's staff enough. It was everything we needed and more.





Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Oct 2013 and were delighted with the hotel location, room, facilities and above all the helpfulness of the staff throughout the hotel. We asked for and got a very quiet room, which in the middle of the city was a marvellous for us. The location was central and close to buses and trains so we could get explore further afield including Tivoli [a must for those who have not been to the villa or to the gardens].
Thank you to all at the hotel who made our visit such a pleasant and carefree one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E-A10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

A well located place, just two blocks from Termini (small marketplace and train, bus and metro station). It seems a refurbished place. Comfortable hotel with a friendly staff - at that day no problem for a early checkin at 9am. Good Breakfast. Recommended for everybody who don't care for a luxury place but want a clean, friendly and well located place to sleep, but not willing to pay a lot of money, a fair price for what they offer. It seems they are always worried about your satisfaction - and the rates they will get from the hotel rating sites"....

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RicardoFromBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,274 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
2,315 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,257 in Rome
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing