We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Hotel - Wonderful Service”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superior Hotel - Wonderful Service”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed 6 nights in March, 2014, and couldn't have been more pleased. Service was absolutely top-notch; Maria at the front desk was so nice to us. She graciously answered all of our "touristy" questions without making us feel dumb. The breakfast was more than adequate every day - a nice start to our adventures in Rome. The free mini-bar was a nice touch as well. Location is fine, with the Termini, Baths of Diocletian, and Republica all nearby. My only quibble would be with the extremely firm mattress, but perhaps that's a European thing. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    600
    81
    21
    10
See reviews for
495
1,207
96
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abergele, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in this small but perfectly formed hotel last week for a four night break. We had taken the train from the airport and the hotel's location is great for the Termini, literally a five minute walk over the main road, this was also great when we used the underground/bus to set off exploring Rome. It is not in the busiest part of Rome if that is what you want but it's location to the Termini makes all areas accessible at all times, however we avoided the underground at night and used buses instead! We stayed in room 302 which faces the street and it was just what we needed, a decent size room with a huge bed, which was firmer than I am use to but very comfortable and the whole room was lovely and clean and tastefully decorated and furnished. You get free WiFi and the minibar is topped up with non-alcoholic drinks every day (Coke, Fanta, orange juice and water). There is a wide selection of food at breakfast, bread, cheese, cold meats, yoghurts, fruit, cereal, boiled eggs and even a small 'continental style' cooked breakfast and various hot and cold drinks to chose from. All the staff, without exception, were extremely friendly and could not have been more helpful or attentive and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others as our experience of it helped to make our stay in Rome thoroughly enjoyable. Thank you everyone!

Room Tip: Just to note there was no bath in this room only a shower but this was not a problem for us but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maiham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Booked here via late rooms 2 nights costing £213:46 on our second day we get a call after queuing and paying into Vatican for 3 hours too say we have only booked for one night and told to get a taxi back and remove our clothes/baggage, after several hours arguing this turns out to be a 75 euro hotel if you just turn up, so I then pay again and like I said to the cocky girl Doreen no offence but I wouldn't be stopping here if I was paying £213 p/night, completely ruined our weekend break do not stop here. They could obviously see there was a mistake with the booked nights and what was paid but refused too help. Also be aware if your on 1st floor you don't get to sleep due to noise from hotel guests then they start vacuuming stairs at 7:30am. Check the prices and your bookings

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank WyrleyAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Mr. Garratt,

We understand that you have been upset from what happened regarding your reservation here at Diocleziano; however we have to report some mistakes in your recollection of the events occurred.

First of all, you refer to your reservation made via Laterooms for 2 nights. Please note that the reservation we received was made through Lastminute.com for 1 night. The rate for the one night was €215.21 for a Double Superior Room. Since your stay was only for one night we even had been able to upgrade you to our Deluxe Room with terrace.

When the next day we called you and you were queuing at the Vatican it was already 1.30 PM. Normal check our time is 12:00 PM and check in time is 2:00 PM. We had to call you because the room you were staying in was booked for that night and we needed to clean it before the guests arrived (which did arrive before you came back at the hotel to reorder your belongings and had to wait for their room to be ready beyond the normal check in time). While on the phone with Doreen, she asked you if you had a confirmation letter with you that showed that you had booked for two nights. You said you did not have it (please note that in case of online reservation and confirmation we do have a business centre available to print out this kind of emails for free).

Fortunately we had received some last minute cancellations and were still able to provide you with a Double Room for an extra night for only €87.00. We understand that you found the room noisy due to the fact that being on the first floor you could hear the noise of the vacuum cleaner the next morning. We have to admit that you are the first guest to complain about this fact; furthermore we can confirm that the cleaners do not start their work before 8:00 AM in order to avoid this kind of discomfort to our guests.

Finally, we are sorry to understand that you thought Doreen’s attitude to be “cocky” and that she was not really trying to help you. We feel that since you were already quite enraged by the whole situation you might have misunderstood her attitude. Nevertheless, we are sorry if you had this sensation since she is normally quite praised by our guests.

Conclusively, we are sorry that you had to experience all this during your weekend break; we would had been the first to apologize and find a solution if we had in fact made a mistake with your reservation. Unfortunately, not having had any more proof from your side regarding your reservation but only what we had from Lastminute.com we could not really do more than what we have done in this circumstance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived late at night having had the journey from hell but the duty manager Theodore was helpful and got us a much needed drink from the bar. Our room was well appointed very clean, relatively quiet and had windows that opened a rarity nowadays! Whilst the bed was firmer than we would have liked it was of good quality. Next morning a very reasonable breakfast awaited us with freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly made scrambled eggs. All the staff without exception were cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. Whilst the hotel is not in the best area it's not in the worst either and is very close to the main station in Rome and the underground. All in all a very good experience and I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank myholidayhints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakerton
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We selected this place specifically because it was near the Rome Train station, nice neighborhood, and near local attractions that we could walk or take the subway to. The hotel is next door to ruins, so we assumed the area would be nice and quiet. The staff were efficient, polite, pulled double duty if needed to get the guests the services they needed.

The lobby has a sweet little bar in the evenings and behind the bar, in the morning, the same side of the hotel opens up to a nice large breakfast room. The morning breakfast was good strong espresso or American Coffee and a selection of breakfast items, eggs, toast, sticky buns, coffee, that would satisfy most American expectations.

The hotel room, 101, was very clean and neat. It featured a large bathroom and shower. Our window faced the street and had wooden shutters that we could pull shut to keep out light but allow air in.

We are walkers so we headed out on foot to the famous Spanish Steps, to people watch, who were watching other people; not too exciting.

Walked over to the Pantheon, a structure dedicated to all the gods of ancient Rome, and was able to walk inside to view its remarkable overhead opening to the sky where light and rain has entered through the round opening since 118 AD.

Took the subway over to the Colosseum. The stage flooring was being restored so visitors could imagine how the large amphitheater was supposed to function.

Took local transit tour busses located near our hotel, over to the Vatican. Was worth the wait just to see the famous art in the Sistine Chapel and witness the vibrant restoration of the ceiling colors that just popped and were vivid. Enjoyed a lunch in the nearby neighborhood outside like most cafes.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room that faces the front of the property if sunlight is important to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at this Hotel for a total of three nights and we were very impressed.
The location is great, just a few minutes walk from the Termini Station. The hotel staff is very customer friendly - they allowed us to check in early, had great tours, maps and restaurant suggestions handy. They also let us keep our big bags in the locker room for one night since we were travelling outside of Rome.
The room that we had was quiet, neat & cozy. They had a complimentary mini bar in the room which was refilled everyday. The complimentary breakfast is ample, has a lot of variety and is very neatly served.
All in all it was a great experience and I would gladly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,258 in Rome
1,296 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,142 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#42 of 1,258 in Rome
2,328 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing