We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights in April at the Hotel Diocleziano, and were very impressed by [1] the helpfulness and courtesy of all the staff members and [2] the spotlessly clean interior, including our room. What fun! Our European-style room had all modern furnishings and the bed was very comfortable; no air conditioning, but a large window and good air circulation, so no problem for us. The hotel is within walking distance of the Termini railroad station, very near the Baths of Diocletian museum (check the map; if you take a taxi, ask the driver to use the meter). We left very early after the 4th night, and the staff packed very nice breakfasts for us -- a thoughtful touch that typifies this group! Breakfasts were excellent during our stay, with fresh juice and cappuccino plus all the usual items. This was our last stop on a Venice-Florence-Rome vacation, which we enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,258)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diocleziano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Minutes walk from station
Very friendly staff excellent breakfast
Room not big but very nice as was the bathroom
Comfortable Safe location
Is walk to sites
Day of arrival came early given room
Easy to station & train to airport

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We decided to use this hotel after reading reviews on trip adviser ( thank you). As the hotel we used last time in Rome was booked up.
From start to finish we where made to feel very welcome, all the staff from reception to breakfast where fantastic, very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them.
We had a room with a fantastic terrace a lovely surprise, and a complimentary bottle of bubbly was delivered to our room, as they noticed from taking my passport details at check in that it was my birthday.
The rooms where comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast buffet was very nice.
Situated by the railway station it is a perfect way to get into Rome by public transport, and a lot of the attractions were in walking distance.
Would definitely go back and stay here when we next visit this wonderful city.
Well done to all the staff, you are doing an great job.
Only downside was the bar area was very small, and the pillows a little lumpy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knittyknora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great location, close to Termini and within around 15 minutes walk of Collisseum, Forum, Paletine hill, Trevi and Spanish Steps. Bit further to Vatican but still walkable, or catch bus at Termini.

Clean, comfortable and breakfast OK.

We were a bit concerned about noise and safety with it being close to the rail station, but would have absolutely no hesitation in returning to this hotel if we were to ever return to Rome. Definitely recommended.

Be clear this is not a 5 star hotel that you will lounge around all day, it is a place to sleep, relax (nap) and eat breakfast and use a centre for tourist stuff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank chooseANewScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Booked this trip for four ladies celebrating our 60th birthdays. The hotel was excellent room very clean and had all the amenities you needed breakfast were plentiful with wide choice freshly squeezed orange and all types of coffee was served to you. The hotel staff were excellent Maria the reception staff was helpful she was like our own tour guide and even arranged a taxi to the catacoombs. The hotel is situated near the termini station and within easy walking distance to the historic sites apart from the Vatican. Taxis are reasonable especially if there are more than 2 of you. We found bars and places to eat very reasonable if you stayed away from plaza navarone and Spanish steps. The highlight of the trip was the Vatican and seeing the pope deliver his sunday blessing. Its great fun getting lost in the side streets and you discover some hidden gems. The mini bar was a plus which supplied soft drinks and if you are tired after a long day the hotel has a cosy bar which drinks are very reasonable I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I was to return to Rome this would be my first choice thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: if you like a bath ask for a room that has one ours only had a shower which suited us but our friend...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. We were able to arrive directly via the termini station after departing from Eurostar. The hotel is within 3-5 minute walk for the termini as well as the metro. The room & bathroom is very large. The bed is firm. There is an in room safe, complimentary mini fridge, coffee maker. The breakfast has a variety of pastries, juices, yogurt, hot meat, eggs, cold meat and cheese along with fresh fruit, crackers and breads. The staff is friendly and will help answer your questions. They recommended two restaurants close by, Babbos which was pretty good. The La Frommiage was okay and we believe they added more to our bill. I didn't question it but there was a 14 euro additional charge that we could not figure out. Our favorite restaurant was outside of Vatican City Ristorante Polese at 40 Piazza Sforza Cesarini. We happened to find this while walking back from Vatican City towards our hotel. It was delicious and so reasonable priced. We would have walked back their for dinner if it weren't far away. I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 mainly because of the noise from outside. We stayed on the 1st floor facing via gaetta street. It was quite noisy outside at night but closing the shutters along with the window helps to cut down the noise. I am a light sleeper, the noise did not bother my husband. I would recommend you be very cautious of pick pockets. We were pick pocketed our 2nd day in Rome on the metro. My husbands wallet was in his front jean pocket. I recommend being exceptionally cautious of crowded areas and men keep your wallets under your clothes or inside an upper coat pocket that is zipped. I was fortunate I carried a travelon bag and was fortunate to have no issues. The hotel was very kind to give us information about the police station which we were able to report our incident.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nutsnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Excellent welcome on arrival at hotel which is a five minute walk from Termini station.

Room was clean neat and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent with cappuccinos freshly made for you. Stay here if you want a hotel with friendly staff good rooms and great position to get to Termini where you can catch trains anywhere and buses locally as well.

Tip ... Buses 40 and 64 will take you to the Vatican.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Punchclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,351 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,223 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,799 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,267 in Rome
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £96 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing