We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #48 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very helpful staff, very nice atmosphere in the hotel itself. As previous commentators have said, the surroundings are definitely "city", but there's not much the hotel can do about that. Nice quiet rooms, very clean. Had a private terrace, which was awesome for relaxing at day's end. Front desk were great at setting up reservations, etc. Would visit again.

Room Tip: Some rooms on first floor have terraces (we had room 103, very nice!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    597
    80
    21
    10
See reviews for
490
1,200
96
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Room had great bath and all amenities. Breakfast was excellent. Front desk staff super helpful with dinners, tours and airport pick up. So close to train station which was convenient. Room was even ready early. Clean and nice work out area. We would stay there again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisadcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff, gave us basic information and tips about transport on arrival. Quiet, nice and clean rooms, large and modern bathroom. Next time in Rome, I will definitely stay here..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taras G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We arrived at this hotel on the first few days of our Italian honeymoon. We had driven there and when we asked about parking, the hotel receptionist advised us that we could park right outside the hotel. Big mistake! When we came downstairs the next morning, we discovered our car had been broken into and the thieves had smashed their way into the locked boot and stolen a suitcase which included my husband's wedding suit. We immediately reported this to reception and they couldn't have been less interested or concerned. Our repeated pleas to call the police were ignored and when he eventually did, he said the line was busy and told us to walk to the police station. This was a real slap in the face. When we did report this to the police they said that it was unsurprising as the hotel was in a 'bad area'. I agree with the previous review that there were lots of beggars and homeless people around which makes you feel a little uncomfortable.
Also, this is no way 4 star standard. The rooms are small and dated and the breakfast was poor. There are far better places to stay and this really is a bad area. Avoid!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank katie22211186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sirs,

It is very difficult for us to answer this review. We can definitely relate to your distress for having such an accident happen to you on holiday, especially on your honeymoon! We know that nothing we can now say will help you neither retrieve the stole luggage nor cancel the bed memory of what happened; the only thing we can do is report our side of the story and try and clarify our role in this situation.

As for the parking procedure, normally our receptionists are trained to explain that cars may be parked on the street on the blue lines by paying the parking during the day time. However, we normally advise against this choice since we cannot control what happens on the streets during the night. As such we offer a safer option which is to park in one of the private garages available near our property. These are indeed more expensive but they have a 24h surveillance system, and guests tend to choose this option. Since you had decided to park in the street instead, our receptionist also suggested collecting all your belongings from the car.

As for what happened the next morning when you had discovered the break-in, we are sorry that you had the sensation that our receptionist was not sufficiently attentive to your needs. We can reassure you that he had no intention to offend you or not care about your. Probably his mistake was to underestimate your distress and not fully grasp your agitation. Unfortunately it is also true that he could not do more than what he did in practical terms. From what we are aware we know that as soon as you discovered the break-in he checked with you the car and then made few phone calls for you. Being only 8:30 AM in the morning he could not contact directly the car rental office since it would only open later on in the day; therefore he tried to call the traffic police office but with no success, so he had to call the police and they told him that if the car could still move you had to go there to report what happened and fill in a statement. We do understand that probably in other countries things work differently, unfortunately we could not really do more than this to help you.

The next morning the same receptionist who made the calls for you, asked how things had gone the previous afternoon, since he knew that you went to the police only then due to a scheduled tour you had that morning when you discovered the car. So far we only know that the car rental had given you a new car to replace the other one.

Said this, we can really only again say sorry about underestimating your distress and of course that we understand that the overall opinion of our hotel has been affected by this episode. Although Rome is a big city and, as such, it can be common that these kind of episodes occur, it really has been the first time that something like this has happened to any of our guests. We do hope that the rest of your stay in Italy will make up for your unfortunate accident in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. I am what you would call hotel OCD and tend to stress over where to stay when traveling, especially to another country. The breakfast was great and the staff for breakfast was extremely friendly and attentive. Yes the rooms are small but it's expected.

Great location, great hotel, friendly staff, staff speaks English, great exchange rates at hotel, free wi-fi....we enjoyed our stay and were pleased with our hotel choice...definitely will return to this hotel next time we visit Rome

Helpful?
Thank WeAdoreTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Even without considering it's four star class hotel, the room condition is pretty disappointing and talking to the staffs wasn't pleasing experience at all. Obviously the day my family arrived was Sunday so I can understand their main management team might be having off day. But still I expected much better attitude from staffs from a four star hotel. At first moment I entered the room I felt smelly and dirty carpet and it made me really uncomfortable. In addition when I asked for an iron to the front desk they said there is none available because the hotel has only one iron and another guest was using it. I've never heard an hotel having only one iron in my life. The second issue I had was free breakfast. The food was just so so but the main problem was the staffs attitude which wasn't pleasing and comfortable at all. They had talked and acted like factory workers and some foods run out quickly but hardly filled up fast enough considering its buffet breakfast. The last tip that I want to give is if you are looking for better than average neighborhood look for other locations. I found several homeless sleeping across the street every night and they were making very annoying smell every time in and out of the hotel. It wasn't looked safe neither.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Visionmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Sirs,

It is with great concern that we read your review on our property. It nearly makes us feel that you have not been staying at all at our hotel since most of the negative notes you have mentioned are normally considered our strongest points by our guests.

Since you underline various negative aspects, we will make sure to address them all so that our future customers may have a more in depth view of our property.

Rooms: by checking our system we can confirm that you had booked a Double Room with the request to be on a high floor. Although we cannot guarantee at the moment of reservation our guests’ requests, we always make sure to place a note on our system and try to assign a room accordingly depending on availability on the day of arrival. In your case we have been able to accommodate you request and gave you a room on the fourth floor overlooking the exterior of the hotel. As for the room décor and condition, we are sorry that when entering it you were disappointed. We can only say that the pictures we have placed on all of our selling websites show exactly what our rooms look like and the descriptions are as thorough as possible so that guests may immediately understand what we offer and choose the room according to their needs. As for the maintenance of the room we can confirm that we check regularly all the appliances and keep all the systems in perfect function. All rooms are cleaned daily and we also offer a turndown service in the evening. We are sorry that you thought the rooms to be rundown and that you felt the carpet to be dirty and smelly. Unfortunately, as of now, we have only been able to check the room and verify the state of it, which was in good condition, and cannot really do much more for you. We are sorry that you did not feel like coming to us during your 5 nights’ stay to tell us about your discomfort. It would have been our immediate care to check the room and find a solution for you.

Staff: your mention of our staff attitude is what really distresses us the most. From most of the reviews we receive our guests seem especially pleased by our service and our staff’s attitude. They seem to find them very friendly, helpful and professional. We are sorry that you did not have this impression with none of our staff members. Unfortunately, you do not provide a proper example or report a particular episode so we cannot even verify with our staff what happened to give you an explanation. We can only think that your sensation might have been caused by a miscommunication or similar matter; nonetheless, since our staff has been chosen and trained especially for their professionalism and ability to work in the best way even without supervision, it will be our outmost care to look into this matter and try and understand what might have happened in order to improve even more our service delivery.

Iron: please note that by Italian law and safety reasons hotels cannot leave irons and ironing boards in the rooms. However, we understand that guests might need to quickly iron something so we do provide one at the hotel for guests to use for free. As for the episode you are reporting, we can indeed confirm that when you asked for an iron this was already in another guest’s room; therefore we had to wait for him to finish using it. As per our records you asked to use one at 11:30 PM and at 11:45 PM this was provided to your room; furthermore, when you asked again on the following nights the iron was immediately provided to you. We are sorry for the delay on the first night, we understand that it might seem strange to have only one iron in a hotel; however, since the hotel only has 35 rooms, so far only one has been sufficient. Due to this episode, we will take into consideration the need of a new one.

Breakfast: we are sorry that you did not find our buffet to be sufficient and varied. Our staff is normally very careful at refilling all the items as soon as they are toward the end so that all guests may have some without the need to wait or ask for fresh ones to be brought. We are extremely concerned about your note on the waitresses that you have defined has “factory workers” for their attitude. We have to admit our complete surprise to your words since guests cannot but report pleasant things on the girls and especially about their constant smile. We do respect all of our guests views and always take into consideration their words and suggestions; however, in this case we have to admit to finding your statement to be excessively strong and biased.

Street: as mentioned on our other occasions, as for many big cities, unfortunately Rome as well has a problem with homeless people. However, since we are on a small street tacked away from the main train station we normally do not have homeless people on our street. Furthermore, our staff is always aware of these problems and tends to check if there might be homeless people around. Unfortunately, we cannot control their movements and if they decide to stay in the area or on the adjoining street we cannot really do much, we can only reassure our guest that nobody has been harassed and that being the hotel close to few restaurants and bars on the main street, the area is actually quite safe. As for the smell, we can confirm that streets are cleaned regularly; furthermore, since is summer, we independently sanitize the part of the street just in front of the hotel with a specific product and that this was in fact used just few days before your arrival.

Conclusively, it is clear to us that you were probably looking for another type of property and location for your holidays; furthermore we are only sorry that you never felt like coming to us during your entire stay. We do hope that next time in Rome you will be able to find a property that will better suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is located very close to Termini train station making it very convenient if moving around on train or metro. Given that its so close to the train station however the area is somewhat rough and there are many homeless people nearby. Also it is not within walking distance to a lot of the attractions in Roma such as the colosseum or vatican.

The room was clean and basic, and average size for hotels in Italy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We actually arrived well before check in and were given our room immediately which was fantastic. The room service food was average, but I would recommend going out instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,275 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
2,315 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,257 in Rome
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing