We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Rome”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel welcomed us for our first ever trip out of the US. It exceeded our expectations. Excellent customer service. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and clean. The location was convenient. They had an excellent breakfast in the morning, including fresh squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,260)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diocleziano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 2,260 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting Rome and loved it. The hotel is within walking distance of Termieni station which made it extremely convenient when we arrived from the airport and also for getting around Rome. It's on a quiet corner, however, so no noise at all. The neighborhood is fine - of course you have to be smart, as in any large city, but we felt perfectly safe walking around during the day and evening. The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful and treated us like family. They had great recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing and could not do enough to help us. Breakfast was great and plentiful. Our room was perfect - clean, comfortable, and air conditioned. The hotel offers free Wi Fi like many places in Rome,and it worked well. There's a nice workout room although with all of our walking around Rome we didn't need it. If we return to Rome we will definitely return to the Hotel Diocleziano!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skimama74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great stay at his hotel in Rome. The room was very clean and the AC worked great. Great WIFI throughout the building and the breakfast was one of the best of our trip. The staff was great and got us a cab quickly after we needed one. They also recommended great places in town to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cmferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife, my self and my daughter spent 6 nights at this hotel in June, 2014. Although the room was small (better fitted for two people) we had an outstanding experience there. The rooms are completely updated and very comfortable. Breakfast was included and was very good with a complete continental and English breakfast. The staff is the best. Everyone was very helpful and Doreen (from NJ and now an Italian citizen) made every effort to help us and to make sure we understood. They furnished us with a driver from Naples to Positano (Pasquale) who was outstanding. Location is good as it is within walking distance to Rome Termini and we were able to easily travel to Florence, Naples and Milan. A bit far from the city center but the Rome Metro is within 300 yards. If I go back we will again stay there. Good value and outstanding service. Could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we stayed three days ahd were very taken by the lady serving in reception who should get an award for the most helopful and friendly service ever... Hotel was clean, comfortable...not particularly cheap but gtood value as the quality is good, especially the breakfast buffet which is good rather than over extensive and leaving you overfilled and dead for the day...freashlty squeezed orange juice, specially made coffee and nice selection of freash food...but abopve all the reception... I am bad at names but we think it was Doreen...She also gave us good avice on how to avoid pickpockets...that alone was worth a lot as unfortunately they are rife in Rome and we saw a couple of incidents and never felt really safe frm9ot his threat...but the buildings were magnificent... and my wife bought one fantastic dress... Diocleziano is an ideal base for getting around

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmacke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very helpful staff, very nice atmosphere in the hotel itself. As previous commentators have said, the surroundings are definitely "city", but there's not much the hotel can do about that. Nice quiet rooms, very clean. Had a private terrace, which was awesome for relaxing at day's end. Front desk were great at setting up reservations, etc. Would visit again.

Room Tip: Some rooms on first floor have terraces (we had room 103, very nice!)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Room had great bath and all amenities. Breakfast was excellent. Front desk staff super helpful with dinners, tours and airport pick up. So close to train station which was convenient. Room was even ready early. Clean and nice work out area. We would stay there again!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Lisadcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,231 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,805 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#41 of 1,267 in Rome
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £97 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing