We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean rooms”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great clean rooms”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights when we first arrived in Italy. The room & hotel was very clean and we were surprised by the large size of the bathroom. We were in room 001 and we could hear a little but of noise from the stairwell, reception and plumbing but it really wasn't enough to trouble us and didn't go into the later evening.
The hotel is very close to the Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli, which doesn't look like much from the outside but is amazing inside (entry is free, there are beggers at the entrance).
We ate breakfast at the hotel which was also highly recommended, there is a very large selection and very fresh.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 924Janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    600
    81
    21
    10
See reviews for
495
1,207
96
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Diocleziano on two separate occasions during our recent trip to Italy, and, like prior Tripadvisor members, I heartily recommend this hotel. It was a short walk north of the Rome Termini train station and less than a 20-minute walk to the Colloseum, the Forum, Trajan's market, the Pantheon and the Spanish Steps, to name a few of the places we visited. The staff, particularly Emilio, was helpful and every inquiry or request was met with an enthusiasm that is held by people who like their job. Breakfast was excellent and the rooms were nicely finished out. We had a rooftop suite with patio and the sunsets over the nearby baths and the cloister were great. ATMs are nearby, as well.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a quiet street and we had two different rooms; one was streetside, the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikingron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We loved staying at this hotel in Rome! Close to transport, beautiful rooms and extreemly helpful and friendly staff! I left a jacket in the room by mistake when we checked out. They happily forwarded it to my hotel in Venice at no charge. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leucadia, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We will definitely return. Small staff is friendly and very accommodating. We were remembered / recognized immediately. Very helpful with directions, restaurant bookings, cab bookings etc. Rooms were immaculate. Breakfasts (included in our booking) were lovely, and we truly appreciated the hotel accommodating us for breakfast when we arrived relatively early on our first day (for a price - very reasonable.) If you are traveling by Taxi take a business card from the hotel as some of the drivers are not familiar with the street on which it's located. Special thanks to Emilio, Imelda and Alan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went for two nights in July 2014 and we were blown away by the staff. They were all extremely helpful, accommodating, kind.

Especially Emilio! He gave us great restaurant recommendations and drawn/written out directions for how best to get around the city, which were super easy to follow.

On our last morning when we were leaving early they even provides boxed breakfasts for us.

The location is perfect, everything is 10 mins away or less by subway or very walkable. If we ever go back to Rome that's definitely were we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinAndAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel on July 15 through the 18th. The hotel was very nice, clean and the staff was fantastic providing directions and giving recommendations on local restaurants. The breakfast was great as was the staff who tended to it. I can't say enough about this hotel and would definitely stay here again. BRAVO!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

It may not be located in the best district of Rome but we were very pleasantly surprised with the standard of the rooms, customer service( thank you Giordano) and a superb breakfast. We will be back.....

Room Tip: All rooms have A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AH1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,258 in Rome
1,296 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,141 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#42 of 1,258 in Rome
2,328 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,258 in Rome
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing