We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and very unique experience”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #50 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers a true different experience that reminds travelers with the magic of old luxury hotels. It offers a retro experience in the most positive of ways. The breakfast is decent. Hotel is very clean and staff have outstanding characters. Rooms are comfortable and bathrooms are clean and well kept. It is right next to termini (the main train and bus station in Rome) which is the best place to stay at if you are planning to use public transport.
However, and this is the downside, and while it is not related to the hotel internally, it somewhat overshadowed the stay, which is the neighborhood. It feels unsafe and is definitely unclean. Going in and out late at night makes travelers witness a lot of uncomfortable situations and people. However, I cannot say that we were bothered by anyone or anything, but all in all, it was an unpleasant part of the trip. We stayed later at a different part of the city, and that was a totally different experience. Another thing, for the value it offers, it is a bit on the pricier side.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to learn that your holiday and memory of your stay have been spoiled by the sensations you received by our neighbourhood. We are especially sorry because unfortunately, as you have mentioned, this is not something that we have control over.

As we have explained on other occasions, we are indeed in an area close to the main train station of Rome, and as for many big cities unfortunately we also have a homeless problem. Although normally they do not station on our actual street, it is possible to see them near the station.

We are sorry that this has made you feel uncomfortable when walking around at night; however we can confirm that none of our guests has so far reported being harassed.

Said this, we hope that all the memories of the good experiences you had in Rome have not been completely eclipsed by these encounters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed in 6 hotels during my holiday in Italy and this was by far the best one. I was delighted by the service and my room. The concierges and breakfast staff were friendly and welcoming. I was very impressed with the room, it was very spacious and clean. There was no additional fee for the mini-bar with water and soft drinks. I also liked the location, as it was close to Termini station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giselle-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a two night layover in Rome for our daughter and new son-in-law who were on their honeymoon. We booked through Expedia, as we have on numerous occasions but for the first time, ever, within minutes of booking we received an email from the hotel directly, thanking us for our reservation and offering assistance with anything we might need. We arranged their private car pickup service at the airport and when the travellers were delayed by 5 hours on their flight from Greece, and then landed at a different terminal than originally documented, we called the hotel (from Canada) and they immediately contacted the car service and the driver was standing at the arrivals area of the new terminal before they even got their luggage! Then, the hotel staff actually called us at our home, in Canada, to tell us our daughter and son-in-law had arrived safely at the hotel!

Our daughter and son-in-law were extremely happy with their room, the complimentary breakfast and wifi, the location of the hotel and with the service they received during their stay.

If we ourselves ever return to Rome you can be sure this is where we will stay. We have never been so impressed with the focus on customer satisfaction as we were with the staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dc10gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Rome. This is a small boutique hotel. The location was convenient. The hotel is within walking distance of Termieni station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent a huge selection. Hotel was very clean and quiet. Mini bar attended to every day, room service excellent and free Wi-Fi!! Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

"Great location and friendly service" were the reviews that we had read and so we booked the family room for the three of us for 5 days visit to Rome and we were delighted with the choice. The room was compact but very clean. The bathroom was cleaned every day and fresh towels were regularly supplied. The breakfast had ample choices to satisfy everyones needs and was plentiful. The so called sauna & Gym was too small and available at certain times only so we gave it a miss. The TV did not have choice of more international channels. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay there again when in Rome and need to be near Termini !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Natu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Diocleziano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time in writing your review. We are glad that even if your stay was back in February you still cherish good memories of your stay with us.
As for the small drawbacks you have underlined we would only like to clarify them so that we may give further information to our future customers.

Regarding the family room you have been in, we can confirm that this is in fact one of a kind and normally is only given on request. In your original booking you had specified that you were only three but in fact you were two adults and two children, therefore a normal triple room would have not been able to accommodate you. As such, we offered you this family room hoping that this might suit you better. However, normally, when children are a bit older compared to yours, we prefer offering two separate rooms since we understand that even in a family room, four people might feel a bit cramped and we always try to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible.

As for the TV channels, we are sorry that you did not manage to find many international channels; as a matter of fact we do have various news channels (CNN, BBC, Al Jazeera, etc.) However, we understand that probably at home you are able to watch more types of channels, unfortunately at the moment we can only view certain types that the satellite includes in our subscription.

Coming to the sauna, we are sorry that you have not been able to try it. Normal operating ours are between 5.30 PM to 10 PM (closing time of the gym) because we have noticed that guests prefer to use it after their day out; however, we are always pleased to switch it on earlier in case guests would like to use it at a different time. We are sorry that you did not come and ask us, we would have been more than glad to switch it on for you; we hope that next time you will visit us you will be able to try it out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights here. Location is perfect, right near Termini, so it was quick for us to get here when we arrived by train (or the airport), and close to both the subway lines to get anywhere in the city. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size, and very clean. Breakfast has a good selection of food as well. If we come back to Rome, we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Yauza16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights when we first arrived in Italy. The room & hotel was very clean and we were surprised by the large size of the bathroom. We were in room 001 and we could hear a little but of noise from the stairwell, reception and plumbing but it really wasn't enough to trouble us and didn't go into the later evening.
The hotel is very close to the Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli, which doesn't look like much from the outside but is amazing inside (entry is free, there are beggers at the entrance).
We ate breakfast at the hotel which was also highly recommended, there is a very large selection and very fresh.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 924Janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,269 in Rome
1,378 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,269 in Rome
4,281 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,866 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,269 in Rome
942 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £90 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing