We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel with great service”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #45 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient hotel with great service”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

My wife and I stayed here 20-22 May 2009 (3 nights) and it is a great hotel (www.hoteldiocleziano.it)

It is a 5-10 minute walk from the Termini station, which is convenient when you fly into Fiumcino airport (30 mins using the non-stop express: 11 Euros per person for a single ticket).

Rome is a busy and noisy 24/7 city, so I wanted to stay somewhere close enough to the centre but not IN the centre - the Diocleziano fits the bill well.

The hotel is 4 stars and felt it: air-conditioned rooms; generous beds; free mini-bar stocked with bottled water and soft drinks (updated daily!); courteous and friendly staff.

The breakfast is included and is self-service. It comprises tea, coffee, selection of juices, toast, cereals, yoghurt, cold ham/salami, cheese and tomatoes. The selection was great and replenished often. The breakfast room is spacious and you could eat what you liked and as much as you liked. The hotel has a bar but we never used it.

Our room was neither huge nor small, but was certainly big enough for a couple in a capital city (double bed, ensuite, TV). It had air-conditioning (controlled by us) and apparently we stayed in the hottest May in Rome for 200 years! Daily temps hit 30C, 32C and 29C so the air-con was a must.

The hotel area is fine even though it is not in the centre of the city. There are plenty (10-15) restaurants within a 5 minute walk (2 literally around the corner, 1 min away) so there is enough choice for a short break.

There were no downsides. Yes, Rome is noisy, but that's to be expected. But we had double-glazed windows so the noise was not a problem at night. Keeping the aircon on all night was noisy but if you switched it off the room because too hot - probably not an issue if you travel when the days aren't 32C!

The hotel is 5 mins from the Republica metro or about a 30 min walk to the Colisseum, eg via Via Cavour.

The staff were friendly and all spoke English.

The hotel is good value for money (£550 for 3 nights) though it would be even better if the Pound to Euro wasn't so poor at the moment. We didn't try any of the hotel facilities so can't comment.

For a longer break than 3 days you *could* consider a more central location but then it would be noisier at night.

Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. Rome is a beautiful city and Hotel Diocleziano complements this very well. 10/10!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshirePhil69xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    605
    81
    21
    10
See reviews for
497
1,215
97
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed 4 nights with this being our first trip to Rome. Location is perfect, near to Termini but in a quiet side street overlooking the Rome museum. What was the one thing that made this hotel perfect? the staff. Everyone, from the maid to the manager, had a smile and a welcome for us. Courteous and attentive without being pushy they made the stay a trip to remember. Eating out is very expensive but fortunately just around the corner from the hotel is "bobba's" - excellent food and reasonably priced (for Rome!). The rooms are clean, well appointed and as others have said the 'soft' mini-bar was very welcome after a day tramping the streets. The shower in our room (406) was a little difficult to get in and out of due to its position and an older, or larger, traveller with less mobility may struggle. Rooms were quiet and the aircon worked well. I can heartily recommend Diocleziano, you wouldn't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I stayed in this hotel in July 2008 for 8 nights, but forgot to write a review.

Now i'm on tripadvisor searching for a hotel for my upcoming summer holiday i want to take the opportunity to thank the staff and the hotel because they deserved it.

When i'm reading the reviews which are posted the last weeks i'm happy to see that nothing has changed. Unfortunately also not the position 16 in the rating which was the same when we where visting Rome, to be honset this should be much higher.

The Hotel rooms are really perfect, nice quit airco well maintained and modern with a very nice bed and of course the free minibar which is a very warm welcome when you enter you room after a long day exploring the city.

Termini station is only a few hundred meters away which makes the location perfect. Connection to the metro and bus can not be better.
You can buy a ticket for 7 days for subway (metro), bus and tram for 11 Euro per person at the small shops at the bus stand. When you take the bus at the evening to go to the several romantic areas in Rome, it takes you only ten minutes and till deep in the night you can come back to the hotel, which is by the way in a quit street without traffic noise

The staff is very helpfull and when you ask for a nice restaurant they will not send you to one which is known to tourists but to the one which they like themselves.
In this way you will expierence the nice romantic parts of rome which makes the evenings one of them which will stay in your memories for ever.

Thanks again for everything and i hope you will be number 1 because you and the hotel really deserve it.

Egid & Tiffany the Netherlands

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

A very nice stay that lived up to the expectations of the Trip Advisor ratings. The rooms are well laid out and perfectly maintained. Each morning starts with a great breakfast, each evening return has the stocked (free) mini-bar and the staff makes a great effort in making sure you get what you ask for. From the ride from the airport, to the setting up of tours, this hotel made sure we had a great experience seeing Rome for the first time and the hotel staff gets credit for that. The street is fine. Many of the sites are a good walk, but the tours and the Metro are less than 5 minutes away, so if you don't want to walk more than 15 minutes, you have excellent options. The food nearby was good. Overall, an excellent place to stay and we would be happy to stay there again should we be able to return to Rome again. The staff is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtwstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOL-Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

We spent four nights in Rome and were absolutely delighted with this hotel ( 4 stars).
Very central to the train/ metro /bus station.
The hotel is on a quiet ( very clean) street, no noise in the rooms.
The room (standard) was spacious with a beautiful bathroom with bath.
The soft drinks in the minibar are free
The breakfast was lovely.
The staff was welcoming and helpful.
Where can I find a better hotel in ROME?

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I stayed with my wife at this hotel in April. Everything about this hotel displays the care and attention of a motivated, courteous and intelligent staff. From the front desk staff to the room attendants the level of service exceeded my expectation. The location is fine; convenient to public transport yet quiet. The rooms aren't large but are well laid out and well appointed. The daily complimentary soft drinks and water left in the room mini bar will be appreciated after a days sightseeing/commuting around Rome. When I am returning to Rome I will use this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WideOpenMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We spent a few nights in Rome as part of our honeymoon tour of Italy and were absolutely delighted with this hotel. While incredibly central to the train/ metro station, making all our exploring easy, the hotel is on a quiet street, meaning you have none of the noise and hawkers you might expect to find in such a central location. The room on the fifth floor with its own terrace was bliss, the soft drinks in the minibar are free, the cute toiletries chic, the breakfast lovely. All the staff were so welcoming and helpful - I was only sorry not to be spending longer there. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine29Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,178 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#76 of 1,261 in Rome
2,642 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#43 of 1,261 in Rome
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing