We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new rooms. Location near train station.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #49 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice new rooms. Location near train station.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

This hotel is a very clean, new hotel with lots of pluses- free wireless internet access, free gym and sauna, free breakfast, discounted tour packages. The room was very nice- great mattresses and air conditioned. Free minibar. the only downside is that it was right by the train station- the area is a few stops away from the attractions, but there is no noise at all. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlymin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,492
    591
    79
    19
    10
See reviews for
481
1,186
94
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

I just have to agree with all of the good reviews about this hotel. I too can rave about the cleanliness of the hotel, the cheerful and helpful staff, and the excellent location near the Termini station. We had a really long flight to endure to finally arrive at the Diocleziano but immediately felt at home after the warm, friendly and helpful welcome we received. We enjoyed a deep sleep in the air conditioned, double glazed room. The breakfast buffet was pleasant and plenty of it. We will stay again if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Pros: Great location, a 5 minute walk from the Termini Station. I like that they had high speed internet, and a workout room. The rooms were VERY comfortable and CLEAN! Strong AC which is helpful during summer days :) Excellent service and nice staff. They also gave some good restaurant suggestions. They also have an elevator which is helpful when you are carrying luggage. Excellent free continental breakfast. I’d definitely stay here again. Also about a 15 – 20 minute walk to other great sites such as the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain.
Cons: Can’t think of any. Great value!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield,staffordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

This was our second time at this hotel and it still is a gorgeous place. After searching through hundreds of hotels on line we just decided to stick with what we know. And were glad we did. The breakfast is excellent especially the chocolate croissants ! and they cater for all nationalities.
However we did upgrade this time for the jacuzzi suite which was a waste of money as it never worked properly, but never mind we weren't that fussed !!
If like me you like spotless clean hotels and an excellent breakfast this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Great location.
Great room.
Great services and welcome from people from the hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danmel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

We throughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel indeed, receptionist was very helpfull indeed in giving us advice and guidance.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAVINGFUNAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

We arrived in Rome by train after a few relaxing days on the Tuscan coast. The hotel was only a short walk from the Termini station, so although we carried quite a lot of luggage, there was no need for a taxi.

Moreover, the hotel's vicinity to sights like piazza navona and the spanish steps could of course be better. Most of the sights are within walking distance though, and if your feet are tired, the metro is always an option. The stations closest to Hotel Diocleziano is Termini and Piazza della Repubblica.

Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly faces, the piccolo helped us with our luggage and showed us to our room. We stayed in room 205, which was a twin room with separable beds. The room was just the right size, and because of tje high ceeling, it did not feel claustrophobic in any way.

The minibar was free of charge, but only contained soft drinks and bottled water. Nevertheless, a nice geisture.

One thing that must be mentioned when reviewing this hotel, is their breakfast. Italian hotels normally offer a very limited breakfast, but in Diocleziano we got a full continental breakfast with scrambled eggs and bacon every morning. This made the start of our busy days in rome so much better. Bravo!

For our departure, we decided to book a taxi to the airport in order to avoid the stress of termini station and the leonardo express train. However, the reception staff had a better idea: For just a few € extra, they could offer us a car service that was supposed to be both safer and more convinient than a taxi. This turned out to be just right. When we was checked out the morning of departure, there was a black mercedes and a nicely dress chaffeur waiting for ous outside the hotel. This service dotted the i and crossed the t of our stay in rome.

If something were to be critisized, I can say that there could have been WiFi hotspots in the rooms.

Thank you for a delightful stay!

Note: Although this hotel is great, everyone who travels to Rome should be aware that the area around Termini station, in which Hotel Diocleziano lies, is full of pickpockets! We were exposed to them twice during our stay, so keep your valuables safe and keep your eyes open!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariusmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#30 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,985 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#83 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing