We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,436)
Filter reviews
2,436 results
Traveller rating
1,676
643
86
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,676
643
86
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews termini station complimentary soft drinks diocletian baths la famiglia quiet street mini bar breakfast staff excellent hotel side street the hotel staff free internet minute walk breakfast was excellent hotel is located convenient location hop on hop visit to rome
Filter
Updating list...
1,541 - 1,546 of 2,436 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2009

As per the other reviews I would say this is an excellent hotel. I have been to quite a few around the world and this is one of the best. All of the staff are very friendly, it is spotlessly clean, everything looks brand new and the aircon works well - it was really hot in Rome and it was vital for me that the aircon in the room worked well which it did. Also the breakfast buffet was really good. The hotel also has a pretty good brand new small gym.

I thought the location was fine because it was easy to find just 5 mins from the station and although it was a 20 min walk into the centre it was so easy to jump on a bus at the termini bus station across the road where the buses are regular and go everywhere. It was also just as easy getting back because they all head back to the main station. The trip into the centre takes 5 mins on the bus. I would imagine that for a similar hotel in the centre that the price would be double so unless money is no object I would advise you to stay here. Its well worth getting a Roma card which gets you into two main attractions free and gives you 3 days unlimited travel on the bus.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waterloosunset1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

As soon as you walk in the door of this hotel you can tell it is all class, walking up from the road gives you a different impression but once through the front doors it all changes. Breakfast was sensational, the rooms are great, staff are very friendly and helpful, you would have to be very fussy to find any fault with this hotel, it is close to some fantastic eateries such as La Famiglia (great food and wine) the best starters buffet ever. There are heaps of internet cafe's and the best laundromat (were you just give all your washing to the guy inside and give him 10 Euros and come back 2 hours later to have it washed, dryed and folded. We dropped all our laundry off before heading out to dinner (usually La Famiglia) and picked it up on the way home. No complaints here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithnSuzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Just back from 4 nights at this hotel and truly impressed.

The staff is just incredibly friendly and helpful. They all were not just nice, but very warm and welcoming. And I mean all of them: The door guy, the cleaning staff, the breakfast staff and of course everyone at the reception, day and night. Where else is the cleaning staff constantly greeting you, and when you leave the breakfast room, someone gives you a nice "bye, thank you" through the whole room?

Our room was a good size, had good a/c and a comfortable bed. But most of all, it was really clean. My partner is extremely picky when it comes to cleanliness, and she was very happy with this hotel. In fact, it was the cleanest hotel-room we ever stayed in. By chance, we got a superior room, although we booked a normal one, so we got a whirlpool. This was a nice feature, but I would not pay extra for it (although my partner probably would).

The breakfast was very good. There is a good selection of stuff to eat, very good fruit juices, and more. Btw, we recognized that some people ordered extra coffee from the staff, so we did too, and got very good cappuccinos instead of the not-so-good coffee at the buffet.

The extras offered by the hotel are amazing: every evening, the minibar is filled with just the right amount of free drinks after a hot day in Rome, and there is a selection of shampoo, bathing foam, and much more in the bathroom. We also liked the slippers to stroll around with in your room (or, as some people do, in the breakfast room).

The whole hotel is very nicely built. All common rooms are bight, spacious and look and feel valuable.

Two cons: First, the location is not perfect. It takes you some minutes to come into the centre by foot or public transport. But its perfectly fine. There are stations at Termini and Repubblica. Tourist buses leave at Repubblica. The neighbourhood was fine for us, we never felt unsafe. All in all, we thought the location is ok, because it may be a bit off, but it is very, very quiet at night. Second con: low water pressure in our room, but not too bad.

All in all, an exceptional hotel. We will definitely go there again, if we go back to Rome. Still impressed by the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waltzian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This hotel has nice, clean, very small rooms. It is near the train station, so it's very convenient to visit all the tourist sites. However, BEWARE that young children must have their own beds! They told me that it is the Italian law! We booked wrongly and were made to feel indeed that we have broken the law. Plus we had to pay so much more than we expected. Also, don't ever take the Superior Double Room, because the only thing extra it has is a jacuzzi. The room size and everything else is the same as the Standard room. It really is not worth it as it is more expensive by 50 euros. The Asian staff are nice and helpful, but not the Italian staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SereneHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The Hotel Diocleziano was by far our favorite hotel during our 14 day trip in Italy. We spent 6 nights here and if we’re lucky enough to return to Rome one day we will definitely make Diocleziano our home during our stay again.

As soon as we were greeted by the bellboy we immediately felt at home. There are not enough words to describe how helpful and friendly the staff was – Giordano in particular gave us many tips and was always willing to answer our many questions.

Our room on the 1st floor was very spacious and the bathroom was big as well. Our room was kept extremely clean during our entire stay and the cleaning service really did go out of their way to ensure that the room was cleaned before we returned from touring. We enjoyed the free drinks in the refrigerator and really felt that this was a great touch. We were in Rome during a heat wave and there was nothing better than coming back to our room after a long day of touring and have cold drinks waiting for us that we didn’t have to pay for at the end of our stay.

The free breakfast was the best we had in all of Italy. After almost 2 weeks eating croissants, it was great to have scrambled eggs, bacon and toast. They also had hard boiled eggs, cereals, fruits, cakes, croissants, small rolls, salami etc. Their American coffee was also the best we had during our trip.

The location of the hotel was excellent. It’s less than a 5 minute walk to the Stazione Termini which we used everyday to take the metro to the major attractions. Not once during our entire stay did we feel unsafe. The area is not dangerous, but like any major city you need to be aware of your surroundings and just be cautious when walking at night.

The hotel is also very close to two great restaurants: La Famiglia and Babbo’s. We ate at La Famiglia three times for lunch and Babbo’s three times for dinner. La Famiglia is not a tourist trap, in fact its patrons are mostly all locals and the food is typical Roman cuisine. Babbo’s is also not a tourist trap and offers exceptional food at reasonable prices.

Hotel Diocleziano exceeded our expectations and we look forward to returning there very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pupidda122505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews