We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a convenient location”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #47 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Location is very convenient, just a few minutes walk from Termini station. We took the metro and buses to all the attractions. Hotel is very clean with friendly service. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices, including scrambled eggs and bacon. Free internet with computers in the lobby. La Famiglia is a great, reasonably priced restaurant about a block away on the same street as the hotel. We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this hotel and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,439 - 1,445 of 2,288 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

Based on previous reviews, we took a chance on this hotel for a trip to Italy with my parents and wife. For our first week we rented a house in Tuscany and then came to Rome for 3 days.

This hotel is located in a great spot as everyone else has noted.

The breakfast is fine but nothing special. The Internet didn't work in the rooms and was very slow in the lobby. The fitness centre is quite small and has a very low ceiling.

My biggest problem was the staff, I found them to be rude and not that great. One night my brother and I came back fairly late and 30 minutes later the front desk called demanding that we come back downstairs to "sign in". I asked why and he didn't speak enough English to tell us why.

So no I would not recommend this hotel nor would I stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oshawa_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

we stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Worthy to stay and no need to look for another hotel.

The staff arranged twin beds accoring to our request and welcomed us in very friendly manner. The room was furnished nicely and had a big clean bath. Air- conditioner helps us from Roma summer heat.

The breakfast was also great such as a varirty of breads, fresh fruits, drinks. The hotel also offered a free internet.

The hotel is 7 miniuts walk from Termini station. While this is the city centre, the hotel is located in the very quiet street so we could open the window during day and night, no disturbance.

We highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy222Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed at Hotel Diocleziano this past week in Rome, and were very happy with our experience!

You can't beat Diocleziano's location, especially if you plan to use public transport frequently. We had an early train to Venice for an overnight stay- Termini is a short walk away, down a quiet street facing the station. In addition to the trains, metro stop, shops and restaurants, we took multiple buses from Termini to get to Campo del Fiore, which has no nearby Metro station. Many Roman sights are also within walking distance.

Rooms were very clean with a modern, more updated decor. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with our questions, and called to reserve our visit to the Galleria Borghese. The minibar was restocked daily with free soda and water, which was great considering the heat in late July- it was 90-95 degrees every day of our trip. The aircon/A.C. worked very well, in contrast to where we stayed in Venice. Other thoughts...Internet access is free - don't know about Wifi access. Breakfast was very enjoyable, there was also a bar but didn't seem to get much use. Gym was available, good not great, but walking in the heat was plenty of exercise on its own!

Only negative? The bed- the two twin beds combined as a full were a bit stiff for our taste. But for the price, location and service, we were extremely satisfied with our experience and would definitely stay here next time we come to Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstewart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We selected this hotel based on the reviews I read here and on our specific preferences:

1. Proximity to Termini - Because our arrival and departure from Rome were both by train, we wanted a hotel within easy walking distance from Termini, so we don't need to pay for taxi. The distance from Termini's front entrance to this hotel was only 300 yards. We knew it will be farther away from most tourist sites, but it didn't matter to us. We didn't want to walk there anyway. We had gotten the Roma Pass, which included 3 days of public transportation, and Termini is a main hub for both public and HOHO buses and the Metro. We were able to save a lot of walking by taking the bus/Metro to everywhere we wanted to visit. We only had to walk at the site and between the nearby sites.

For example, we took the Metro to the Spanish Steps, then walked mostly downhill to Piazza Navonna with stops along the way at Prada/Gucci/Dolci...stores (to appease my wife), and visited the Pantheon and the Trevi Fountain. After we had dinner at Navonna, we took the bus back to Termini. If we had stayed somewhere near any of those places, we probably wouldn't have been able to use the public transportation as effectively.

2. A Newer Facility - Call us prejudiced, but we prefer newer or newly refurbished properties. We have heard too many horror stories, and experienced some ourselves, about older properties with the musty smells, creaky floors, questionable A/C, etc. This hotel is only a few years old, so just about everything felt new

3. High Quality Service and Amenities - Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful! The breakfast was wonderfully prepared and ready for us each morning. Unlike what we read about other properties, there were plenty of seating. In the 3 days we stayed there, we always had a choice of tables. They offered scrambled eggs and bacons, pastries/croissants, along with the typical cuts of cheese, meat, and fruits. In the room, they provided daily non-alcoholic drinks in a small refrigerator. They offer all the standard convenience items in the bathroom. They offer free in-room wifi service (started in late June) as well as a public computer in lobby. For those who needs more exercises than walking all day, there's a nicely equiped gym along with a sauna.

4. Good Value - I'm a sucker to good value. The price we booked for a superior room at this hotel can't be beat by any comparable level properties closer to the many tourist sites. If there wasn't a Roma Pass and if the public transportation wasn't so convenient, we wouldn't have bothered. But, since they were, we found this hotel to be the best choice for us!

As for the other major downside to its location that other reviewers mentioned - questionable security at nights - we didn't have any problems. It was quieter than most tourist locations, but we never felt unsafe. We had dinners at 2 nearby restaurants (Babbo's and La Lampada). Both were within a few blocks of the hotel, and we felt very comfortable walking to and back from the restaurant. In fact, we found the quietness to our liking after a long day of crowds.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PA_FanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

This is my second time in this hotel, and I will be back for my next trip to Rome
From room to breakfast, from cleanliness to quiteness at night, you won't be surpised by a bad experience as you can find in so many tourist spots.
It is mainly a business hotel, but the atmosphere is also great for tourist like me

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATANGANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Diocleziano for 5 nights in July. After searching through many hotels in Rome we decided that this was the best 4*, based on the lovely photos and fabulous reviews.

This hotel is nice, but nothing special. Based on other hotels I've stayed in I would definately not rate it as 4* but 3*. The staff were friendly, and spoke fairly good English and the hotel was clean and fairly modern. The room was however quite small and the bathroom was a terrible layout (you had to squeeze round the toilet to get into the shower and to sit on the toilet you virtually had to put your legs inside the shower.) The minibar in the room was free and was refilled each day, however it only contained 1 bottle of water, Coke and Fanta, (no snacks or alcohol.)

Although the hotel is close to the station, it isn't in the best of areas. During the day it's fine and an easy walk to the station or bus terminal, (less than 5 minutes,) however at night this area doesn't feel terribly safe. There are a lot of homeless people hanging around, and after dark the area is fairly quiet compared to other parts of the city. The hotel itself is down a fairly secluded side street, and the road leading from it to the station reeked with the smell of urine each day, (not very nice in 36 the degree heat!) Taxi drivers also found the hotel difficult to locate and even when given the street name generally went to the other end of the street, which crosses a more major road.

All in all I'd say that this is a nice enough hotel for the price, providing you can afford to get taxis to and from it after dark. However if I went back to Rome I'd stay closer to the Trevi Fountain or Pantheon area, which is more central if you want to explore Rome by foot and be close to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmccu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,392 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
4,311 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#49 of 1,271 in Rome
2,440 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £80 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing