We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,447)
Filter reviews
2,447 results
Traveller rating
1,685
645
86
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,685
645
86
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews termini station complimentary soft drinks diocletian baths la famiglia quiet street mini bar breakfast staff replenished daily excellent hotel side street the hotel staff free internet minute walk breakfast was excellent hotel is located convenient location hop on hop
Filter
Updating list...
1,544 - 1,549 of 2,447 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Based on previous reviews, we took a chance on this hotel for a trip to Italy with my parents and wife. For our first week we rented a house in Tuscany and then came to Rome for 3 days.

This hotel is located in a great spot as everyone else has noted.

The breakfast is fine but nothing special. The Internet didn't work in the rooms and was very slow in the lobby. The fitness centre is quite small and has a very low ceiling.

My biggest problem was the staff, I found them to be rude and not that great. One night my brother and I came back fairly late and 30 minutes later the front desk called demanding that we come back downstairs to "sign in". I asked why and he didn't speak enough English to tell us why.

So no I would not recommend this hotel nor would I stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

we stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Worthy to stay and no need to look for another hotel.

The staff arranged twin beds accoring to our request and welcomed us in very friendly manner. The room was furnished nicely and had a big clean bath. Air- conditioner helps us from Roma summer heat.

The breakfast was also great such as a varirty of breads, fresh fruits, drinks. The hotel also offered a free internet.

The hotel is 7 miniuts walk from Termini station. While this is the city centre, the hotel is located in the very quiet street so we could open the window during day and night, no disturbance.

We highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy222Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed at Hotel Diocleziano this past week in Rome, and were very happy with our experience!

You can't beat Diocleziano's location, especially if you plan to use public transport frequently. We had an early train to Venice for an overnight stay- Termini is a short walk away, down a quiet street facing the station. In addition to the trains, metro stop, shops and restaurants, we took multiple buses from Termini to get to Campo del Fiore, which has no nearby Metro station. Many Roman sights are also within walking distance.

Rooms were very clean with a modern, more updated decor. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with our questions, and called to reserve our visit to the Galleria Borghese. The minibar was restocked daily with free soda and water, which was great considering the heat in late July- it was 90-95 degrees every day of our trip. The aircon/A.C. worked very well, in contrast to where we stayed in Venice. Other thoughts...Internet access is free - don't know about Wifi access. Breakfast was very enjoyable, there was also a bar but didn't seem to get much use. Gym was available, good not great, but walking in the heat was plenty of exercise on its own!

Only negative? The bed- the two twin beds combined as a full were a bit stiff for our taste. But for the price, location and service, we were extremely satisfied with our experience and would definitely stay here next time we come to Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstewart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We selected this hotel based on the reviews I read here and on our specific preferences:

1. Proximity to Termini - Because our arrival and departure from Rome were both by train, we wanted a hotel within easy walking distance from Termini, so we don't need to pay for taxi. The distance from Termini's front entrance to this hotel was only 300 yards. We knew it will be farther away from most tourist sites, but it didn't matter to us. We didn't want to walk there anyway. We had gotten the Roma Pass, which included 3 days of public transportation, and Termini is a main hub for both public and HOHO buses and the Metro. We were able to save a lot of walking by taking the bus/Metro to everywhere we wanted to visit. We only had to walk at the site and between the nearby sites.

For example, we took the Metro to the Spanish Steps, then walked mostly downhill to Piazza Navonna with stops along the way at Prada/Gucci/Dolci...stores (to appease my wife), and visited the Pantheon and the Trevi Fountain. After we had dinner at Navonna, we took the bus back to Termini. If we had stayed somewhere near any of those places, we probably wouldn't have been able to use the public transportation as effectively.

2. A Newer Facility - Call us prejudiced, but we prefer newer or newly refurbished properties. We have heard too many horror stories, and experienced some ourselves, about older properties with the musty smells, creaky floors, questionable A/C, etc. This hotel is only a few years old, so just about everything felt new

3. High Quality Service and Amenities - Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful! The breakfast was wonderfully prepared and ready for us each morning. Unlike what we read about other properties, there were plenty of seating. In the 3 days we stayed there, we always had a choice of tables. They offered scrambled eggs and bacons, pastries/croissants, along with the typical cuts of cheese, meat, and fruits. In the room, they provided daily non-alcoholic drinks in a small refrigerator. They offer all the standard convenience items in the bathroom. They offer free in-room wifi service (started in late June) as well as a public computer in lobby. For those who needs more exercises than walking all day, there's a nicely equiped gym along with a sauna.

4. Good Value - I'm a sucker to good value. The price we booked for a superior room at this hotel can't be beat by any comparable level properties closer to the many tourist sites. If there wasn't a Roma Pass and if the public transportation wasn't so convenient, we wouldn't have bothered. But, since they were, we found this hotel to be the best choice for us!

As for the other major downside to its location that other reviewers mentioned - questionable security at nights - we didn't have any problems. It was quieter than most tourist locations, but we never felt unsafe. We had dinners at 2 nearby restaurants (Babbo's and La Lampada). Both were within a few blocks of the hotel, and we felt very comfortable walking to and back from the restaurant. In fact, we found the quietness to our liking after a long day of crowds.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PA_FanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

This is my second time in this hotel, and I will be back for my next trip to Rome
From room to breakfast, from cleanliness to quiteness at night, you won't be surpised by a bad experience as you can find in so many tourist spots.
It is mainly a business hotel, but the atmosphere is also great for tourist like me

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATANGANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews