We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overnight stay in Rome”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I stayed here as a lone woman traveller on the way back from Tuscany. It was extremely comfortable and clean, and well located near to Termini station. It is not the kind of place I normally go for (I tend to like characterful small boutique hotels- this feels a bit corporate) and it's not somewhere to stay for a long time -- rooms are quite small and there are no places you'd ike to hang out. But it absolutely served a purpose well: professionally run, safe, decent breakfast, kind and friendly staff, and it's not too big and impersonal. I booked it on one of the late booking websites and got an excellent deal too.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyBlueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,443 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights 3 days in May09. Its near 5mins walk from Termini Station, its 5mins walk from Republic Metro and its within 20mins walk from major attractions.

The staff were so friendly, the room and bathroom were just perfect, the price was just ok but when you get there you will appreciate its well worth it. Breakfast was lovely, not overly plush but very nice and they dont mind you taking food back to your room.

Enjoyed this hotel so much I would easily say this hotel is in my top 10 hotels Ive ever stayed in. Only negative is internet wasnt free (for WiFi or in reception).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bren100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The Leornardo Express from the Fiumicini airport takes about 30 minutes to the Termini station and the hotel is located at 5 minutes walking distance from this Termini staion. A word of advice though, if you are taking the Leornardo express into Termini station do not take the Vis Giovanni Giolitti exit as there are plenty of unregistered taxi guys waiting out there to trick you into taking a taxi. Follow the sign M termini exit instead, from there the hotel is right across the main street.

I had read reviews about the area not feeling safe and although the hotel is located in a quite street ( another plus) we never at any point of time felt unsafe even during the nights. La Famiglia, a reasonably priced restaurant is located down the same street.

The location is really unbeatable as most of the hop n hopp off buses start from the Termini station and you can walk to all the major sights (takes between 20-30 min) if you do decide to walk.

The staff was really helpful and courteous, the breakfast was decent and the rooms clean and quite big for Rome standards.

We really enjoyes our stay at this hotel in rome.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Location is very convenient, just a few minutes walk from Termini station. We took the metro and buses to all the attractions. Hotel is very clean with friendly service. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices, including scrambled eggs and bacon. Free internet with computers in the lobby. La Famiglia is a great, reasonably priced restaurant about a block away on the same street as the hotel. We enjoyed our 3 night stay at this hotel and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Based on previous reviews, we took a chance on this hotel for a trip to Italy with my parents and wife. For our first week we rented a house in Tuscany and then came to Rome for 3 days.

This hotel is located in a great spot as everyone else has noted.

The breakfast is fine but nothing special. The Internet didn't work in the rooms and was very slow in the lobby. The fitness centre is quite small and has a very low ceiling.

My biggest problem was the staff, I found them to be rude and not that great. One night my brother and I came back fairly late and 30 minutes later the front desk called demanding that we come back downstairs to "sign in". I asked why and he didn't speak enough English to tell us why.

So no I would not recommend this hotel nor would I stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oshawa_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

we stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Worthy to stay and no need to look for another hotel.

The staff arranged twin beds accoring to our request and welcomed us in very friendly manner. The room was furnished nicely and had a big clean bath. Air- conditioner helps us from Roma summer heat.

The breakfast was also great such as a varirty of breads, fresh fruits, drinks. The hotel also offered a free internet.

The hotel is 7 miniuts walk from Termini station. While this is the city centre, the hotel is located in the very quiet street so we could open the window during day and night, no disturbance.

We highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy222Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We stayed at Hotel Diocleziano this past week in Rome, and were very happy with our experience!

You can't beat Diocleziano's location, especially if you plan to use public transport frequently. We had an early train to Venice for an overnight stay- Termini is a short walk away, down a quiet street facing the station. In addition to the trains, metro stop, shops and restaurants, we took multiple buses from Termini to get to Campo del Fiore, which has no nearby Metro station. Many Roman sights are also within walking distance.

Rooms were very clean with a modern, more updated decor. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with our questions, and called to reserve our visit to the Galleria Borghese. The minibar was restocked daily with free soda and water, which was great considering the heat in late July- it was 90-95 degrees every day of our trip. The aircon/A.C. worked very well, in contrast to where we stayed in Venice. Other thoughts...Internet access is free - don't know about Wifi access. Breakfast was very enjoyable, there was also a bar but didn't seem to get much use. Gym was available, good not great, but walking in the heat was plenty of exercise on its own!

Only negative? The bed- the two twin beds combined as a full were a bit stiff for our taste. But for the price, location and service, we were extremely satisfied with our experience and would definitely stay here next time we come to Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstewart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,396 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,271 in Rome
4,330 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#78 of 1,271 in Rome
2,706 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £76 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing