We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent staff and clean rooms with free daily drinks.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #45 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, excellent staff and clean rooms with free daily drinks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Rome takes a lot of walking to get around and see the tourist things
- this hotel was like a haven and well positioned to take a rest nd a drink prior to going out again.

The breakfast was very nice as was the free mini bar non-alcholic drinks.

I left some suggestions for improvement such as an iron and ice machine and received an email thanking me and advising they had taken on board my suggestions and were implementing.

With the desire to serve their clients like this they will continue to exceed
- i look forward to returning!! - hopefully!
thanks again

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,479
    581
    78
    19
    10
See reviews for
475
1,170
94
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waringstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

We arrived to a hotel that welcomed us even before we stepped inside. Really friendly helpful staff nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom was a good size, air conditioned and very clean.
Slept really well and had a very tasty breakfast, again the staff were smiling and helpful I don't know if I would be that way at 7.30 in the morning. When we checked out we weren't made to feel that we had to go, but could leave our luggage as our flight wasn't until later that night and when we arrived to pick it up we were given the opportunity to freshen up if we wished. All in all good manners and very friendly staff made are holiday very special. I nearly feel like I am giving away a secret.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONEYBLOSSOM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Staff were super friendly and helpful. Location was great and we could walk to all the sites. Hotel was very clean, nice rooms and good breakfast. Perfect for a weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralville, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

My wife and I wanted a hotel close to mass transportation, the hotel is located within walking distance to the Termini train station which is also a hub for the underground train and a large number of bus routes. The area is safe to walk and clean, the area has embassys and goverment buildings surrounding it which helps the overall environment of the area. The front desk attendants were nice courteous and anticipated most of our requests for help and direction. This is the kind of service that can make a good experience last for a long time. If we go back to Rome we'll certainly go back to Hotel Diocleziano.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveloften01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

A little disappointed when we arrived at the hotel - it was close to the train station - yes- however not close to anything else; we like to walk to all of the major attractions - and it was quite a hike - thru a non-picturesque neighborhood - they even ask that you leave your room key at the front desk before heading out; be forwarned of the location; we were under a different impression of where the hotel was located; Diego the manager was very nice and explained to us there is a difference between 4 star SERVICE hotels and 4 star LUXURY hotels - this one is a SERVICE hotel; we would have chosen to stay closer to the attractions in town
That being written, clean rooms, good breakfast, free internet; small hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lruminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

My family, friends and I spent four nights at Hotel Diocleziano before our Mediterranean cruise in August. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Termini as we had planned a couple of trips out of Rome. We got so much more.
The staff is wonderful -- friendly, generous, and caring. The room size is typically of hotels in Europe, but everything is well laid-out so there is no problem. Presumably you are not spending too much time in your room anyway. The bathrooms are clean and spacious, the airconditioning worked really well, the mini-bar had free soft drinks, juices and bottled water, and the hotel provided free internet which we really appreciated. In addition, we got an upgrade, so my husband and I had a huge terrace. Wish we were able to stay longer to really use that space.
Although we did not use the small "gym," it appeared well kept and we were able to fill our water bottles with water provided there.
The complimentary breakfast was also a big plus -- not really an American buffet, but a lot more than standard Continental fare: scrambled eggs, bacon, cold cuts, cheeses, tomatoes, fresh and canned fruits, pastries ... and cappucino. Considering the prices the hotel charges, I cannot understand the complaints about the breakfast variety. It gave us a great start, and because it opens at 6:45 am, we were able to have breakfast before setting off on our trips outside of Rome.
Despite choosing the hotel for its location, I was a bit concerned before our stay based on prior reviews. Yes, the area around Termini is charmless, but definitely safe. In addition, there must have been a major clean-up campaign because the shaded area at the start of Via Gaeta was fine -- nobody hanging around and no smells. A pleasant surprise. Also, if you are used to walking, it isn't that much of a hike to the center and it was easy to get back to the hotel because almost "all roads lead to Termini."
For those of you considering a trip to the Eternal City, this hotel is the best value in Rome!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eightydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

I stayed here as a lone woman traveller on the way back from Tuscany. It was extremely comfortable and clean, and well located near to Termini station. It is not the kind of place I normally go for (I tend to like characterful small boutique hotels- this feels a bit corporate) and it's not somewhere to stay for a long time -- rooms are quite small and there are no places you'd ike to hang out. But it absolutely served a purpose well: professionally run, safe, decent breakfast, kind and friendly staff, and it's not too big and impersonal. I booked it on one of the late booking websites and got an excellent deal too.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBlueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,925 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#61 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing