We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #45 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

My husband and I recently returned from Italy and this hotel was our first stop in Rome. After flying through the night we were lucky to get checked in at 9 AM to nap and get settled. That was a huge bonus. Aside from the lift (elevator) which is tiny, the room was excellent...clean, spacious with a fabulous bathroom.The staff was always friendly & helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. Aside from eggs, cheeses, meat, pastries, bread, croissants, there was always fresh fruit. My favorite was the fresh squeezed blood orange juice. Fantastid! I would highly recommend this boutique hotel to anyone visiting Rome. We also took the double decker bus for 48 hours which turned out to be a wonderful way to get around and get an overview of the city,

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    605
    81
    21
    10
See reviews for
497
1,215
97
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Diocleziano the last week of April. We were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We searched Trip Advisor several times and finally decided upon this wonderful small Hotel. It is located near the Terminal Station and therefore excellent for gettting anywhere in Rome. There are several good places to eat nearby. The Hotel Staff was always Smiling and eager to help with questions. The American breakfast served every morning was good and a great start to each day of exploring Rome. The room we had was small by American standards but was very adequate. We had a nice spa tub which we took advantage of every night. The room was very clean and was kept that way by the housekeeping staff each day. I can say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Diocleziano and it will be our choice again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Quiet location a short walk from Termini station, the hub for the airport coach, the Metro and bus travel, Good buffet breakfast ( including fresh orange juice and cappuchino on request). Wi-fi, umbrella loan and advice all provided cheerfully. Well maintained and professionally run. To eat, try Taverna Flavia or Il Sorriso in Via Flavia, a few blocks away. Or just get the bus or Metro the few stops back to the hot spots - a day pass is only 4 euros and its quite a compact city

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We stayed at Hotel Diocleziano for the weekend and would make the following comments:
+ The service is great, especially Simona on reception who is worth her weight in gold in terms of giving advice especially on restaurants etc
+ The location is very central and all the main sites are within easy reach. The area around the station is a bit dodgy so you need to watch your step but this is reflected in the price of the hotel
+ The rooms are large and very clean and the restaurant is perfectly OK considering the price
+ We had a noisy airconditioning unit in our room which the hotel was unable to turn off - my advice would be to avoid room 002 which is on the ground floor of the hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracesheraton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Good:
- Free mini bar replenished every day
- free breakfast
- staff that greets you everytime you walk in and out. They also helped with calling and booking restaurants, spa treatments etc.

Bad:
-Internet was on/off.
- The room is very warm, the good thing is we can open the window to cool it off.
- There was no room service option, and because my husband was sick I had to run out to get food at night, rather than just calling room service

I would actually give this hotel a 3.5 out of 5 if I can, overall the service was excellent and with the free daily mini bar and breakfast it is value for money. The hotel looked quite old though (look, some would say 'charming' and maybe if you like the old world feel it would have been nice. But for a couple who like sleek, modern design it's probably not what we are after) but it's very well kept.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigout_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed 4 nites at the Diocleziano and had a great time in rome. Staff were friendly and genuinely helpful. Room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Free in-room wifi and complimentary softdrinks in minibar are nice touch. Buffet breakfast also good (with cappucino and espresso/fresh squeezed orange juice). Location is close to Termini rail station. Would definitely stay here again -- thanks to the incredible staff for their suggestions and warmth.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel after reading the reviews on this site and we weren't disappointed. We had a superior room and although not large, it did have a large terrace and was spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed. We stayed for 2 nights and slept really well, no noise from other bedrooms or traffic. The breakfast was fine and served in a very pleasant dining room, the first morning (SUN) there was no tea or coffee offered us and we poured our own from a large urn which tasted horrible, however the next morning, lovely coffee and tea was brought to our table, so much better. The hotel proved to be pretty good location wise, very close to the train station and buses. We ate at Babbo's the first night, which was fantastic, I hadn't been able to book on line and asked the hotel staff to help me out, which they did, keeping me informed with emails all along. We also used the hotel's recommended private car to and from the airport, this was great as it took all the hassle out of commuting. All in all a great little hotel with incredibly helpful and pleasant staff, well done Hotel Diocleziano, your doing a great job!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugley600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,325 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,185 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,261 in Rome
2,644 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#43 of 1,261 in Rome
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing