We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Beauty in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #45 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Little Beauty in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

Hidden away from the main streets, but wonderfully close to the centre of Rome, the Hotel Diocleziano is a little gem. From reading reviews on TripAdvisor I took the plunge and booked the hotel for a recent weekend away.

The hotel did not disappoint. It was excellent in location, service, cleanliness and quality. While it is not the largest in terms of size of rooms, our superior double (with spa bath!) was easily spacious and comfortable for our stay. The staff were incredibly helpful and made our first time visit to Rome a trip to remember.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Rome for a weekend away. A marvellous hotel for an amazing city.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank br3nnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,479
    581
    78
    19
    10
See reviews for
475
1,170
94
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

Very nice, warm, small hotel. People working here are very anxious and interested in our needs.I would like to thank all of them. Excellent condition of building. Be prepared of a little bit walking to visit monuments and main sights of Rome .Otherwise take the metro or even a taxi which is not that expensive.Unfortunatelly too many rain showers in Rome at mid of November.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phgarbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

What a discovery this small hotel is – perfectly situated for visiting within Rome and traveling around. Tucked into a quiet side street very close to the main railways station, Termini, and subway and bus stops, and check-by-jowl with the ruins of the Baths of Diocleziano, this delightful hotel is just steps from everything! The hotel is cozy, very clean and comfortable; size of the room and bathroom was very decent (for Europe); a buffet breakfast offered tasty and fresh food for every taste; free Internet and free soft drinks in the mini bar were pleasant surprises, etc.
Manager Ana is both professional and charming and expects the same of her delightful and helpful staff. Btw, a laundry and a supermarket are just round the corner. Also, there are several restaurants around, and we recommend the closest, La Famiglia, a neighborhood restaurant packed with local people, where nobody tried to overcharge us, where vino di casa was cheap but not bad, and where food was well priced and really good, from great pizza to locally raised lamb....
I think we found our place in Rome!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slaandfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

This is a little hotel in the centre of Rome. It was the ideal location for sightseeing close to the main transport connections and many of the sights are within walking distance for the energetic. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for us, they even did things without being asked having worked out our pattern. The rooms though not the biggest were clean and well maintained. The breakfast was good and plentyful with friendly helpful servers. There are also lots of local restaurants within short walking distance. If you are getting a taxi from the airport though make sure you have a map with you as our driver had some challenges in finding the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMurphy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Service excellent , especially all the female staff/cleaning breakfast staff brilliant nothing too much trouble, all the staff made the hotel feel warm and out of the ordinary .The breakfasts,were much better than we expected, they were great value, fresh orange juice, good coffee.Room spotless,bathroom also. Our first trip to Rome - it was monsoon weather all our stay, so getting back to a great hotel and spending every evening in the room ,we didn't want to go out in the evening rain and cold, so what more can we say great value for money, loved it! 10/10

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpbiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

The service at this Rome was hotel was fabulous - all staff were very willing to help out where they could! The breakfast was also great and the rooms, although on the small side (compared to Oz anyway) were very comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a good spot being basically across the road from the Termini station - the main rail/bus station in Rome. It is also close to amenities such as laundry, supermarkets and ATMS/banks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia_and_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

We were picked up at the airport by the limo service that we requested when we booked the hotel. When we arrived, Giordano, the hotel staff helped us and explined things about the charges, the free stuffs and the surounding areas. Giordano and the rest of the staff were excellent, always smile and greet us coming and going.
The breakfast was excellent, the room was great and spacious, free wifi was a plus.
I would love to go back and stay there again - the location is just perfect.
Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asuharsono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,925 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#61 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Property: Hotel Diocleziano
Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing