We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean hotel, fantastic helpful friendly people, great food - fantastic stay!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Diocleziano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diocleziano
Ranked #46 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I stayed here from 11 - 15 February and it was my first time in Rome. Prior to arriving in Rome, I had already spoken to different people from the hotel (mainly Valentino) who assisted me with confirming room details, recommending and even booking restaurants for me, as well as providing details on tours and costs( and I had even booked this all via a third party) just generally giving an initial feel of the service I could expect to receive on my stay there.
I actually had my birthday there, and the hotel kindly brought up a bottle of champagne, a lovely note and some crisps to my room, which was such a lovely gesture! Everyone there; from hotel front desk (Valentino and Tomas), to porters to catering staff were all so friendly, incredibly accomodating and helpful. The hotel was incredibly clean as was the room and the breakfast bufet had a huge selection.
Location wise is that it is close to the station and not far away from the main attraction. I would deffinitely recommend the Coloseum tour, Vatican museum and St Peters tour (both times get queue jumping tickets as you will need), view from Vittoriana (wedding cake monument) is amazing. It is a must see to go to the top as you see the whole of Rome! Beautiful!
We were recommended Hi Res restaurant; food amazing, not horrendously expensive, it is not an Italian style taverna restaurant but more of a trendy restaurant but is incredibly intimate and feels like a members place.
The trip was topped off by a chauffeur driven merc to the airport which the hotel organised, this is much nicer (and cheaper) than a taxi to / from the hotel! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N4T4L1E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

we really liked everything in this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful,
breakfast was excellent and the bed in the room was fantastic. And what's best for
Finns, it is of course the Sauna. Thanks Anna and staff!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My wife and I visited Rome for the first time for 3 nights 11-14 February to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. The hotel upgraded us to a Superior room that included a jacuzzi bath. The hotel is situated only ten minutes walk from the Central Terminal in a quiet road. The hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent and were helpful and polite. Main attractions and restuarants are within walking distance. The breakfast was excellent. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Dont hesitate, book it. About 4 mins from the station, use the buses and tube to get around.

VERY GOOD!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed 3 nights (fri-mon) in February.The hotel is conveniently located within a short walk to the termini, Repubblica piazza and a 20 min walk to Colosseo and most tourist attractions. Our room was on the 3rd floor there is a small lift which was out of action duing the last days of our stay. The room was a twin bed which was spacious and very clean. I found the single beds very firm with crisp sheets and a blanket. I personally missed not having a duvet and mattress topper! We overlooked the street which we did experience some traffic and pedestrian noise but only when the windows where open.The hotel provides breakfast, soft drink mini bar ,tea and coffee, Wifi and safe free of charge. Which was most welcomed. The staff are professional and very helpful. Would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanie756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed here for a week during the X'mas holiday and enjoyed it very much. Valentino was very friendly and attentive to all our needs, inquiries, etc. Room was small but comfortable. Bathroom actually had a jet tub. Hotel was very close to subway station and bus station, and taxis were easy to get. The little gym actually had adequate equipment and not just for show, even has a TV. Free internet. Biggest problem for women is the hair dryer, it's that kind that are found in smaller European hotels sometimes that is a tube that blow very little air but gets too hot to hold. Absolutely impossible to use so bring your own hair dryer and ask hotel for a converter instead.

Hotel provides a breakfast but it was very basic and seem to cater to Brits and Americans. We were here partly for the delicious Italian food experience so even though breakfast was free we skipped it and went to a very popular cafe about 5 mins walk away from the hotel every morning. No longer remember the name though but if you walk around the area there are other breakfast options for sure. Hotel also conveniently close to a pharmacy and convenience store run by Indians so no problem if you forget any toiletries.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank probativev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The hotel was a pleasant surprise in terms of central & quiet location in Rome. The size of the room and the professionalism of the staff made for a great stay.

The breakfast buffet provided good variety and the breakfast room was quite spacious. The free wi-fi was an added bonus as well as the free mini bar. After walking all day it was nice to come back to cold drinks and light snacks in the room.

Lastly, the shower was hot and had good pressure.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ieatueatweeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,396 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,271 in Rome
4,330 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#78 of 1,271 in Rome
2,706 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,271 in Rome
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diocleziano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diocleziano

Address: Via Gaeta 71, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#28 Family Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#40 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £76 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diocleziano 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a quiet street, just behind the Diocletian Baths, the Hotel Diocleziano is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Rome's city centre! Just a 5 minute walk from Termini Train Station, the main bus routes and the metro lines A and B, Hotel Diocleziano is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. All our 35 rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connection and daily restocked mini-bar - completely free! Not to mention the complimentary gym and sauna, where guests can relax after a busy day sightseeing. And if you are lucky enough to find it available, make sure you book the Deluxe Room. Its spacious terrace, overlooking the ruins of the Diocletian Baths, is a private window to History... If you are looking for a cosy and relaxing 4-star hotel, with a friendly multilingual staff, happy to cater to all your needs 24/7, then you might just have found your place in downtown Rome! Diocleziano STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diocleziano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diocleziano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing