We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #9 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Lovely rooms; great position; good service; nice breakfast. There's also a free mini-bar in the room and free snacks downstairs in the spacious lounge areas which is a very nice touch.

Room Tip: I read the recommendation to choose a room facing the garden but due to the expense we got a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaveSas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

I read the many tripadvisor comments for approximately one year prior to me staying at this hotel. The reviews were so good that I thought it had to have been the hotel staff making the reviews to boost status on Tripadvisor. I was wrong. This place was fantastic and really a gem of a place. The location is very nice and quiet. We went past the "other hotels" in the very heart of Rome and it was so noisy and busy, that it would not have been fun at all. We had the room with the balcony (which I requested and got), at it was great to sit outside at night and watch the park across the street. The bedroom was very large and very clean. The bathroom was outrageously large and high quality tile and amenities.

The only thing I could say is that the breakfast was "a little weak." But it could have been our fault because we didn't know (nor were we told) that you had to ring a bell to get cook products. We didn't know and completely missed this for two out of our three days there.

Access to the mini bar was a great treat. We thoroughly enjoyed being able to eat or drink something without having to worry about how much it cost.

Some people wrote that it was a pain to get someone to open the door every time we wanted to come in. I thought it was an extra security measure that made me feel comfortable that "just anyone" was walking around the place.

We had drinks in the back patio and garden area and just loved how peaceful and quiet the place was.

Overall, I would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony (theres only one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank point5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The hotel is located right in the heart of everything just up the Via dei Serpenti from the Coliseum. The interior is beautiful with a lovely grand hall behind the reception, a library, and a sitting room with a well stocked bar! The bedrooms are newly refurbished with nice views. The minibar is free! There is much to recommend this place buy sadly I cannot recommend the spa because I have never seen it due to poor service on the part of the staff. They e-mailed me, I e-mailed them back. They either did not receive or lost my e-mail and did not follow up. Thus when we arrived, our spa reservations had not been made and trying to get a slot was an unnecessarily complicated, bureaucratic process. Rather than help us, the staff seemed to want to get into some sort of argument with us about who was at fault and what was and wasn't available. They wanted to dictate to us when we could and couldn't enjoy the spa. We finally had to throw in the towel (no pun intended) and forego that part of our holiday, which is a shame because that is why we booked Villa Spalletti in the first place. I lived in Italy for years as young person. I speak the language and understand the culture. I know things are 'negotiated' differently in Italy than say, in the world of the 'anglo-sassoni', but behind the counter of a luxury hotel is not the time or the place. Given the money being spent, the service should be impeccable, not argumentative. I'm sorry to say we will not be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Travelling_30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea85vst, Direttore generale at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Sir,

First of all thank you very much for your feedback, as usual we always appreciate it.
Regarding what upsetted you during your stay with us we regret it affected negatively your Roman Vacation. We need to say though that every possible effort was made from our side, from the moment you checked-in onwards, to make it up for the email (in which you were requesting the treatments) that never arrived, also due to the fact you apparently used an old email address and our attempt to follow up turned out to be of no use. Our staff wasn’t absolutely trying to argue on who was right or in fault, but simply proposing alternatives as we always try to do when by any chance we cannot completely fullfil our guests requests. Far from us the will to dictate any condition on when to or not to use the spa, only trying to find space on our schedule, luckily pretty busy during weekends. Since we, regretfully, didn’t manage to satisfy your spa requests we refunded the package you bought through our website, as a further example of customer oriented policy.


Looking forward to welcoming you again in Rome and at Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Villa Spalletti Trivelli. We stayed in one of the Grand Deluxe Suites. Plenty of space for the three of us. Loved all of the modern amenities. The best of all of the hotels we stayed at in Italy. Beautiful location easy walk to the Quirinale and Trevi.

Breakfast was wonderful, indoors or out. The grounds are small, but lovely and private in such a large city. My husband and I had a nice, quiet dinner in the hotel library (just sandwiches and gelato) after our son was too tired to go out for dinner and had fallen asleep. While simple, it was done very well. It would be nice if they offered a few more items besides sandwiches in the evening, such as eggs, pasta and/or soup. While I understand their kitchen isn't open, those are thing that can easily be made up in a pinch for guests who need to stay in for an evening.

The staff was always nice, but sometimes directions to restaurants were lacking and we ended up getting lost a few times. One reservation was made for two instead of three, but the restaurant managed to accommodate us at less desirable location (in front of the open kitchen and in the service walkway) even though they were fully booked for the night.

Outside of those few little things, the hotel was quite fabulous. The room was special with a mix of antiques and modern furniture. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed. Modern wireless without restrictions on devices or having to ask for a new code daily. Satellite TV with a wide range of channels (which we really needed to watch out team in the NCAA tournament on ESPN America). It felt like home. We really liked that most of all. If we go to Rome again or ever are asked to recommend a hotel, Villa Spalletti Trivelli with be our first choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank samlab25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Spent 3 nights in Villa Spalletti; we have to say its probably the best boutique hotel we have ever stayed in. The moment we arrived we were warmly greeted and advised that our room reservation had been upgraded - the Prestige Room was totally spacious, beautifully furnished and immaculate in every detail right down to complimentary dental floss!!
Complimentary is a word that consistently springs to mind, whether its the mini bar in your room or the evening drinks in the library or weather permitting in the gardens.
Breakfast includes freshly cooked eggs and bacon with the usual array of juices, coffees, cheeses, fruit, etc. etc. - the perfect setup for a full day of sightseeing.
Last but not least the staff have mastered the art of being friendly and helpful but inobtrusive; it has to be said that if Carlsberg did hotels ....................!!
Can't wait to have the opportunity to stay here again; Villa Spalletti richly deserves is rave reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IrelandAmigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Three perfect days in Rome and prime experience of roman hospitality. Staff is very helpful and kind. upon our early arrival they offered us to take a shower in basements wellness area and start our sightseeing fresh, before check in. Rooms are perfect, big, with nice details (iphone docking alarm clock and free wifi allowed us to enjoy internet radio), lobby is exclusive and perfectly furnished, garden offers you peace of remote place right in the centre of Rome.Real recco, worth every penny !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank drIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Villa Spalletti Trivelli is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in anywhere. Based on reviews on Trip Advisor and their website I chose it as the place for my 17 year old son and I to stay during our trip to Rome and was not the least bit disappointed. We will definitely be back. The rooms are huge and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a wonderful way to start the day with many choices and they are centrally located making sightseeing easy. There are many lovely restaurants in all price ranges within walking distance, some nice shopping and beautiful gardens to enjoy both behind the villa and at the public park across the street. Many thanks for a fabulous week in Rome. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the side street and garden behind the Villa. I do not think there is a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MomcatNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,925 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,271 in Rome
756 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,271 in Rome
241 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,271 in Rome
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £261 - £712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing