We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #4 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best hotel we've stayed in”
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location, an oasis in the heart of Rome. Excellent attentive staff that genuinely make you welcome.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    27
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
92
310
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
432 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

With a mere twelve rooms, this beautiful Villa in the heart of Rome is a unique property. Although a few items in the guest room didn’t seem quite in keeping, the rooms are pleasant and the hotel’s public areas are beautiful and evoke a bygone era. Unfortunately the service let it down – staff were illusive, and turndown service was forgotten on both evenings. Given the hotel’s size, room rate – and compared with other leading European boutique hotels – I expected a far greater level of service. Some more detail should you wish...

Arrival & Guest Room
* From the moment of the door being opened, staff were friendly and welcoming. An orientation was provided, before being shown to the guest room.
* The guest room was decorated with old world charm, including original art works. A complementary mini-bar was replenished daily. The bathroom was of a high standard, with extra large towels, luxurious bathrobes and Ren toiletries. A lack of attention-to-detail let the overall (otherwise old world) room appearance down – most notably a modern cupboard and wardrobe, large wall-mounted television, a transparent plastic side table, and numerous notices covering the bureau (see photos).
* The turndown service was forgotten on both evenings. On notifying front desk on both occasions (upon return, post 10pm) no apology was forthcoming. When provided, turndown was very average for a premium hotel.
* A few notable omissions from the guest rooms were:
- Tea/coffee making facilities – noting room service incurs a 15 Euro surcharge to any order.
- Rug fasteners – the rugs slide on the wooden floors (not great if you aren’t so quick on your feet).

Public Areas
These are definitely the primary selling point – a garden with outdoor seating area, and two beautiful lounges and a reading room charmingly decorated with (I assumed) family photographs. A complementary self-service bar offers a selection of spirits, soft drinks and a sparkling wine. Staff are rarely seen but can be called via a bell.

Breakfast
Included in the room rate, it was largely a self-service affair – staff did not appear unless you rang the bell for service. There is a Continental breakfast buffet including self-service tea & coffee. Eggs are made to order upon request. In all – more of a B&B breakfast than what you would expect of a luxurious boutique hotel.

To summarise, a pleasant stay in a unique property; unfortunately a lack of premium service would make a return visit unlikely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for reviewing our property and sending us your feedback. Thank you also for the nice words spent on the Villa. We have no record of any skipped turndown service in April or May, nor about special requests in regard, We usually keep trace of everything. If by any chance it happened we sincerely apologize. As stated from most reviews and in some of our earlier replies the kind of service we offer is not the usual one you would find in a hotel . We try to give a discreet service with a home touch. It is your house and you have to enjoy it that way (that is why we offer free drinks at the selfservice bar, no coffee/tea facilities in the rooms, you normally wouldn’t find them in a private home, complimentary minibars, complimentary homemade buffet breakfast, etc. ) In the rooms we had to meet all the needs of a traveller: need for information andin-room entertainment (plasma tv’s and ipod docks), A/C, telephone lines etc. We also tried to add a modern twist to the classical style (the perpex, not plastic, tables created by a famous italian designer) that maybe not everyone may completely appreciate, but luckily/unluckily people have extremely different tastes.

Thank you anyways for mentioning all these details that we will indeed keep in mind to try to continuously improve our level of service


Best Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel was absolutely amazing! I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed staying there! Beautiful hotel interior, rooms, furniture. Very accomodating and attentive staff. Great location. Very private and quiet hotel, I felt like we were staying at a friend's house rather than a hotel. Beautiful garden in the back, I really enjoyed spending time with a glass of wine there. Nice breakfast. Loved the complimentary bar/drinks/snacks. We did not use the spa, but I am sure it's as wonderful, as the rest of the hotel. Would definitely come back! Thank you for helping us to have an amazing honeymoon!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DashkaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our second visit to the Villa and it was superb. We stayed in Ripa and opened up the adjoining sitting room, which came in handy when one of us had jet lag.

It's not immediately obvious how well located the Villa is. It's on an unassuming street on the Quirinale. If you walk toward the Via Nazionale, you can quickly get to the Forum and the Capitoline Hill. If you walk up toward the Palace, you can get to Trevi within 10 minutes and it's another 10 minutes to the Pantheon.

The rooms are beautiful, the beds are great, and the staff is very accommodating.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LDFBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The hotel is in an excellent situation - very central but also on a very quiet side street. The whole hotel is extremely tastefully decorated and the rooms are just lovely. The service was immaculate and they made excellent dinner reservations when we asked. We had breakfast on the terrace every morning and we helped ourselves to complementary drinks before we went out at night. It feels and is luxurious - I could not recommend this hotel more - if you are staying in Rome, treat yourself and stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beenthereLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Lovely rooms; great position; good service; nice breakfast. There's also a free mini-bar in the room and free snacks downstairs in the spacious lounge areas which is a very nice touch.

Room Tip: I read the recommendation to choose a room facing the garden but due to the expense we got a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveSas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I read the many tripadvisor comments for approximately one year prior to me staying at this hotel. The reviews were so good that I thought it had to have been the hotel staff making the reviews to boost status on Tripadvisor. I was wrong. This place was fantastic and really a gem of a place. The location is very nice and quiet. We went past the "other hotels" in the very heart of Rome and it was so noisy and busy, that it would not have been fun at all. We had the room with the balcony (which I requested and got), at it was great to sit outside at night and watch the park across the street. The bedroom was very large and very clean. The bathroom was outrageously large and high quality tile and amenities.

The only thing I could say is that the breakfast was "a little weak." But it could have been our fault because we didn't know (nor were we told) that you had to ring a bell to get cook products. We didn't know and completely missed this for two out of our three days there.

Access to the mini bar was a great treat. We thoroughly enjoyed being able to eat or drink something without having to worry about how much it cost.

Some people wrote that it was a pain to get someone to open the door every time we wanted to come in. I thought it was an extra security measure that made me feel comfortable that "just anyone" was walking around the place.

We had drinks in the back patio and garden area and just loved how peaceful and quiet the place was.

Overall, I would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony (theres only one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank point5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,617 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,256 in Rome
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
2,862 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,256 in Rome
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Property: Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing