We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - our oasis of calm at the end of the day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #9 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very good hotel. Our room was lovely, we had a suite which was just perfect with two lovely bathrooms. The gardens are lovely and we especially enjoyed the early evening glass of prosecco sat outside. One small complaint is that it is disappointing that can't get tea/ coffee in your room without paying also breakfast could be slightly improved with more of a selection of hot food. Overall though it was a centrally located oasis of calm.
The staff were excellent and could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honest_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

A truly magnificent hotel, only twelve rooms, so you hardly see any guests.

Free in room bar and downstairs bar free between 1730 and 2300hrs.

The bedroom was fine, king size bed, large TV and decent size bathroom.

Breakfast had large choice and most pleasant sitting outside.

Central location, staff friendly and efficient.

We would definitely stay here again, It deserves its high rating.

Room Tip: The standard rooms were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GastroGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Villa was as expected, absolutely wonderful. We enjoyed our room which was very spacious and immaculate. The bathroom was huge and beautiful with marble and very nice fixtures. The favorite perk for us however was the all inclusive mini-bar. It was very well stocked with beverages and snacks all at no additional charge. You can also partake of the bar downstairs in the library at no charge which was a nice stop before heading out to dinner.

The gardens in the back are so peaceful and pristine. We would sit with our drink while waiting for our taxi for dinner each night. There were other people staying in the villa but it felt so very private. During breakfast we had only one other family in the dining room and I don't think we ever saw any other guests on our same floor. I can see why the Villa is frequented by VIP's who wish to remain anonymous.

The staff was friendly and was eager to help with whatever we needed....dinner reservations, etc.
The Villa is definitely one of the favorite places I have ever had the opportunity to stay, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ksma23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We suffered through the hordes of tourists at all of the famous spots and then relished the private sanctuary Villa Spalletti Triveli offered upon our return. There are so few guests sharing this sizable villa even during peak season that you feel you have it to yourself. It is tastefully decorated minus a few eccentric choices. The staff were always at hand when you needed something and hidden from view when you didn't. The location was superb and within walking distance of all of the sites except the Vatican.

The best parts... A private retreat in the heart of Rome...quiet, comfortable, relaxed. Complimentary cocktail in the garden after a long day of crowded tourist spots. Helpful, friendly staff with no attitudes. Mercedes pick up service at the airport was a great stress free welcome. Location, location, location.

Could be improved... Breakfast was dull and the same everyday. The spa services were pleasant but not memorable.

It was a great start to our first tour of Italy!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank irachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Fantastic location, an oasis in the heart of Rome. Excellent attentive staff that genuinely make you welcome.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

With a mere twelve rooms, this beautiful Villa in the heart of Rome is a unique property. Although a few items in the guest room didn’t seem quite in keeping, the rooms are pleasant and the hotel’s public areas are beautiful and evoke a bygone era. Unfortunately the service let it down – staff were illusive, and turndown service was forgotten on both evenings. Given the hotel’s size, room rate – and compared with other leading European boutique hotels – I expected a far greater level of service. Some more detail should you wish...

Arrival & Guest Room
* From the moment of the door being opened, staff were friendly and welcoming. An orientation was provided, before being shown to the guest room.
* The guest room was decorated with old world charm, including original art works. A complementary mini-bar was replenished daily. The bathroom was of a high standard, with extra large towels, luxurious bathrobes and Ren toiletries. A lack of attention-to-detail let the overall (otherwise old world) room appearance down – most notably a modern cupboard and wardrobe, large wall-mounted television, a transparent plastic side table, and numerous notices covering the bureau (see photos).
* The turndown service was forgotten on both evenings. On notifying front desk on both occasions (upon return, post 10pm) no apology was forthcoming. When provided, turndown was very average for a premium hotel.
* A few notable omissions from the guest rooms were:
- Tea/coffee making facilities – noting room service incurs a 15 Euro surcharge to any order.
- Rug fasteners – the rugs slide on the wooden floors (not great if you aren’t so quick on your feet).

Public Areas
These are definitely the primary selling point – a garden with outdoor seating area, and two beautiful lounges and a reading room charmingly decorated with (I assumed) family photographs. A complementary self-service bar offers a selection of spirits, soft drinks and a sparkling wine. Staff are rarely seen but can be called via a bell.

Breakfast
Included in the room rate, it was largely a self-service affair – staff did not appear unless you rang the bell for service. There is a Continental breakfast buffet including self-service tea & coffee. Eggs are made to order upon request. In all – more of a B&B breakfast than what you would expect of a luxurious boutique hotel.

To summarise, a pleasant stay in a unique property; unfortunately a lack of premium service would make a return visit unlikely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for reviewing our property and sending us your feedback. Thank you also for the nice words spent on the Villa. We have no record of any skipped turndown service in April or May, nor about special requests in regard, We usually keep trace of everything. If by any chance it happened we sincerely apologize. As stated from most reviews and in some of our earlier replies the kind of service we offer is not the usual one you would find in a hotel . We try to give a discreet service with a home touch. It is your house and you have to enjoy it that way (that is why we offer free drinks at the selfservice bar, no coffee/tea facilities in the rooms, you normally wouldn’t find them in a private home, complimentary minibars, complimentary homemade buffet breakfast, etc. ) In the rooms we had to meet all the needs of a traveller: need for information andin-room entertainment (plasma tv’s and ipod docks), A/C, telephone lines etc. We also tried to add a modern twist to the classical style (the perpex, not plastic, tables created by a famous italian designer) that maybe not everyone may completely appreciate, but luckily/unluckily people have extremely different tastes.

Thank you anyways for mentioning all these details that we will indeed keep in mind to try to continuously improve our level of service


Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel was absolutely amazing! I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed staying there! Beautiful hotel interior, rooms, furniture. Very accomodating and attentive staff. Great location. Very private and quiet hotel, I felt like we were staying at a friend's house rather than a hotel. Beautiful garden in the back, I really enjoyed spending time with a glass of wine there. Nice breakfast. Loved the complimentary bar/drinks/snacks. We did not use the spa, but I am sure it's as wonderful, as the rest of the hotel. Would definitely come back! Thank you for helping us to have an amazing honeymoon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DashkaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,863 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,269 in Rome
747 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,269 in Rome
442 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £282 - £982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing