We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #7 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently spent 5 nights here and it was wonderful. Very quiet, I am a light sleeper and this hotel is the quietest I've ever experienced. The rooms and bathrooms are modern, huge and luxurious. We had a regular room - the suites must be mind-blowing.

The breakfast spread is fantastic, you can eat inside or outside. There is everything you could want plus they will make bacon, eggs & pancakes to order. Also they serve breakfast until 11 AM :-) So you can stay up late, get a good sleep and still get breakfast!

Location is very good, we walked to the Coliseum, Forum, Trevi fountain. We also walked to Termini station and caught the subway to get to other locations. We found plenty of restaurants to eat at in the side streets. There is a nice park with statue right across the street.

Staff was great and yes they do treat you as family. We feel this is the best hotel we've ever stayed in and worth every cent of the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    27
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
90
302
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Having stayed in deluxe, large hotels in the past in Rome, we chose the 11 room Villa Spalletti for this 3 day trip and were absolutely delighted. Our deluxe room included a walk in closet, a large double vanity bathroom with separate shower and bath as well as a balcony with a table and 2 chairs, just right for cocktails. Room rate included a full breakfast buffet with eggs as well as FREE use of everything in the mini bar. The service at the villa was excellent, with the staff willing to do whatever you needed. The location seemed a bit away from things on a map but we were within easy walking distance of the Colosseum as well as the major shopping areas. We look forward to returning to this "find" in the center of Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retireeWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

After staying for 3 nights June 2-4 at Villa Spalletti, I won't be looking for another hotel in Rome again. We loved this villa. We felt like we were guests in someone's home. Our suite was a corner suite, lots of big windows with views into the garden and across the street. Our room was very spacious, comfortable bed and linens, big bathroom with a large window. So we had lot's of natural light in our rooms. The rooms were nicely decorated, I loved the fabrics. The mini bar is complementary. I would stay in the same room again. The large sitting rooms downstairs are gorgeous. Huge tapestries and sitting areas, very intimate and at the same time they are very spacious. The library was so beautiful, all the wood cabinets displaying antique books and family photos. You really feel like your visiting a wealthy Italian family. You can fix yourself a drink in the sitting rooms and just relax and meet other guests of the hotel before you head out for dinner. The staff was great and helped us hire a guide for the day and book our dinner reservations. The location is perfect, in the middle of everything. The spa is an oasis, I had a massage which was good, but the steam room is perfect. I will always stay here while in Roma.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debbied433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This has been the most unusual and pleasant hotel experience for us during out trip to Italy in June 2013. There is no hotel lobby or standard hotel corridors... You live in a villa with a great sitting area and a library on the ground floor. It's an old property which is very well maintained.
The rooms are newly fitted out and the common areas are restored preserving the historical feel.
To get inside you will have to ring a bell and the door will be opened for you. Isn't is charming?
This hotel is mostly suitable for those who are not looking for standard hotel amenities and is ready for new experiences (be assured they will be very pleasant). I would not recommend this hotel for families with small kids though.
We will definately be back...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is 5star and more- an oasis in the heart of rome with attractions galore within 10-15 minutes walk. An exceptional property: great bedrooms and luxurious common areas which are with quiet thanks to 12 rooms only. Great service and a beautiful garden to relax in. I cannot imagine coming to rome and not staying here - it is truly magnificent in every respect. I have been in Europe for two weeks and have not spent less than 600€ per night on accommodation - I finally feel that I've got value for money and then some.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

My wife and I spent the last 3 nights of our second honeymoon (25th wedding anniversary) at the Villa Spalletti Trivelli in Rome (June 14 thru 16). From the moment the staff greeted us as the door the service was incredible. It truly is like staying in someone's home. The villa accommodates 14 rooms on multiple levels and is tastefully and luxuriously decorated. The garden is a very private and wonderful place to relax, enjoy a cocktail, or dessert. Breakfast, which was included in our rate, was wonderful. A variety of breads, cheeses, meats, fruits, juices, and custom cooked eggs were available every morning.

Our room (#8) was spacious and Very comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE, by European standards and had both an glass enclosed shower and separate tub.

In terms of the staff...they were very attentive, gracious, and most importantly non-intrusive. They were most helpful in arranging a car and driver and providing directions.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of many shops and places to eat. the "Wedding Cake" and Roman Forum are also close by.

Simply put, we had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend the Villa Spellatti Trivelli to anyone looking for a special experience while in Rome!

Room Tip: I doubt you could have a bad room at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinMan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by my husband's friend. We stayed here for 4 nights and it was great but I expected more given the cost. Having said that, the rooms were spacious and sitting out in the garden was really nice. They stock your minibar daily with flat and sparkling water and alcohol. If you drink then this is a nice luxury (we didn't and asked for extra water bottles instead, which was never delivered). The location is great -- 10-15 minutes to the Colosseum (which you can see down the street once you're on the main crossroads - via nacionale), the Roman Forum. The Trevi fountain and Spanish steps are 5-10 minutes away. While seeing the Spanish steps, try the restaurant Alla Rampa as the food here is great (may need to make reservations though). The Vatican is further and you will need a taxi to get there. You can easily walk back to the hotel from Campo de’Fiori (an open market area which closes around 1-2pm). While in Rome, we went to the indian restaurant Guru which was okay (their cheese naan was pretty good, otherwise their portions are small). This restaurant is literally down the street after crossing via nacionale. Near this restaurant is a great gelato place that has soy based gelato (pretty tasty) and frozen yogurt. Their pistachio gelato is amazing. Another great place to eat was the Leon. Breakfast at the hotel was mediocre. They have a variety of cakes but it's not fresh; we saw the same cake the 4th day we were there and they started to taste dry. Although they offer eggs done your way and pancakes, they were disappointingly not that good with uncooked eggs in my omelet. The hot chocolate was also subpar. The receptionists working there are hit or miss - we had great interactions with some of them but there was a particular lady who was very snobby and would ask us to call back to speak with her colleague when she was capable of taking care of our request. Luckily, she was only there on our first and last day. Overall, the location of this place is great and it's quiet. BUT, it's very expensive may not be worth the money.

Room Tip: When booking online, look at their website and sign up for their rewards program. Include this in yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nvv2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr68, Direttore at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Property and sending us your feedback. We are always very open to constructive criticism as we always strive to maintain the high standards we set.

Having said that, we are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our cakes. I have investigated the matter and found out that during the same period of your stay we actually baked more cakes than our normal daily quota. Our records show that our guests show a strong interest on cakes and croissants instead of savoury food .. so it is strange that you experienced the opposite.
Our cakes are freshly homemade by our chefs, never dry or served for more than 2 days. In Italy, breakfast cakes have no cream inside , they're more like "plum cake " with an almost sweet bread like style.. we usually serve a Ciambellone (bundt cake), Torta Margherita, Tenerina, Torta agli Amaretti, Crostata (lattice jam tart). Perhaps this could be the reason why you assumed that they were dry and could be a matter of personal point of view and personal preference of taste.

Regarding your feedback on our hot chocolate, since opening we only offer VENCHI top quality, which was chosen by the owners as it is one of the most highly regarded chocolate brands in Italy It's usually very difficult to have an objective "view" on the food because there is always a personal "background" which filters final judgment. We usually pay very much attention to details. However, sometimes defaillances may occur that's why we take each client feedback very seriously . We try to do our best day after day : this is the mission that we all share, so we thank you for your feedback.

I'd like to take the opportunity to explain what we propose every morning on complimentary basis: Croissants & brioches, 5 different homemade cakes, selection of breads, cereals, selection of jam & marmelade, selection of organic honey, selection of organic yogurts, selection of organic puddings, selection of fruit juices, Cheese selection, Parma ham and Salami selection, first quality organic buffalo mozzarella cheese, first quality organic buffalo ricotta cheese , fruit salad and fresh fruit, + hot drinks from Caffeteria to order (express service) among coffee, cappuccino, tea, herbal infusions, hot chocolate, freshly squeezed orange juice & finally a range of freshly cooked hot items to order among Omelette, poached eggs, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, grilled Italian bacon, pancakes (express service as explained on the breakfast menu)

We are very glad that you enjoyed some part of the stay and if we ever have the pleasure to count you among our guests again, the staff and I will be very happy to make sure any further assistance or wishes that you may have will be met.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Property: Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing