We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent on every count”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #6 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst exploring Rome for the first time. We felt as though we were staying in a very special home.

We could not fault the hotel. It really is one if the best we have stayed in, and many luxury hotels could learn a lot from them!

The drawing room, terrace, entrance and breakfast room were beautiful and the honesty bar was a very nice touch.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much....they secured some great restaurant reservations for us.

The room was wonderful, furnished with antiques and beautiful art with a view of the garden and blackout shutters. Plus an oversized bathroom.

We really could not fault the hotel and will definitely be booking agin on our next visit to Rome.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LondonTraveller500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay at the Villa four times now, the first time being May 2012 after consulting the SLH website. That visit alone was enough to convince us that not only did we want to get married in Rome but we also wanted to host our wedding reception at the Villa. We are now one year on from that magical wedding weekend and have just returned from our first anniversary stay.
We cannot speak highly enough of the luxurious hotel, it's amenities, it's food and the incomparable service offered by its staff. Every guest is extremely important and any needs are catered for with a very personal touch - nothing is too much trouble. This professional approach and can-do attitude emanate from the top where Maria Merra, the hotel manageress, and the head of reception Elio, set the tempo.
We could wax lyrically about all the great times, the fantastic experiences and first class service we have received since we discovered the Villa 18 months ago but we think it's best just to say "BOOK IT" , you will not regret it. We certainly can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: It is impossible to choose a bad room as they are all first class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in Villa Spalletti Trivelli for four nights recently and are a slightly perplexed by the place. There is no doubt that it is a very beautiful hotel. The common areas are decorated with real style and gorgeous furniture. However, as a whole, the place just does not work.

There are twelve rooms in the hotel, so naturally it has a quieter, more intimate feel than other hotels. However, this does not translate into a more personalised experience. There always seemed to be different faces at reception, without anyone knowing you were a guest.

I have to agree with another reviewer who says that there is a sense throughout that you are an unwelcome guest in a stately home of someone you don't know.

I do not want to be overly critical, as there are a lot of positives - excellent breakfast, nice room (although nothing as impressive as the common areas) and perfect bathroom. The issue is perhaps best exemplified by the "turkish bath". On our last day, we wandered down to the turkish bath, which is in the basement of the property. The entire basement has been renovated to an extremely high standard to fit it with a smal gym, relaxation room, changing rooms and turkish bath. However, when we arrived, there was no body to meet us, nobody at reception and no body to tell us where to go and where not to go. We eventually worked our way through the warren of rooms, had a quick sauna (i.e. "turkish bath") and left - feeling like we were imposing throughout.

We have stayed in a number of expensive 5* hotels. We generally look for boutique hotels, with character, as opposed to huge chains with hundreds of rooms. We really wanted to love Hotel Villa Spalletti, but we just didn't.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Themightypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr68, Direttore at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our Property.
As stated from most reviews and in some of our earlier replies , Villa Spalletti Trivelli keeps the intimate feel of a private home and the kind of service we offer is not the usual one you would find in a hotel . Our concept is providing discretion and privacy with a home touch . Our staff is friendly ,very accommodating yet very professional with an eye to guests' expectation with a non-intrusive attitude which could be an added value for most people . Points of views are different from person to person and maybe not everyone may completely agree with our philosophy : this is an expression of democracy .
Regarding to the Turkish bath issue , which is exclusive for guests staying at the Villa who can also take advantage of Gym facilities and Relax room on a totally complimentary basis , there is a fully detailed notice at the Reception providing info about the use of turkish bath and inviting our valued guests to ask the Reception for any further assistance on the Wellness Centre : our staff is always ready to help our guests for any queries.
We are glad that you enjoyed some part of the stay and thank you for the nice words spent on our breakfast and our rooms.
kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

An astounding property in a beautiful neighborhood. I am joining those who have provided excellent reviews of this hotel. They are all "true". We stayed at one of the new garden suites - beautiful and tastefully decorated, spacious and homely. We had kitchen with an stocked refrigerator, an living area with a sofa bed, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. We also enjoyed the private garden suite terraces furnished for outside entertainment. For us, a family of 4 adults, it exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorcas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed 6 nights in Rome at two different hotels. (the Intercontinental does not rate a review) Make no mistake during high season Rome is very crowded, is always loud and rarely offers pure relaxation. This hotel makes the world melt away. The location, the beautiful rooms, the architecture, the spa, the grounds, gardens and roof top would qualify the Villa with a 5 star rating. But I must say that the service around the clock is the real reason to stay. Every question answered, every reservation made, every request satisfied, simply we never heard the word no...
The assistance we received via email prior to arrival was invaluable, we did not miss any of our top 10 must "do's" and we never waited in a line. Thank you very much, it was our first time in Rome.

Room Tip: Note: the spa hours are short and request a room facing the internal court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jr k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

How many superlative words exist, because I must retrieve them all from my vocabulary bank to describe Villa Spalletti Trivelli. And in fact, I'm not sure how much I can add to the reviews that have already been written, that has not already been said - but, I will try! When you arrive, you will find a classic understated historical building, in a residential off-the-main-road neighborhood, with only a small bronze plaque to the outside of the front door identifying Villa Spalletti. You must ring the doorbell to be admitted. When your host answers your ring, you will be entering an historically significant building that has been completely redone - from what I read, it took the owners three years to restore and renovate the villa to transform it to the gem that it is today. The library, which is associated with the Ministry of National Heritage and Culture, is a beautiful and calm place to read, relax, absorb the classic ambiance. Stately, elegant, posh - historical yet modern - furnished with original antiques, period touches and pieces - the absolute perfect mix of historic authenticity with every modern convenience you could imagine, and many that you could not have dreamed of. The service is understated first class urbanity. There is no request too large or too small, though there is little to request, as they have thought of everything - from a gorgeous breakfast buffet, to a fully stocked and included in the fee mini-bar, to gratis cocktails in the evening in one of the several stunning first floor common areas, to a wine tasting from the vineyards owned by the estate, to towels of the plushest cotton and sheets of the finest linen. Beautiful original art adorns the walls; terrazzo tile and marble floors; grand Oriental rugs; original wood shutters at least 12 feet high that open up to the private gardens or to the outside street view. Our room, which was situated directly above the Villa entrance, had a private balcony - so lovely, to sit outside and watch the world below go by! Yes, this hotel personifies the term "boutique hotel", the standard against which all others must be judged.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, above the villa entrance, with a beautiful balcony that opens up to a view of t...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank lexmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Like being a guest in a British friends stately home. Great sized rooms and decor, and excellent spa and gym. personal and attentive service with unasked for extras, very unusual today. We invited friends for pre dinner drinks and they were blown away and wanted to switch from their (5 star) hotel. Great base for walking around rome, all major sites are accessible on foot.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank combebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,964 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,270 in Rome
759 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,270 in Rome
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#8 of 1,270 in Rome
247 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,270 in Rome
263 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £266 - £720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing