We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Small Hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #9 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wow, what can I say. My first review and this hotel is the best small hotel I have ever stayed at bar none...
The rooms are great, we stopped in the deluxe room which was perfect for us at 35m square meters. The cleanliness is faultless, the breakfast great quality and the best part the customer service is unbelievable. Stopped at similar priced hotels in London, Paris etc.. and they do not compare to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

If this is what you are looking for, then look no further. Stayed here for 2 nights with friends on the first leg of our Italian tour and we were not disappointed. It is a beautiful hotel with charming staff who are extremely friendly. It was a pleasure to step back into the serene calm of this hotel after a day's sightseeing in Rome. Rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable and the sitting rooms were beautifully furnished with antiques. We were invited to an early evening wine tasting to sample wines from the family estate which was a nice touch. It is an expensive hotel to stay in but if you are looking for the above then you will find it here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gloria e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This place was as good as everything made it out to be. We went for seconds! And the people there were so nice and super friendly to us! I Hope to visit it again and again! Really I love it and i love it's services ! I advice every one to go there

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Giovane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Returning after an extended Mayday weekend trip to Rome with my family. We decided to take bot the grandfathers on their first trip to Rome, and they loved every minute of it! Especially the stay at Villa Spalletti. From the moment we arrived through the discrete stately doors to the initial tour of the facilities we were left speechless. Villa Spalletti has a grandeur and splendor from a forgotten era. The tatseful neoclassical feel, coupled with the extremely beautiful Roman gardens leaves one speechless. We opted for the Garden Villa apartment for my immediate family (Wife and kids) and the grandfathers shared a twin room in the main building.
The location cant be beat. Trevi fountain a 10 minute walk and Venice square around 15 mins.
The staff are AMAZING! Taxis were ordered promplty for all excursions. Breakfast was delightful with a wide buffet variety and hot meals to order as required. Evening wine tasting also offered. This place has left a mark on my heart and head and I guarantee we will be back there! I can honestly state that this is in the top 3 hotels of all time that I have visited

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Naruto7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I really don't want to repeat all of the previous accolades attributed to this beautiful property, I just want to say that I have traveled extensively and stayed in some magnificent hotels, but I found the Villa to be a truly unique experience. We were fortunate to be able to spend 4 nights here in April, leaving 2 days before Easter. The furnishings, artwork and all other decor is nothing less than exquisite. We enjoyed a complimentary cocktail every night before going out to dinner and an after dinner drink before going up to bed. We rarely even saw other guests and were made to feel that this was our home for 4 nights. Our room was so comfortable and the bathroom was fantastic! We may be building a new house soon, and I took numerous pictures in order to remember all the wonderful features I may want to incorporate into my new house. I think this is one of the finest places I have ever stayed and although I have been to Rome twice now, and have seen all of the tourist sights, I would happily return again just to stay at Villa Spalletti Trivelli.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susieQ49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for a long weekend and it was perfect. Usually we stay in hotels which have more of a contemporary twist, but we loved the magnificance of this beautiful former home. We actually saw the owner from afar having a drink in what I think used to be a study. It had a homely feel despite the grandeur as guests are free to walk through and relax on sofas in all the rooms on the ground floor, with complimentary evening drinks. The breakfast was great - relaxed buffet style, and there was no problem allowing us a later check out until 2pm on or final day which was really helpful. There is also a spa and turkish bath which is complimentary in the early evening - so take your cossie!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Believe all of the 5-star reviews written for this outstanding property! It truly is magnificent in every regard. We stayed for a full week, and if there were any chinks in the armor I am sure we would have seen something during such a long stay. But from beginning to end our stay there was outstanding, with every detail absolutely first class, drop-dead elegant, and thoroughly gracious. I think you can book the lowest level (cheapest) room and still be happy because you have the whole rest of the villa and gorgeous outside grounds to spread out in. Because we were there a week, we splashed out on a suite, and these are absolutely beautiful, especially the one with fireplace. Although quite expensive, if you are a member of Small Luxury Hotels, you may be able to get your room at a significant savings thanks to their (not infrequent) discounts and flash sales. It is worth it to check that out.

There are 3 large public rooms, 2 of which have fireplaces, and they were lit every day by 5:00 while we were there, adding to the ambiance of taking a drink from the (FREE!) bar, along with some light snacks (all premium quality). This will quell your appetite since most Romans eat around 9:00 or so. And if you just want to hole up in your room, you are supplied with a great choice of premium alcohols and soft drinks in your mini-bar (all inclusive), along with the same snacks, and these are refreshed each day.

The breakfast - served until 11 which is great for vacation mode if you want to sleep late - was truly fabulous, with the highest quality AND quantity of choices you can imagine; as an example, there must be 10 different kinds of jams to accompany a wonderful selection of freshly baked pastries, breads, croissants, etc., and the cheese selection all by itself is better than many cheese courses in top restaurants! In addition to the opulent buffet you can also order a variety of eggs and pancakes made-to-order. In the course of the week the items on the buffet changed, so we never got tired of the spread, which can happen in other hotels which never seem to rotate or vary their offerings.

I was a little unclear about the location, not knowing Rome, but after spending a week there and doing a lot of what Rome offers, I truly think there is none better. The neighborhood is REALLY quiet, and no matter what room you are in you will have a quiet sleep, something not to take for granted in Rome. When we walked by a lot of those more famous hotels, on their busy avenues, I wondered how a quiet night's sleep would be possible there. On top of it, the windows of the villa's rooms have enormous heavy wooden shutters that close (done for you at turn-down) which effectively creates a totally dark and soundproof environment. Although the villa is on a quiet street, with very little traffic, it is just a block from the President's Palace in one direction (with stairs down to the lower section that takes you to the Trevi Fountain in 5 minutes or so), and just a block in the other direction to the busy Avenue Nazionale. The Monti neighborhood should be explored as well for its lovely little boutique shops. We didn't take one taxi while there, as we found it walkable to everything we wanted to see, including the Vatican. And walking is how you discover the hidden charms of Rome!

If you enjoy the hustle-bustle/activity/liveliness of a larger hotel,this is NOT the place for you. This villa really is more like staying in a B and B, although it of course is larger with more public spaces than most B and Bs. There can be a kind of hush in the dining room while you take your breakfast, it not being a particularly large space, and on at least one of the mornings (at the weekend) guests had to wait for a table to be vacated. However, once warm weather arrives and you can take your breakfast out to the beautiful covered terrace, both of these won't be an issue. It was too cold when we were there. But should you have to wait, just take one of the papers available each day (including New York Times, and Financial Times) into the adjacent living room for what will not be more than a few minutes. You will probably have the public rooms to yourself no matter what time of day you enjoy them. The only time we saw other guests in any of the public rooms was during the Friday wine tasting, which is a truly lovely event. They serve very elegant appetizers and have several wines from their estate on offer; it seemed everyone staying at the villa showed up for that!

Our week in Rome was made all the more special as a result of the experience of staying in the Villa Spalletti. It is among my favorite hotels of all time. If you love the elegance of the period this villa represents (with its authentic furnishings and beautiful antiques and enormous ceilings!) and enjoy the highest level of luxury accommodations and amenities this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zorro_and_Gatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr68, Direttore at Villa Spalletti Trivelli, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor .
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the concept and the atmosphere at the Villa which is a true alternative to the "hospitality industry philosophy".
Villa Spalletti Trivelli keeps the intimate feel of a private home offering a kind of service which is not the usual one you would find in a hotel : our staff is very accommodating yet professional with a non -intrusive attitude which is an added value for most people. Thank you for highlighting the location , for the nice words about our breakfast , for the gorgeous description of our rooms and common areas.. what to say on top of your fully detailed feature ? Our commitment for the future is providing a memorable experience of the true "soul" of Italian hospitality tradition.
We take advantage of saying "thank you " to all reviewers who wrote about the Villa explaining their ideas , posting their personal feedback .

Very warm regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,925 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,271 in Rome
756 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,271 in Rome
241 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,271 in Rome
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £261 - £712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing