We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Ranked #7 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

The Villa Spalletti Trivelli must be one of the best kept secrets in Rome. It's hidden in the shadow of the Quirinale Palace on a quiet street, and many of the taxi drivers that we hired had never heard of it. No big sign out front, and it looks like a private residence when you drive by it at night -- just a simple lighted entryway. If I was a celebrity and wanted a quiet, elegant place to hide out, this is where I would go.

As soon as we arrived, we were greeted at the front door by the staff who quickly gathered up our bags and took them inside. Within five minutes, we were escorted to our room, which was simply beautiful. Our bags were there within minutes as well. We splurged a bit and stayed in the Grand Deluxe Suite, which included a large bedroom, living room, huge bathroom, entry foyer, and walk-in closet. The room was spotless, and the bathroom looked like we were the first guests to ever use it. Not so much as a water spot on any surface... simply perfect. As we were getting settled, we noticed a "low battery" indicator on our in-room safe. I called the the front desk to ask about getting the battery replaced, and within 3 minutes, a gentleman dressed in a pressed uniform arrived at our room and replaced the battery. The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful with our requests, giving us a complementary laptop computer to use (internet access is included in the room rate), making restaurant recommendations and reservations, and even escorting our guests up to our room on several occassions without even being asked. We had a tour guide meet us at the hotel before a tour one evening, and she said that of the many hotels that she has seen in Rome, the Villa Spalletti Trivelli was the most incredible one that she had visited.

As other reviews have said, you really feel like you are visiting a private villa (and a quite elegant one). The staff is all impeccably dressed, and are friendly and pleasant to deal with. Because the hotel only has 12 rooms, they get to know you, greeting you by name when you come and go. We enjoyed having friends who were staying at another hotel over during our visit to have drinks with us (no additional charge) in the garden. This hotel has figured out that not charging guests for every little thing builds a lot of satisfaction and good will (although, the hotel is definitely not inexpensive to stay in, so you are paying for what you get... it's just nice to not get nickeled and dimed to death for every little thing that you use or ask for). Drinks, snacks, breakfast, internet access, local phone calls, ice -- all complementary.

Breakfast was very nice, and was served from about 7 a.m. - 11 a.m. Lots of different juices, pastries, bread, preserves, fresh fruit, cheese, yogurt, and cereal. If you want a hot meal (such as eggs and bacon), you can just ask for it and it's cheerfully provided. There is no set menu, so you just have to ask for what you want. In addition to the complementary mini-bar located in your room (which includes mineral water, Coke, Diet Coke, juices, all kinds of liquor, beer, chips, nuts, and candy) the was a regular bar (also complementary) set up in the downstairs rooms starting at about 5 p.m. and lasting well into the evening. That bar included similar items, as well as sparkling wine.

All in all, this hotel was a calm oasis for our stay in Rome, and I can whole-heartedly recommend it. When booking, I found the best rates on the hotel's own website. They often had special rates that did not appear on other travel websites.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Starbuck300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    27
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
88
297
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

Just spent the last two nights of my ten day Italy trip here at the Villa and I wish I could have stayed longer. It really is like someone has offered you their villa to stay in while they are away. Quiet and elegant living room, library and lounge areas with complimentary bar and snacks; exquisite rooms; and the most pleasant, attentive service, all hidden away in a quiet nook in the center of Rome. If you like small, refined and quiet, you will love Villa Spalletti Trivelli.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank najohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

What an experience: a hotel with grace, charm, efficiency, and a wonderfully warm staff. The Villa is just that: a villa. So it's not for everyone. There's no lively bar scene and the location is out of the main part of Centro Storico--but it's a 5-10 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and a 15-20 minute walk to the Pantheon.

The rooms are beautiful (and quite accurately depicted on the website) and the garden provides a perfect respite in a busy city. The staff went out of their way to help us: we had friends over for a dinner (which you need to arrange in advance) and had a great time planning the meal with the chef.

Being at the Villa is absolutely like being a guest in a gracious home. It's quite a splurge--but it's also quite an experience!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LDFBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key biscayne florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

Our stay at the Villa began with a late-night greeting by the night desk manager, who guided us down a manicured garden lane into--YES!--discreet, free parking in the center of Rome. Situated two blocks from the Presidential Palace, security and peaceful evenings are guaranteed, plus a wonderful selection of pathways to virtually all of Rome's wonderful destinations. I don't know the ratio of staff to guests, but it has to be among the highest among 5-star properties, and the attitude and treatment are royal and genuine; no obsequiousness here, no snotty waiters, no condescension. Truly lovely people who love their work--making you totally happy. We were so delighted with our stay, that I am now sending my sister and her son on a first trip to Rome so they, too, can experience this Villa. All roads may lead to Rome; they should lead to Villa Spalletti Trivalli!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeyBiscayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalem
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

once you enter the villa you feel at home
and what a home it is
the room was very spacious and benefitted from all possible amenities
the bathroom was white and big, with a separate walk in wonderfull shower
the public spaces, especially the library, look like parts of a palace
the spa at the basement is very modern and tempting
breakfast was very nicely served
the service we received from the hotel reception was excellent
this place realy cares for all your needs without posing
the location is suberb
you are surrounded by a lot of museums, palaces, shops and resturants
if you plan to spend your time in rome in a luxury hotel - this is the place!!!

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josefhabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

This is the loveliest hotel that I know. It is small for a hotel, 12 rooms: quiet and elegant. It truly is like visiting the villa of a family friend, who happens to be out of town, but who has graciously offered you her villa while she is away. There is always someone to answer the door when you arrive. It has a garden. The rooms are exquisite and comfortable, decorated with fresh flowers, art books and photographs. The staff is friendly. The food is simple and delicious. The mini-bar is complimentary, as is the bar set up in the living room in the evenings. My family thought the hotel was perfect in every way. There is a beautiful spa on the lower level which we did not have a chance to use, but it looked absolutely wonderful. The hotel is well located in a quiet neighborhood; just a short walk to the Trevi Fountain. The bedrooms and marble bathrooms are extremely comfortable, nice and clean. The bedrooms have hardwood floors, high ceilings and big windows. The beds are hard, but in the best way. I slept extremely well, which for me is rare. I made our reservation directly with the hotel via email; they were very helpful and responsive. I cannot imagine a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brandie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level Contributor
168 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

I just came back from Rome and still miss the atmosphere of serenity,good taste,cozyness,perfect staff that's found there.I posted another review on the forum because some romans had never even heard of this marvelous place,so go there for more information

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeansãopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Spalletti Trivelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Spalletti Trivelli

Property: Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Address: Via Piacenza 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Spalletti Trivelli 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban Villa of the Spalletti Trivelli Counts rediscovers its vocation as host of business and leisure travelers, connoisseurs of art and wellbeing. In the heart of Rome, Villa Spalletti Trivelli is unique among the historic residences: a splendid Italian garden, elegant and refined environments furnished with genuine antiques, exclusive energy bar, sumptuous rooms with every comfort... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Spalletti Trivelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Rome
Spalletti Trivelli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing