We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will really come back here”
Review of Matisse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matisse B&B
Ranked #2,032 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We have just come from this hotel and we are really happy about this choice. Hotel is in the center of Rome, close to Coliseum and Spanish steps. Delicious food, possibility to drink or eat whenever you want. Thank you for making our holidays nicer! :)

Room Tip: I think number 7 is really nice one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel will make you fall in love with Rome. Tucked away from the noise and bustle of rome, this little gem is situated in the heart of rome, walking distance to everything. Service is great and is fantastic for people who like space without tripping over hotel staff every minute. Rooms are very clean and smoke free. Next time in Rome, I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tegan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This is my fourth time to Rome each time it has been fantastic, we have always stayed at Matisse , Roberto has been great extremely helpful and has gone out of his way to make our stay exceptional. Our room was comfortable well air-conditioned , quiet and clean.
I can't imagine going to Rome and not staying at Matisse the location is well placed for walking to all the sites.Thanks again Roberto and I will see you next time

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janneane963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

we had great time here.
good location,pleasant personell,very clean and cousy.
breakfast even beyond our expectations ,especially comparing to the stories of our friends who stayed in other hotels and other hostels.
thanx,Roberto

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

- Arrived to hotel which was hidden inside a strange building. The owner came out of the building (or who we assumed was the owner) and told us we were checking too late (10pm) and unwillingly took us to another hotel 10 minutes away by taxi.
- Apparently there was a gas leak in the initial building (Via nazionale) and he had to take us elsewhere for the evening
- We found the owner to be not the nicest person in the world.
- Just to use the air conditioner was 10 Euros!
- No Wifi Connection ANYWHERE in the hotel
- Breakfast was down the street in a random cafe.... which only provided one coissant and a tea.
- Overall, would not recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome (not worth the price or your time)

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
8  Thank vanessa242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The first room we were in was very nice. We had a streetview and we saw a lot of Rome. Matisse shares a big build with a lot of other hotels. Thats why you get a lot of keys for many doors to open before you are finally in you room. Breakfast is very very disapointing. In a small hallways there a 2 tables and the only choice you have is some sweet bread pre-packed. And some yogurt and very old cornflakes. So if you do stay in this hotel, only book for a room and no breakfast. On the mainstreet outside are many nice restaurants were you can eat good food!

After the first night we got a note saying we had to change rooms because the were overbooked. I read about this a lot in other reviews, and so it happend to us too. The owner was very rude to me and he told me that I had to change and if I was not happy I should go somewhere else. He said that he had done enough for us already. (I had asekd for some wine in the room earlier). After my mother also talked to him about the room change he calmed down. We were both shocked about his weard communication to his own guest. A day before we also heard other guests complain about rooms.
I told him that if we did have to change I wanted two singled beds, because I booked to two singles but we got a double.

The room we got was situated in another hotel. Matisse was clearly overbooked again. So we got a small room without a view, but with our twin beds.

On the evening before the last night I paid for the rooms. This was also very weard. He made me pay in cash. And be aware! when you pay dont forget about the extra commisions of 26% for tourists. I didnt know about this, because when you make a booking it doesnt say anything about this on the bill. You have to go to the second page of the booking and there it says so in very small letters.

The breakfast we got on our last morning was even smaller then the onces we had before. Our stay in this hotel was very disappointing. The first room was great, but the staff, breakfast, last room and the view were not nice. I do not reccomend this hotel to anyone. There a many many hotels in this area, so I suggest book somewhere were you get good value for you money!

Room Tip: Read a lot of reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

... what it is ain't exactly clear. Our stay at the Matisse B&B gave us the distinct feeling that something else is going on behind the scenes. What exactly we can't say. While the infamous Roberto was helpful enough, he also surprised us by asking us to pay in cash -- almost $1000. He also more or less insisted that we stay at his Coliseum rooms, and took us there by taxi, and that whole move was a surprise to us. He spoke vaguely about some business interests he had in Thailand. Hmm. He doesn't live at the Matisse, and can be hard to get hold of, and I wouldn't want to arrive late at night looking for him...
The breakfast part of the B&B is a non-starter. It's so bad we didn't eat it, even for free. You're supposed to scrounge around in the kitchen, making instant coffee and eating wonder-bread croissants. Sometimes the air conditioner worked, sometimes it didn't. Ditto the hot water. The room rates are all over the place.The lamps have no lightbulbs. Overall, it's a very scattered operation and does not give its guests a lot of confidence.
But the Matisse is not terrible. The beds were comfy, the linens clean, the rooms quiet, given how noisy Rome can be. But something's not quite right here. Roberto is obviously not meant for the hospitality business, but is some kind of slick operator...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tpatmaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#288 of 1,271 in Rome
890 reviews
Esquilino
Persepolis Rome
Persepolis Rome
#2,239 of 3,734 in Rome
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#27 of 3,734 in Rome
762 reviews
Monti
Nicolas Inn
Nicolas Inn
#332 of 3,734 in Rome
822 reviews
Esquilino
Roman Residence Inn
Roman Residence Inn
#375 of 3,734 in Rome
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matisse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matisse B&B

Address: Via Nazionale 243 | Building C, 2nd Floor, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,032 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £35 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Matisse B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matisse invites you to indulge yourself in a truly authentic vacation. Each Matisse guestroom is arranged on the premise of simple luxury and exceptional quality. Majestic columns highlight the triumphal arches of our 17th century building and guide visitors toward a stunning ivy covered fountain. Situated in the heart of the historical center, guests will delight in the convenience of exploring the eternal city on foot and the privilege of walking just 8-10 minutes to the main historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Matisse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matisse Bed And Breakfast
Matisse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing