We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE LOCATION!!”
Review of Matisse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matisse B&B
Ranked #1,656 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Seattle
1 review
“LOVE LOCATION!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Being a recent college graduate and wanting to backpack all around Europe, I decided to treat myself to Matisse B&B on my last nights in Rome. When first arriving in Europe I called and made arrangements which were complicated since I didn't have a call back number or access to a phone, but upon call back a couple days later, the woman remembered me calling earlier and had worked out my stay. Upon arrival I was greeted and shown my room which was fairly nice. The location was amazing! It's in the heart of Rome and allowed me to go out early in the morning and take pictures of all the places I wanted to see and come back whenever I felt like it, since it was in such a centralized location. The bed was comfy as well and I slept amazing after my tours throughout the day. I had a great experience and I hope others do as well!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGraduate09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    91
    36
    29
    43
See reviews for
81
188
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We enjoyed our stay in the Matisse B & B. Roberto and his staff were very friendly. The rooms are big and clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2009

In June 2009, my wife, my two teenage daughters, and I had a great stay at Matisse B&B. After two long flights from San Diego to Rome, we felt so invited by Matisse B&B team. Roberto (owner) was very accommodating and made us feel at home. We stayed at Coliseum location for four days. It was so great to just walk a few minutes and experience the Coliseum and ruins of Rome early in the morning or late at night, and always come back to very nice, clean, quiet, and air conditioned place to fully rest for the next day. The 24 hours breakfast and beverages was a plus. On the last day, Thanks to Roberto, his nice driver took us all from the hotel to our cruise ship for very reasonable price.
Matisse is the place to stay when you stay in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENJOY_IT_FOREVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, Ca
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My favorite part of my stay at Matisse was the location and the friendly staff. It was right next to the train station and there was a bus stop to take me anywhere in Rome just down the street. There's also great shopping on the same street.
I was a little lost when I first got there so the girl at the front desk gave me a free tour of the city. She took me to the Spanish steps and the Trevi Fountain and she gave me a great recommendation for a restaurant.
The rooms were nice and clean and I would stay at Matisse again anytime.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raedixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I had a great experience staying at the Matisse Bed and Breakfast. The customer service was great, we were able to check in very late (1am). The room was very clean and newly rennovated. As a frequent traveller to Rome, I would say that the location is very good, especially if arriving by train.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zdr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Thank you, Roberto, for the great stay in your B&B. Besides your knowledge helped us really to get along in Rome.
You were really nice to us.

Greetings,

Martin W.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWtripGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Roberto and his staff made our stay in Rome extraordinary, with a clean and charming bed and breakfast right in the heart of Rome. Roberto pointed us in the direction of affordable and authentic cuisine and helped us organize our excursions. He even helped us when we ended up back in Rome for a night unexpectedly. I would recommend it for an traveller looking for a simple, elegant and authentic stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyinthelowground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Picasso
Hotel Picasso
#471 of 1,261 in Rome
296 reviews
Esquilino
Persepolis Rome
Persepolis Rome
#2,155 of 3,692 in Rome
13 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enrica
Hotel Enrica
#2,460 of 3,692 in Rome
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
WRH Termini
WRH Termini
#1,245 of 3,692 in Rome
180 reviews
Esquilino
Artemis Guest House
Artemis Guest House
#448 of 1,120 in Rome
28 reviews
Esquilino
Magnifico Rome
Magnifico Rome
#2,958 of 3,692 in Rome
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matisse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matisse B&B

Property: Matisse B&B
Address: Via Nazionale 243 | Building C, 2nd Floor, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,656 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Matisse B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matisse invites you to indulge yourself in a truly authentic vacation. Each Matisse guestroom is arranged on the premise of simple luxury and exceptional quality. Majestic columns highlight the triumphal arches of our 17th century building and guide visitors toward a stunning ivy covered fountain. Situated in the heart of the historical center, guests will delight in the convenience of exploring the eternal city on foot and the privilege of walking just 8-10 minutes to the main historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matisse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matisse Bed And Breakfast
Matisse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing