We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic good value B&B in a great location!”
Review of Matisse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matisse B&B
Ranked #1,670 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2009

This B&B is a great low-cost cheap clean option in a great location in Rome! Its only 10 min walk from Termini Main train station, however its not in the dangerous and scary area of Termini. Its location on the large shopping street Via Nationale. We stayed in the "Nakissa" part of the B&B which I would recommend because this is the neweste part of the building. There is a 24-hour self service breakfast buffet where you will help yourself to toast, different types of crossaints, cerials, juice, hot drinks, water, tiramisu, cheese, jam etc. There is daily cleaning and you also get new towels daily should you wish. The property feels really safe due to having 3 doors/locks you have to pass to get in. Location wise its only 10-15 min walk (max.) from the main sights and you are only 2 min walk from Metro station Republica. There are nice restaurants nearby aswell as a MacDonalds and a SPAR supermarket. The windows are doubleglazed and soundprove from the street noice. I would differently recommend this for guests looking for something simple, but clean for a low cost ! We paid 45 Euros per night for 2 adults in 1 room and thats SO cheap compared to other hotels in Rome. Hermina (staff) was really helpfull with restaurant recommodations etc and she will also give you a a small "welcome" meeting when you arrive. Well worth a visit. Do not expect a 5 star, but its great for what it is !! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2009

We also booked and paid a deposit.
When we arrived there was no sign of anyone or anything. Two couples with 3 small children wandering around Rome on a friday evening, going door to door looking for hotel rooms is not my idea of fun.
Lets hope we get our deposit back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JMackintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

I had a 3-day reservation starting on November 2nd. I booked the hotel back in September and had to put down a 10% deposit. I also stated my anticipated arrival at 5 pm. I actually arrived at 4 pm and it was pouring raining outside but no one was there to greet me. My girlfriend and I stayed outside of the hotel, freezing, for over an hour when a person from a neighboring business came out and told us that the hotel went out of business about a week ago. Rather convenient. We then walked back through the rain to an internet cafe and forked up an additional 5 euros to be able to use the internet so I could use Skype to call the hotel's number but of course it was disconnected. Had to make last minute reservations elsewhere and pay the entire stay up front, in cash. Adios spending money. Don't book here.


Also pending whether HostelsClub.com refunds my deposit or not....

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RawPhenomenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Thank you so much to Roberto and Benjamin for making our trip to Rome so welcoming. Your hospitality and kindness and friendliness made us feel at home and so welcome. Lovely rooms, clean and spacious. Matisse is so central to absolutely everything. Will definately be recommending you and would love to return again one day. Best wishes to you both. Nick & Dawn DeLuca, Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

It was a very delightful experience in this property! Well appointed room, crispy white sheets and towels, very large and very comfy bed, large double glazing windows to totally shut the main road (Via Nationale) noise, lovely street view, small but very clean bath room with all the necessary amenities, well laid out, well stocked self service breakfast room to our access anytime of the day or night, everything was wonderful and worked well. May be this property didn't have a pool or Gym but we are there to enjoy the Rome. All the main Rome attractions are walkable distance. We found this property better than many four star hotels we stayed in Europe. Great value for money! Roberto, the charming host was very helpful and spoke very good english and his recommendation of restaurant Target - hop, skip and jump from Matisse was a great up-market restaurant at the right price and fantastic service. We would highly recommend Matisse to anyone ! Thank you Roberto! Althia & Anthony, Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We stayed at the Matisse a couple of weekends ago. Its a real gem. Roberto who owns the hotel was very welcoming and helpful. He gave us a map and circled all the attractions that we must see plus he recommended a couple of amazing places to eat which were great value.
The room was pretty basic but it was spacious, clean and comfortable.
The location of this hotel is great. You are right on the Via Nazionale so you are never more than a walk away from an attraction and walking is definitely the best way to see Rome.
I would definitely stay there again and you can come and go as you please with breakfast/ snacks available to you 24 hours a day.
,

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooders30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Well, i arrived in Rome not thinking much of it. To tell you truth i went there to please my fiancee more than anything. I wasn t looking forward to the trip at all condering that there was so much visiting to do in a short period of time. When we arrived we took a taxi to the Matisse B&B, i thought at first what the hell are we doing there but soon as we entered the property, i kind a liked it. The place itself is very interesting!!!! But after a few days you feel like you are at home, i guarantee you, that place is unique in it s genre. It s very quiet, safe and central that s why my fiancee choose it. You are free to come back whatever time you want, you can eat breakfast at ever time you want!!!!! VERY HANDY... when you come back very late and can t be bothered to wake up for breakfast. The staff is fantastic and very helpful. Moreover i really didn t want to leave Rome after our long week end. I fell in love with the town, the place, the people and will surely be back for spring.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjghl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Seiler
Hotel Seiler
#840 of 1,269 in Rome
201 reviews
Esquilino
Persepolis Rome
Persepolis Rome
#2,171 of 3,722 in Rome
13 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enrica
Hotel Enrica
#2,440 of 3,722 in Rome
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Bon Ton Suite
Bon Ton Suite
#624 of 3,722 in Rome
144 reviews
Esquilino
B&B City Mood
B&B City Mood
#2,460 of 3,722 in Rome
58 reviews
Esquilino
Magnifico Rome
Magnifico Rome
#3,048 of 3,722 in Rome
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matisse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matisse B&B

Address: Via Nazionale 243 | Building C, 2nd Floor, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,670 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £38 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Matisse B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matisse invites you to indulge yourself in a truly authentic vacation. Each Matisse guestroom is arranged on the premise of simple luxury and exceptional quality. Majestic columns highlight the triumphal arches of our 17th century building and guide visitors toward a stunning ivy covered fountain. Situated in the heart of the historical center, guests will delight in the convenience of exploring the eternal city on foot and the privilege of walking just 8-10 minutes to the main historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Matisse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matisse Hotel Rome
Matisse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing