We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was definitely an incredible experience!!”
Review of Matisse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matisse B&B
Ranked #1,663 of 3,690 Rome B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Was definitely an incredible experience!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We were backpacking, coming from Spain, and luckily was referred to Matisse's B and B by another hotel that was full for the days we needed. Roberto offered a rate we could not pass up, and we were instantly shocked to see the beautiful accommodations he had to offer. The B and B is beautifully decorated, with roman sculptures and artwork everywhere very tastefully done. It is a quiet and lovely escape from the very busy city. Matisse has a very high standard of cleanliness and consistently made sure there was plenty of food for his guests. I would highly recommend this beautiful bed and breakfast for anyone who is looking for a cultural experience they will never forget. It is no wonder the New York Times chose him as a top B and B establishment.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snickersnbongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    91
    36
    29
    43
See reviews for
81
188
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I've just been reading a few similar reviews relating to our experience in Hotel Matisse and couldn't agree more with the comments relating to the infamous Roberto (Hotel Manager).

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly American Girl who explained all the 'doos' and 'don'ts' of Rome and we thought we were on to a winner as it seemed like a nice hotel. Whilst booking in, one of the 2 rooms wasn't ready, which wasn't a problem, we left all bags in our room and went out for the afternoon. On our return my mum and dads room was cleaned exept the bathroom, which had a dirty toilet and dirty towels from the previous travellers. Once again, no major issue, we informed the american lady who apologised, the room was cleaned and we carried on with our holiday.

Whilst getting up for breakfast the next day i met the manager Roberto! He proceeded to explain to me that the dirty bathroom from the day before was clean before we arrived and that it was indeed my mum and dad that had left the bathroom in a terrible state! (Basically calling us liars!!) We had a few choice words and left it at that!

The next day, whilst lying in bed having an afternoon nap, Roberto (AKA Basil Fawlty) enters my room and starts talking to me about methods of payments. Although it was nice to be woken up by the hotel manager, i thought that it was maybe something we could have discussed at a more appropriate time. Anyway, he told me that he prefered method of payment by cash!

At the end of the holiday whilst sorting out payment, which i was doing by card instead of cash because Roberto had been rude to us, he informed me that there was an additional 13.32% charge in addition to the booking price!! If i paid by cash it would only be an additioanl 6% charge!! I fortunately had the booking information with me and he couldn't justify or prove the charge and i made the payment via card for the original amount and requested a receipt.

Roberto is not to be trusted. If you are going to stay here make sure you have all the booking information with you and don't fall for the "pay by cash" routine (unless you get a better deal than you were quoted) - It's a scam!!!!

On a lighter note - Rome was ace and we had a great holiday. There's no way anyone could ruin that!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2010wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Matisse B&B was a very lovely surprise. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The location was perfect, the owner was very friendly and helpful, and the room was very clean and comfortable. ...Having stayed at various B&Bs throughout Italy, my expectations were pretty low, but Roberto coudln't have been a better host. It truly was a fantastic stay for a great value, and we will definitely return to this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepingBeauty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Stayed for a weekend with my boyfriend. We really liked this place, it was clean, comfy double bed, quite cheap and very central! The owner was friendly without being too much. And it was possible to have breakfast 24H a day!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2010

The rooms we stayed in weren't so much like a B&B or a hotel, but more like a self-contained self-service apartment (which is how I prefer it). Roberto was friendly and helpful, and left us to our own devices. The rooms were clean and spacious, with a comfortable, firm, bed, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, and en-suite bathroom with a good, powerful shower. The air-conditioning worked a treat, and the sound-proofed windows were very welcome as Via Nazionale is extremely busy. There was no TV, but that's no bad thing.

The fridge and breakfast area was always well-stocked.with tea and coffee, milk, fruit juice, yoghurts, butter, bread, croissants etc, and (most importantly) there's a bottle opener. I've not stayed anywhere before that offers such ready such access to toast and Nutella, but it's a welcome provision after a hard day of sightseeing, and not having to eat to someone else's timetable makes the whole place feel more like home.

The location is perfect as many of Rome's areas of interest are within a 10 minute walk, and there are loads of places to eat - Est! Est! Est! is just around the corner and I've irritated everybody I know by going on about their Calzone being the best I've ever eaten. It is though - you should try it.

My only criticisms are that there weren't enough chairs in the breakfast area (only 2, but we brought ours through from the rooms as needed, so it wasn't really a problem), and a couple of times there was no hot water for a shower (although this got sorted out same day).

If all the rooms are as good as the ones we stayed in, I would have no hesitations about staying here again, and have already been recommending Matisse to friends. And Calzone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TunaSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed at Matisse for 4 nights and enjoyed it very much. We especially liked the 24 hour breakfast which came in handy after a days sightseeing. The beds are very comfortable and even though we looked on to a main road the double sets of windows meant it was very quiet. Roberto gave us a few tips on where to eat etc which we found very useful. The location on Via Nazionale is excellent! Most major tourist attractions within 10 mins walk. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would be very happy to stay there again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RootyTootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnmøre
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

My teenage son and I stayed a few days in Rome on our way to Naples. The place is just perfect. Close to the station, good restaurants, very friendly staff, clean, breakfast all day and located in a beautiful building.
Everything is within walking distance, we never used taxis or public transport (except for the football match). I travel a lot. I sleep in expensive hotels a lot. This little gem of a B&B is different. I loved it. Anne, Norway

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneBjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Medici
Hotel Medici
#279 of 1,261 in Rome
695 reviews
Esquilino
Persepolis Rome
Persepolis Rome
#2,063 of 3,690 in Rome
13 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enrica
Hotel Enrica
#2,510 of 3,690 in Rome
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
WRH Termini
WRH Termini
#1,253 of 3,690 in Rome
180 reviews
Esquilino
Artemis Guest House
Artemis Guest House
#450 of 1,118 in Rome
28 reviews
Esquilino
Magnifico Rome
Magnifico Rome
#2,957 of 3,690 in Rome
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matisse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matisse B&B

Property: Matisse B&B
Address: Via Nazionale 243 | Building C, 2nd Floor, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,663 of 3,690 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Matisse B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matisse invites you to indulge yourself in a truly authentic vacation. Each Matisse guestroom is arranged on the premise of simple luxury and exceptional quality. Majestic columns highlight the triumphal arches of our 17th century building and guide visitors toward a stunning ivy covered fountain. Situated in the heart of the historical center, guests will delight in the convenience of exploring the eternal city on foot and the privilege of walking just 8-10 minutes to the main historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matisse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matisse Bed And Breakfast
Matisse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing