We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Haven in the Center of Rome”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2007

We were lucky to stay at the fantastic Portrait Suites for three nights in September. The excellent service began before we arrived when the hotel arranged a private car pick-up from the airport (the highly knowledgeable driver even gave us a detailed tour of Rome during the drive). Upon arrival staff was waiting to greet us at the door, a nondescript entrance just off Via Condotti. The highly personalized reception took place in a well appointed room where we were offered refreshments, told about the hotel and our complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suit, and advised of the expected weather during our stay. This was followed by an escort to our room. I can’t speak to the other rooms as I wasn’t able to see inside any of them, but the Junior Suite was perfectly appointed and of decent size (extremely spacious for Europe): the sitting room had a sofa, coffee table and chairs, a plasma TV and a hide-away, stocked kitchenette complete with two-burner range, dishwasher, refrigerator and espresso machine. This was separated by a sliding door from the bedroom with desk, closet, plasma TV and an extremely firm (though comfortable) bed. The bathroom had all the essentials including great water pressure in the large shower. The included continental breakfast was a bit sparse in selection, though the few pastries I tried were quite good and the cappuccino always arrived fresh. They even managed to secure last minute reservations for a restaurant which I’d heard about before arriving (called rHome), a feat even AmEx Platinum Concierge couldn’t pull off (as an aside, rHome was undoubtedly the worst restaurant I’d ever been to in my life, but as the suggestion was mine and not the hotel’s, I can’t fault them). There is no room service or gym but during our short stay we didn’t need either. The best feature of the hotel is undoubtedly the rooftop bar, with its fireplace, comfortable seating and honor bar (well stocked with everything you’ll need for a relaxing evening looking out over Rome). Overall, the location is superb (above Ferragamo just off the Via Condotti), the hotel is quiet and intimate (with 14 rooms, expect more private villa than grand dame hotel) and the design of the hotel is contemporary while maintaining warmth. You don’t need to love Ferragamo (though who doesn’t!) to love the Portrait Suites but if you do, you’ll enjoy it even more, as the walls are lined with photographs and drawings by Salvatore himself (mostly copies but interesting to look at nonetheless). The hotel is pricy, but with its impeccable service, central location and quality appointments, it’s worth every cent.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mmbuhrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2007

The location is one of the best in Rome. At the bottom of the Spanish Steps.

If you are looking for a hotel with a grand lobby and restaurant this is not the place for you. If your looking a luxury quite peaceful hotel with large modern rooms & bathrooms this is the place.

Service was excellent. The roof top terrace is just lovely, view of Spanish steps and the whole of Rome.

Staff was very helpful and very friendly.

I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone.

WiFi had too much security on it hard to get a VPN connection and the room a little cool.

Lots of nice place's to eat around the hotel.

The private taxi to the airport was a smoker so if you dont smoking please tell the hotel you want a non smoker as a driver

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank hugo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2007

This hotel is absolutely outstanding. Location is fantastic. Rooms are very beautifully fitted (along with very witty and romantic Roman fashion photo art), the roof terrace is very relaxing (with great self-service bar) and the staff are excellent. From the moment you arrive, they deal with everything in an professional, friending and engaging way.

My experience is that traditional Italian high-end hotels consistently disappoint in service and room quality. Portrait Suites is not traditional (and not exactly a hotel given the lack of anything but rooms and a terrace) and for €500 per night (good for top-end Rome) it is an excellent urban place to stay.

Our room was a studio and therefore also not really a suite but it was perfectly spacious for a couple. Bathroom was huge. Other good touch is that for €20 per person per day, you can have free run of the terrace bar and mini-bar (prosecco and snacks on tap). Probably a good deal for the hotel unless you are alcoholic but it is a good system for guests too.

One more note about the service. It was stress tested whilst we were there because the City of Rome decided to dig up and relay the via Condotti between 11pm and 7am without warning. Despite the soundproofing, the noise was appaling. The staff did everything they could to solve the problem (looking for alternative hotels), apologise, sympathise with a terrible problem the hotel hadn't caused and couldn't solve. I would trust these guys to handle anything.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Potrait Suites was a wonderful modern boutique hotel. The location was excellent- just 2 blocks from the spanish steps. The rooms were very nice and the staff was excellent!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lgaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

The portrait suites is part of the lungarno chain which is owned by the ferragamo family.. location via condotti the rooms were amazing but the attitude of the management and the staff was so welcoming and charming it made the cost worth it.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank mangiaMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2007

Loved the location, with a discreet entrance just off the via Condotti near the Spanish Steps. My Studio Room was very comfortable, with a king bed, walk-in closet, flat screen TV and a good-sized marble bathroom. I loved the roof terrace - what a great view! It's a perfect place for their continental breakfast. This hotel isn't for everyone though - there are no indoor public spaces to speak of, making this hotel perhaps not a good choice in winter. There is also no room service (except if you wish to take your continental breakfast in your room). If you don't need a fitness center and you plan on eating out all your meals except breakfast, this is a great pick. Also, check out the nearby restaurant Palatium, focused on wines and foods of the Lazio region around Rome - very tasty, and a mostly young Italian clientele (at least the night I visited).

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Globbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We stayed at Portrait Suites last week. We were very happy with the room. It's beautifully decorated, very quiet and comfortable. We were surprised to find that our suite included a tiny kitchen, complete with dishes and silverware, a two burner stove and microwave, dishwaasher and an espresso maker. We didn't do any cooking, but the espresso maker was very nice and the refrigerator/minibar was roomy. The bathroom was great with a giant showerhead, great towels, and very nice bathroom amenities. The closet was roomy enough for lots of clothes, there was a table for breakfast and a desk and a big flat panel hd tv.

The only problem I encountered involved my pillow request. I had emailed ahead and asked them if they could provide a down pillow and they said they would. I reconfirmed but when we got there, there was no down pillow. I mentioned it to the manager and she said that all the pillows were down inside, which made no sense because I looked at the labels which read cotton/polyester. She graciously offered to buy me a down pillow. I really appreciated the effort, but it turned out that she purchased another cotton or poly pillow. I don't like to complain, so I didn't say anything again, but suffered a couple of migraines as a result. We ran into the manager on the last day and she asked about it and we discussed it. In spite of this, I think that the service and accommodations were excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank minniemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,963 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,271 in Rome
740 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,271 in Rome
263 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
247 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,271 in Rome
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £395 - £729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing