We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel in Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
265 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in Excellent Location”
Reviewed 17 November 2007

I recommend room 15 that is a beautifully decorated junior suite with kitchen facility and balcony overlooking the Via Condotti (only room with a balcony, I was told). It was quiet and well appointed. The rooftop area is also very nice; service was excellent and very personal. Breakfast was perfectly fine. The location can't be beat in terms of being in the center of town. Only fault was that I asked if they could advance me some cash and put it on my bill in order to pay my taxi to the airport since I ran out of cash and they told me they couldn't -- we were talking maybe $20. I had to run looking for an ATM at midnight due to this. But otherwise, it's a great boutique hotel and a shrine to women's shoes, in case you're interested. I thought my room was good value at 650 Euro and I'd go back.

  • Liked — great location and good hotel
  • Disliked — not a full service hotel but quite close to it
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
157
385
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

We have just come back from Rome and the Portrait Suites.
The best thing about it, is the location off the Via Condotti and the staff are very helpful.
We had paid for a deluxe studio and it was very expensive and I had asked for a view in my booking as I knew one of their 3 rooms at this price had a good view . What we had, was a room at the back overlooking next door's kitchen and roof garden. This was very disappointing. The room was also rather dark.
There is no doubt that everything is very clean and very well serviced. Unfortunatly the weather was wet while we were there so we could take very limited advantage of the outdoor terrace.
I imagine in summer it is wonderful. Having said that, would I go back there again, probably not in Winter. I also thought the breakfast was very limited and I certainly do not want to cook on my holidays, all in all I would have to say it was a mixed experience.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank BallyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2007

We were lucky to stay at the fantastic Portrait Suites for three nights in September. The excellent service began before we arrived when the hotel arranged a private car pick-up from the airport (the highly knowledgeable driver even gave us a detailed tour of Rome during the drive). Upon arrival staff was waiting to greet us at the door, a nondescript entrance just off Via Condotti. The highly personalized reception took place in a well appointed room where we were offered refreshments, told about the hotel and our complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suit, and advised of the expected weather during our stay. This was followed by an escort to our room. I can’t speak to the other rooms as I wasn’t able to see inside any of them, but the Junior Suite was perfectly appointed and of decent size (extremely spacious for Europe): the sitting room had a sofa, coffee table and chairs, a plasma TV and a hide-away, stocked kitchenette complete with two-burner range, dishwasher, refrigerator and espresso machine. This was separated by a sliding door from the bedroom with desk, closet, plasma TV and an extremely firm (though comfortable) bed. The bathroom had all the essentials including great water pressure in the large shower. The included continental breakfast was a bit sparse in selection, though the few pastries I tried were quite good and the cappuccino always arrived fresh. They even managed to secure last minute reservations for a restaurant which I’d heard about before arriving (called rHome), a feat even AmEx Platinum Concierge couldn’t pull off (as an aside, rHome was undoubtedly the worst restaurant I’d ever been to in my life, but as the suggestion was mine and not the hotel’s, I can’t fault them). There is no room service or gym but during our short stay we didn’t need either. The best feature of the hotel is undoubtedly the rooftop bar, with its fireplace, comfortable seating and honor bar (well stocked with everything you’ll need for a relaxing evening looking out over Rome). Overall, the location is superb (above Ferragamo just off the Via Condotti), the hotel is quiet and intimate (with 14 rooms, expect more private villa than grand dame hotel) and the design of the hotel is contemporary while maintaining warmth. You don’t need to love Ferragamo (though who doesn’t!) to love the Portrait Suites but if you do, you’ll enjoy it even more, as the walls are lined with photographs and drawings by Salvatore himself (mostly copies but interesting to look at nonetheless). The hotel is pricy, but with its impeccable service, central location and quality appointments, it’s worth every cent.

  • Liked — Location and personal service
  • Disliked — You can only enter the hotel by ringing a bell for staff to let you in (though they do arrive quickly)
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mmbuhrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

The location is one of the best in Rome. At the bottom of the Spanish Steps.

If you are looking for a hotel with a grand lobby and restaurant this is not the place for you. If your looking a luxury quite peaceful hotel with large modern rooms & bathrooms this is the place.

Service was excellent. The roof top terrace is just lovely, view of Spanish steps and the whole of Rome.

Staff was very helpful and very friendly.

I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone.

WiFi had too much security on it hard to get a VPN connection and the room a little cool.

Lots of nice place's to eat around the hotel.

The private taxi to the airport was a smoker so if you dont smoking please tell the hotel you want a non smoker as a driver

  • Liked — The hotel location
  • Disliked — No room service apart from breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank hugo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
242 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2007

This hotel is absolutely outstanding. Location is fantastic. Rooms are very beautifully fitted (along with very witty and romantic Roman fashion photo art), the roof terrace is very relaxing (with great self-service bar) and the staff are excellent. From the moment you arrive, they deal with everything in an professional, friending and engaging way.

My experience is that traditional Italian high-end hotels consistently disappoint in service and room quality. Portrait Suites is not traditional (and not exactly a hotel given the lack of anything but rooms and a terrace) and for €500 per night (good for top-end Rome) it is an excellent urban place to stay.

Our room was a studio and therefore also not really a suite but it was perfectly spacious for a couple. Bathroom was huge. Other good touch is that for €20 per person per day, you can have free run of the terrace bar and mini-bar (prosecco and snacks on tap). Probably a good deal for the hotel unless you are alcoholic but it is a good system for guests too.

One more note about the service. It was stress tested whilst we were there because the City of Rome decided to dig up and relay the via Condotti between 11pm and 7am without warning. Despite the soundproofing, the noise was appaling. The staff did everything they could to solve the problem (looking for alternative hotels), apologise, sympathise with a terrible problem the hotel hadn't caused and couldn't solve. I would trust these guys to handle anything.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Noise (but this was exceptional - see review)
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Potrait Suites was a wonderful modern boutique hotel. The location was excellent- just 2 blocks from the spanish steps. The rooms were very nice and the staff was excellent!!

  • Liked — staff and location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lgaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

The portrait suites is part of the lungarno chain which is owned by the ferragamo family.. location via condotti the rooms were amazing but the attitude of the management and the staff was so welcoming and charming it made the cost worth it.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank mangiaMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
6,446 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
383 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,291 in Rome
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,291 in Rome
627 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing