We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect place to stay in Rome...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect place to stay in Rome...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We had the privilege to enjoy a 4 nights stay at the Portrait Suites in Rome, this is the perfect place to stay: great staff, fantastic concierge (we asked them for restaurants, tours and transfers and the service was, first class), perfect location....very very nice interiors.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    40
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
154
382
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Portrait Suits is our favourite hotel in Rome! This is a small boutique hotel just at the corner of Via Condotti and Via Bocca de Leone. It is about 100m from the Spanish Steps in the heart of shopping area. If you like small hotels of high quality with friendly service,this is for you! The rooms are spacious and stylish and very tastefully decorated. There is an amazing terrace on the rooftop in the hotel. The hotel does offer room service breakfast,which you can also have delivered to the rooftop terrace,which we did each morning. What a great wayvto start the day having breakfast on the terrace with fabulous views of Rome. The service at the hotel was excellent!!! Roberto,Fabio,Francesco were all there to take care of our every need!
Each time,when we are in Rome we stay at the Portrait Suites. We loved the hotel and recommend it highly!!!
Thanks again to all the staff for the warm welcome!!!
Dmitry and Galina Nazipov

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gala198002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Nazipov,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments from our guests. I’m glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed our roof top deck and the service you received from our Team.

We appreciate your loyalty to Portrait Suites and look forward to welcoming you back .

Hoping to welcoming you back soon,

Sincerely,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have been on Portrait Suites, and I strongly recomend this very unique and high level place.
I cant call it like a regular Hotel. You feel like at home, very large and great quality and decoration rooms, based on Ferragamo's Life. Very, Very special place, very well located, close of the most atractions, and the best place that I have been in Rome.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at the Portrait Suites for a 5 days visit in Rome (this was not our first visit to the beautiful city of Rome). This boutique hotel is incredible: very intimate, clean and well designed, great location, wonderful terrace and, most of all, great great staff (thanks to the concierge for their help with restaurants and tours!!). The next time we will be in Italy, it will be at the Portrait Suites.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pedr0sant0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at Portrait Suites in early January.

Even before we arrived at the hotel we experienced the excellent and personal service that sets Portrait Suites apart. Because we were travelling with our toddler we requested a particular type of room. As I think is the norm with the staff at the hotel, no request was too much trouble. They ensured that we got the type of room we wanted.

We arrived at the hotel early in the morning and we were met by Lucca, who offered a truly excellent and personal service (all of the other staff were also excellent and cared about ensuring your stay was as enjoyable as possible). Even though we had not requested an early check in, they knew we would need one, so our room had been prepared and was ready for us to go to for a bit of sleep. Thankfully, checkin was quick and effortless.

The hotel itself is in an excellent location and really good for getting around the city. Although it was winter, we were still able to go up to the roof terrace, which is lovely.

I would highly recommend staying here. I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in Rome. The hotel is chic and small, with excellent personal service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FO2623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

let me take this opportunity to extend once again my congratulation for your baby, he was so nice with all of us.

Dear Guest,

We pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests and we thank you for your feedback. I will make sure to share the great comments with the entire team. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites once again.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

If you like small hotels of high quality with friendly and helpful service, this is for you. It is ideally located, near the Spanish Steps. That makes it convenient to visit all the major attractions on foot. Taxis are readily available to the door, if you prefer. There is no restaurant, but the staff will make reservations for you and have a helpful list of local (and more distant) restaurants of all descriptions. There is some noise fropm the street, but with the windows closed you can hardly hear it. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. The area is full of designer stores and is kept clean and tidy. There is a wonderful roof terrace with views over much of Rome. It has a well stocked honour bar and breakfast can be ordered there or in the suites. All in all this is among the very best city hotels I have stayed in around the world and it would be impossible to find a better group of staff.

Room Tip: Go for a suite - the extra cost is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ABC_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Portrait Suites on TripAdvisor. I would also like to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, and that the service is the best you have ever had. I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the roof terrace and the concept of the honour bar, created to make feel our guest at home, without any restriction in giving a complete sense of freedom.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites in the very near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay in the Eternal City and indeed at Portrait Suites. Having come off from staying in Milan and Florence before arriving here for a 6 night stay, our expectations were sky high and we can say without the least bit of hesitation that our stay here exceeded our expectations.

As always, we were very finicky about selecting where to stay in Rome and since it was going to be long stay we had to get it right. We were looking for comfortable and decent sized suite, centrally located to most attractions and yet without any unwanted disturbances especially from reveller's in the night since we were staying there for new year's eve. Portrait Suites fit the bill on all counts.

We were upgraded to the Condotti Suite and we are very grateful to the hotel and especially Gianluca for this kind gesture. The Suite was huge as you can make out from the pictures. It came with an Ipad and a charging station which can charge just about any gadget that you may have - extremely handy especially the Ipad for finding your way through the narrow streets of Rome!! The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom came with heated flooring which proved very handy considering the cold weather.

Nothing can beat the location of this hotel. Just a stone's throw away from the Spanish Steps (and the metro station) but far enough so that you will not be disturbed by the people who hang out on the steps late in the night. Walking distance to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain, Piazza del Popolo, a metro ride to the Colosseum and a short 10 minute taxi drive to the Vatican - it does not get better than this in my opinion.

All the staff were very attentive and responded to our every request in right earnest. Roberto who was part of the Concierge team came up with womderful recommendations for lunch and dinner depending on whether we were in the mood for seafood or meat!! They could do something to improve the variety for breakfast though it was not a problem for us.

Thank you to the whole team of Portrait Suites for a most memorable stay - we will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Condotti Suite is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globetrekker2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments from our guests. I’m glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed the service you received from our Lifestyle and Ambassador Teams.
The Ipad technology inside all our suites allow all our guests to discover a personalized services, from the PIllow Menu',to a selected restaurant list, as well a selection of tours especially made from our Lifestyle Team to tailor made all our guest preferences.
Let me take this opportunity to remember that all the Lifestyle Team tasted personally each restaurant on the list we provide, to better understand all your needs . For this i thank you them for all the efforts.
I will share your nice comments with all of them.
We appreciate your loyalty to Portrait Suites and look forward to welcoming you back..

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing