We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Best Hotel Stay Ever!”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Best Hotel Stay Ever!”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We just returned from our best hotel stay ever at the Portrait Suites in Rome. Upon arriving we were offered a cocktail and were then taken to the rooftop bar for some amazing views of Rome. The staff knew our names immediately upon arrival, and made you feel at home instantly. It really isn't a hotel but a very luxurious apartment house in the center of Rome. Our suite was spacious and very clean with every modern convenience at your finger tips. Unfortunately, we did not book our last night at the Portrait Suites and they were booked up, but they found us room on the same street near the Spanish Steps. We cannot say enough about our stay at the Portrait Suites. Thank you Rada and Franchesca and all of the staff for your help and kindness during our stay in Rome!

Room Tip: They are all good at the Portrait Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cort A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

i wish to thank you on behalf of all the Portrait Suites Team.

We love to share our passion with all our guests, your words on Tripadvisor mean a lot for all of us.

I remain at your disposal, please do not hesitate to contact me directly to plan your future stay with us,

Sincerely,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    43
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
170
410
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The best hotel in Rome. They know your name upon arrival, and make you feel at home from the second you step foot on the property. The hotel is literally like having your own luxurious apartment building in the center of Rome.
The rooms are impecable. Not only are they clean, the decor is luxurious. Every amenity has been thought of.
The service is unparalleled. There's always someone present when you need them, but never intrusive.
The rooftop is the most amazing place to have your breakfast or evening cocktail.
I'll never stay anywhere else in Rome!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mickey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests and we thank you for your feedback. I will make sure to share the great comments with the entire team. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites once again.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed at Portrait Suites for 6 nights in March. I have never had such a wonderful hotel experience. For me, the hotel was a splurge, but I'm so happy I stayed there because it truly made my stay in Rome marvelous. It's a very small hotel tucked away on a side street by the Spanish Steps. My room was spacious, beautifully decorated and comfortable in every way. The hotel is impeccably maintained and has a feel of luxury and style.

The primary reason for my love of the hotel was the attentive and warm staff under Gianluca, the lovely manager. Francesca and Francesco especially went above and beyond and were just an absolute pleasure to talk to each day. Everyone offered perfect attention to detail, terrific restaurant recommendations, and special suggestions for stops along whatever route I was taking. Honestly, I've never experienced anything like it. I typically keep to myself while traveling, but had no desire to on this trip because everyone was so caring and friendly. This is a very special hotel with a very special staff.

The roof space and the balcony of my room were wonderful escapes. Rome can be very tiring but the outdoor space at the hotel was a sanctuary allowing me to escape the bustle of the city. Perfect for breakfast, a drink, reading - it certainly made my stay more restful and comfortable.

I cannot wait to return to Rome and at Portrait Suites.

Karen

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank knny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Portrait Suites on TripAdvisor. I would also like to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, and that the service is the best you have ever had. I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites in the very near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalundborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We were looking forward to stay at this hotel since I read a lot about it and now I can say that it was one of the best places where I stayed. I travel a lot for work reasons, though this time I was just having a holiday with my husband, and I can say that I've never seen a place with people so attentive to our needs and rooms so well decorated. The hotel is part of the Ferragamo group and you soon realise it once you walk in. You can see amazing pictures and references to Salvatore Ferragamo's life on the walls and even in the rooms. We had big expectations after all we read about this hotel and I can say that they completely met them and actually they went even beyond that. The hotel is in a very central position and is small and cozy with an amazing terrace on the top floor where we had breakfast in the morning. The room was very big and we were absolutely surprised to find an ipad in our room that we could use for the whole stay to browse the internet for free, check the email and also read all the information pamphlets about restaurant suggestions, tours, events and services that the concierge loaded in the device. I could even print our boarding passes with a wifi printer right from my iphone and we also found a sort of universal charger for the phone that works for all different devices (samsung, lg, sony, iphone, etc.). Amazing! If we will come to Rome again, this is where we'll stay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments from our guests. I’m glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed our IPAD and the service you received from our lifestyle team.

We appreciate your loyalty to Portrait Suites and we certainly looking forward to welcoming you back .

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I just came back from a weekend in Rome and stayed at the Portrait suites in the Deluxe Studio. This is a quaint, discreet and personal hotel in a location which is the complete opposite, and it is that combination that instantly gives the Portrait Hotel a huge charm. Our room was beautifully designed, huge space with a separate sitting room and a large bathroom and a beautiful terrace overlooking Via Condotti, the shopping haven of Rome.
I'm sure anyone who is reading this review has already gone through some of the reviews for this hotel, and they are all spot on.
The service is excellent, the rooms beautiful, everything is extremely clean and the food is great.
The asset of this hotel however is the staff. They are attentive, efficient, intelligent and exude charm from the early morning greetings through to the late night farewell. I am struggling to think of a staff that have been this good. Anyway, by all means stay at this place, and book in advance as the small number of rooms might leave you disappointed.
We also came in February where the upstairs terrace, which is breathtaking, was not used to its potential.
Enjoy.
Wassim

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Il_Wass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Portrait Suites on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our Lifestyle Team, and that the service is the best you have ever had. I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites in the very near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at the Portrait Suites on the first week of February. It was an incredible experience and it really lived up to our expectations. This amazing boutique hotel is just a few meters away from the Spanish Steps. Rooms are big and stylish. The staff was always smiling, very attentive and helpful. We were also given a complimentary upgrade (thanks Gianluca!). The concierge service is simply what every hotel should aim to. Brekfast was excellent (thanks Alessia!)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,
we pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests and we thank you for your feedback. I will make sure to share the great comments with Alessia and the entire lifestyle team. Upon availability we always extend to all our guests a complimentary early check in , we undestand how after a long flight is important to have the Suite ready to relax yourself before get ready to enjoy an amazing city like Rome.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites once again.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.


Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We had the privilege to enjoy a 4 nights stay at the Portrait Suites in Rome, this is the perfect place to stay: great staff, fantastic concierge (we asked them for restaurants, tours and transfers and the service was, first class), perfect location....very very nice interiors.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrait_Suites, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnohotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,747 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,261 in Rome
420 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,261 in Rome
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
#14 of 1,261 in Rome
480 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,556 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#4 of 1,261 in Rome
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing