We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portrait Roma
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$305
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$937
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$477
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
737
42
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
42
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsportrait suitesvia condottisalvatore ferragamorooftop terracespanish stepsdeluxe studioferragamo toiletriesboutique hotelrooms are beautifulwalk in closetan amazing hotelevery requestmarble bathroomturn down servicesmall hotelpleasure of stayingthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

You pay a lot for the location, which is worth it if you spend all your time in Gucci and Hermes, perhaps not otherwise. Deluxe studio was good, But cramped when the sofa bed was unrolled. Bathroom classy, though no bath. Air conditioning noisy. Roof terrace sublime, a glorious place late at night and for breakfast. Staff very helpful, though we were disappointed that they recommended Da Pietro as a restaurant on our first night - like, it is clear, every other hotel nearby.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Camdenuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Mr. Camdenuser,


I appreciate you taking the time to share comments on your recent stay. Many thanks for your kind mentions of our Roof Top Terrace and Portrait Suites Team.

I am concerned to see that other aspects of your trip fell short of your initial expectations. As a hotel, we constantly evaluate everything that goes into providing a remarkable guest experience. Your note about the noisy air condioning give us the opportunity to double check all the Suites Air Conditioning System. We are so sorry for this. Regarding the restaurant suggestion Hostaria Da Pietro is in our Restaurant List, as one of the most popular restaurant in the area. But once again i wish to thank you again for your feedback, sometimes we keep follow to suggest the restaurants we know and personally tested without checking montly is something has been changed regarding food quality and customer care . This note will be addressed directly to our Lifestyle Team and sure will help us to shape and strengthen our current initiatives. If your travel plans bring you to Rome again I hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence with Portrait Suites Hotel. Please contact me directly to discuss these matters further.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Portrait Suites on a recent four day trip in Rome. Words can simply not express how wonderful our time at this hotel was. Everything from the moment you check in, to your last bags loaded into the car at departure is so well done.

The first thing you will find different about the hotel is the check in process. When you arrive, there is no open lobby. In fact you have to ring the bell to be let into the hotel every time you enter. At check in, you are greeted by a manager, and immediately taken to a beautifully appointed waiting office, where you are offered the adult beverage of choice, and address the formalities of registration.

You are then shown to your room, which has the latest amenities, comfy bed, very comfortable seating area, an iPad for your use during the stay with Roman highlights, a Nespresso machine (a great in room treat) and a kitchenette/mini-bar (which even has a parmesan grater in it just in case you decide to whip up some pasta during your stay). The room is filled with little Ferragamo gifts of fragrances, candles, etc that make taking home room amenities much nicer than a small soap bar and shampoo.

The rooftop honor bar is the best, with anything you might want to drink available for your own mixing (or they will mix it for you). It is complete with a view of Rome that is simply sublime especially the view of the Spanish Steps (just two short blocks away). There is also a lovely fireplace area to sit at as well. Breakfast is served in this area (I assume only when weather permits), but it was delicious and extras beyond a simple continental breakfast were available if you liked.

If you stay at the hotel, make sure that at least once you walk up or down the stairs. The hallways are filled with photos and moments of Ferragamo's business (including an invoice issued to Marylin Monroe (6 Pairs of shoes - $282 plus tax)

The staff is professional and can address any need you might have. They were pleasant and very helpful. As you can see if you look at some of the other reviews I have posted, we travel extensively, and stay in some nice hotels. This is simply one of the best. If this hotel is in your budget, don't think twice if you are going to Rome - just book it!

Room Tip: Our room was on Via Cortino. We noticed some of the other reviews mentioned noise. We did not find it a problem at all.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank cr8it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience to Portrait Suites on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to read such wonderful comments from our guests.

I will share your nice comments with our team, the will appreciate.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.


Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Portrait Suites really makes you feel special. They are very attentive to all details. The place is beautifully decorated with discrete references to Ferragamo. The rooms are very luxurious, check the toilet paper roll cupboard! The roof terrace is splendid and offers an amazing view over Rome and the Piazza di Espagna. It was just the best experience I ever had in Rome...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Henridevos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Portrait Suites on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to read Portrait Suites has been your best experience in Rome.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites in the very near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

How do we start ? ... Seriously, this has gotta be ranked among top 3 in terms of the best experience we have had at any hotel around the world. And, we DO travel a lot. First of all, despite being in awe with its history and historical treasures, we were not a big fan of Rome and the mad tourist/shopper crowd. A stay at Portrait Suites definitely changed that a little bit as we are now a big fan of the hotel and just a little bit more of the city it is situated. This stay started out, we must say, beyond bad as a tour operator left us stranded at Civitavecchia (an hour away) after disembarking Oceania Riviera. We got stuck with no ride (even though we prepaid the transfer in full to GTA) to Rome as the operator just told us that they couldn't do anything because the driver was waiting for us for an hour and a half. It were definitely not our fault as Oceania got into immigration hiccup which caused nearly a delay of nearly 2 hours on disembarkation. What makes the matter worse is there were 9 ships docked at the port during the same period so taxi was almost impossible to find. Then, Gianluca and his team at Portrait Suites came to our rescue. The team somehow miraculously got us a large van (we are a group of 8 people) that finally got us to the hotel just in time for late lunch. When we got there, 2 smartly dressed gentlemen ran out to basically took care of our group's 16 large bags! Then we were quickly checked into the suites with our bags brought up only a few minutes later. Everything they did here is very personal, from the tour of suites and facilities to getting to the restuarant. When we got kinda lost walking to the recommended place, 2 same smartly dressed gentlemen ran out to personally take us to the restuarant. Now, the suites ? Just look at the pictures we are uploading should be enough, no explaination how wonderful they are would be required. I must say, however, the balcany of Suite 651 has no rivals. And the rooftop bar ? That is another facility that would make it very difficult for any hotel in Rome to top. Oh, and we haven't mentioned the location, it's right on Via Condotti and our balcony has a straight view into the Spanish Steps. All in all, Portrait Suites, in all aspects, is definitely the best hotel in Rome. And we will definitely have to find our way back here again in the near future. BTW, watch out for "Men in Ferragomo suits", they were so nice, attentive, helpful and very well groomed that my wife fell in love with ALL of them !

Room Tip: Suite 651 is the best one in this hotel in our opinion but it is not for those with accessibility issue as its main bathroom is downstairs.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PoomNing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Mr. Poomning,

let me be honest with you and with all the Tripadvisor readers. When we decided with Ferragamo family to create a place where all the guests should been feeling really at home, we started to organized a new concept of hospitality, but we were scared about this. All the Managers that are involved in to hospitality industry have this concept as target, but is like looking for a needle in a haystack.

Therefore, the hotel staff at the Portrait Suites has been imbibed with an attention to detail and focus on not just meeting all customer expectations or demands, but exceeding them.

The Guest Assistant Team and the Lifestyle Team had to be involved in our city activity, knowledgeble and proactive.

The attention to all details, comfortable beds and pillows, exclusive restaurant and activity suggestions, are only few aspects of our daily work.

But now, in receiving your feedback, we understand how long was the way, and your words and this review on Tripadvisor paying of all of us for all the efforts , starting from FB and Housekeeping Department, to all the employees that everyday trust in this project.

Thank you from the Portrait Suites Team,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at Portrait Suites and had a great time. The location and facilities are excellent. The service was most remarkable. Each and everyone of their team was friendly and helpful. Pay great attention to details and go out of their ways to make you feel at home. The hotel has a terrace on 7th floor, which offers spectacular view of Rome. We now very much look forward to going back there and also interested in exploring other Lungarno properties in Florence on our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Mr. Shan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments from our guests. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the rooftop terrace and the remarkable service you received from the Portrait Suites Team.

I will share your nice comments with all of them.

We appreciate your loyalty to Portrait Suites and all the Lungarno Collection, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back .

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest of Lungarno Collection.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews