We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romeo's Gem Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Romeo's Gem Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

After bouncing around the more well known options in Rome we finally found our hotel. The Hotel offers excellent accommodations with personal service. Perfect location and wonderful roof deck bar.

We totally recommend this hotel if you visit Rome

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borijay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    40
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
154
383
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

I have stayed now on two occasions and each time the overall experience has been outstanding. The location is second to none and the decor is unique and inspiring. The roof top patio is a place to relax and take in the wonderful views of Rome. The hotel is laced with the history of the Salvatore Ferragamo brand which is fascinating. If on business travel the wifi needs to be improved but this is likely only a temporary inconvenience and should be addressed. Overall simply excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlesmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

You pay a lot for the location, which is worth it if you spend all your time in Gucci and Hermes, perhaps not otherwise. Deluxe studio was good, But cramped when the sofa bed was unrolled. Bathroom classy, though no bath. Air conditioning noisy. Roof terrace sublime, a glorious place late at night and for breakfast. Staff very helpful, though we were disappointed that they recommended Da Pietro as a restaurant on our first night - like, it is clear, every other hotel nearby.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Camdenuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Mr. Camdenuser,


I appreciate you taking the time to share comments on your recent stay. Many thanks for your kind mentions of our Roof Top Terrace and Portrait Suites Team.

I am concerned to see that other aspects of your trip fell short of your initial expectations. As a hotel, we constantly evaluate everything that goes into providing a remarkable guest experience. Your note about the noisy air condioning give us the opportunity to double check all the Suites Air Conditioning System. We are so sorry for this. Regarding the restaurant suggestion Hostaria Da Pietro is in our Restaurant List, as one of the most popular restaurant in the area. But once again i wish to thank you again for your feedback, sometimes we keep follow to suggest the restaurants we know and personally tested without checking montly is something has been changed regarding food quality and customer care . This note will be addressed directly to our Lifestyle Team and sure will help us to shape and strengthen our current initiatives. If your travel plans bring you to Rome again I hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence with Portrait Suites Hotel. Please contact me directly to discuss these matters further.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
280 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Portrait Suites on a recent four day trip in Rome. Words can simply not express how wonderful our time at this hotel was. Everything from the moment you check in, to your last bags loaded into the car at departure is so well done.

The first thing you will find different about the hotel is the check in process. When you arrive, there is no open lobby. In fact you have to ring the bell to be let into the hotel every time you enter. At check in, you are greeted by a manager, and immediately taken to a beautifully appointed waiting office, where you are offered the adult beverage of choice, and address the formalities of registration.

You are then shown to your room, which has the latest amenities, comfy bed, very comfortable seating area, an iPad for your use during the stay with Roman highlights, a Nespresso machine (a great in room treat) and a kitchenette/mini-bar (which even has a parmesan grater in it just in case you decide to whip up some pasta during your stay). The room is filled with little Ferragamo gifts of fragrances, candles, etc that make taking home room amenities much nicer than a small soap bar and shampoo.

The rooftop honor bar is the best, with anything you might want to drink available for your own mixing (or they will mix it for you). It is complete with a view of Rome that is simply sublime especially the view of the Spanish Steps (just two short blocks away). There is also a lovely fireplace area to sit at as well. Breakfast is served in this area (I assume only when weather permits), but it was delicious and extras beyond a simple continental breakfast were available if you liked.

If you stay at the hotel, make sure that at least once you walk up or down the stairs. The hallways are filled with photos and moments of Ferragamo's business (including an invoice issued to Marylin Monroe (6 Pairs of shoes - $282 plus tax)

The staff is professional and can address any need you might have. They were pleasant and very helpful. As you can see if you look at some of the other reviews I have posted, we travel extensively, and stay in some nice hotels. This is simply one of the best. If this hotel is in your budget, don't think twice if you are going to Rome - just book it!

Room Tip: Our room was on Via Cortino. We noticed some of the other reviews mentioned noise. We did not find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank cr8it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience to Portrait Suites on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to read such wonderful comments from our guests.

I will share your nice comments with our team, the will appreciate.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.


Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Portrait Suites really makes you feel special. They are very attentive to all details. The place is beautifully decorated with discrete references to Ferragamo. The rooms are very luxurious, check the toilet paper roll cupboard! The roof terrace is splendid and offers an amazing view over Rome and the Piazza di Espagna. It was just the best experience I ever had in Rome...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Henridevos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Portrait Suites on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to read Portrait Suites has been your best experience in Rome.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Suites in the very near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

How do we start ? ... Seriously, this has gotta be ranked among top 3 in terms of the best experience we have had at any hotel around the world. And, we DO travel a lot. First of all, despite being in awe with its history and historical treasures, we were not a big fan of Rome and the mad tourist/shopper crowd. A stay at Portrait Suites definitely changed that a little bit as we are now a big fan of the hotel and just a little bit more of the city it is situated. This stay started out, we must say, beyond bad as a tour operator left us stranded at Civitavecchia (an hour away) after disembarking Oceania Riviera. We got stuck with no ride (even though we prepaid the transfer in full to GTA) to Rome as the operator just told us that they couldn't do anything because the driver was waiting for us for an hour and a half. It were definitely not our fault as Oceania got into immigration hiccup which caused nearly a delay of nearly 2 hours on disembarkation. What makes the matter worse is there were 9 ships docked at the port during the same period so taxi was almost impossible to find. Then, Gianluca and his team at Portrait Suites came to our rescue. The team somehow miraculously got us a large van (we are a group of 8 people) that finally got us to the hotel just in time for late lunch. When we got there, 2 smartly dressed gentlemen ran out to basically took care of our group's 16 large bags! Then we were quickly checked into the suites with our bags brought up only a few minutes later. Everything they did here is very personal, from the tour of suites and facilities to getting to the restuarant. When we got kinda lost walking to the recommended place, 2 same smartly dressed gentlemen ran out to personally take us to the restuarant. Now, the suites ? Just look at the pictures we are uploading should be enough, no explaination how wonderful they are would be required. I must say, however, the balcany of Suite 651 has no rivals. And the rooftop bar ? That is another facility that would make it very difficult for any hotel in Rome to top. Oh, and we haven't mentioned the location, it's right on Via Condotti and our balcony has a straight view into the Spanish Steps. All in all, Portrait Suites, in all aspects, is definitely the best hotel in Rome. And we will definitely have to find our way back here again in the near future. BTW, watch out for "Men in Ferragomo suits", they were so nice, attentive, helpful and very well groomed that my wife fell in love with ALL of them !

Room Tip: Suite 651 is the best one in this hotel in our opinion but it is not for those with accessibility is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PoomNing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Mr. Poomning,

let me be honest with you and with all the Tripadvisor readers. When we decided with Ferragamo family to create a place where all the guests should been feeling really at home, we started to organized a new concept of hospitality, but we were scared about this. All the Managers that are involved in to hospitality industry have this concept as target, but is like looking for a needle in a haystack.

Therefore, the hotel staff at the Portrait Suites has been imbibed with an attention to detail and focus on not just meeting all customer expectations or demands, but exceeding them.

The Guest Assistant Team and the Lifestyle Team had to be involved in our city activity, knowledgeble and proactive.

The attention to all details, comfortable beds and pillows, exclusive restaurant and activity suggestions, are only few aspects of our daily work.

But now, in receiving your feedback, we understand how long was the way, and your words and this review on Tripadvisor paying of all of us for all the efforts , starting from FB and Housekeeping Department, to all the employees that everyday trust in this project.

Thank you from the Portrait Suites Team,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at Portrait Suites and had a great time. The location and facilities are excellent. The service was most remarkable. Each and everyone of their team was friendly and helpful. Pay great attention to details and go out of their ways to make you feel at home. The hotel has a terrace on 7th floor, which offers spectacular view of Rome. We now very much look forward to going back there and also interested in exploring other Lungarno properties in Florence on our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Mr. Shan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to hear such wonderful comments from our guests. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the rooftop terrace and the remarkable service you received from the Portrait Suites Team.

I will share your nice comments with all of them.

We appreciate your loyalty to Portrait Suites and all the Lungarno Collection, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back .

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest of Lungarno Collection.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing