We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE VERY BEST IN ROME”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE VERY BEST IN ROME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I spent our 25th Anniversary with them and enjoyed every minute of it.
It is indeed the perfect hotel. High quality across the board on everything they do. We cant say enough good things about the staff and their ability to make sure your is stay everything it can be in Rome. It is the perfect location, close to the Spanish Steps and within walking distance of everything. We will be back and will be recommending it to all our friends and anyone else who asks. WELL DONE
Colonel Don Allen and Dr. Barbara Allen

Room Tip: Save booking your special tours for them to book. They did an outstanding job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
158
385
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have recently had 4 nights at Portrait Suites in Rome and had a lovely stay. Every one was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Very well appointed rooms and very clean. Breakfast on the top floor overlooking Rome was lovely. Great location for shopping and sight seeing. The art deco and history on Salvatore Ferragamo was very interesting. Hope to get to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekky30031950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was the beginning of our honey-moon and we had a lovely time, just one bad thing - the breakfast should have been more varied, only bread, yoghurt, marmelade and butter is too little for a 5 star hotel. When we asked for some cheese and ham it costed a lot extra, this should have been included I think. Otherwise, excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

After bouncing around the more well known options in Rome we finally found our hotel. The Hotel offers excellent accommodations with personal service. Perfect location and wonderful roof deck bar.

We totally recommend this hotel if you visit Rome

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borijay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

I have stayed now on two occasions and each time the overall experience has been outstanding. The location is second to none and the decor is unique and inspiring. The roof top patio is a place to relax and take in the wonderful views of Rome. The hotel is laced with the history of the Salvatore Ferragamo brand which is fascinating. If on business travel the wifi needs to be improved but this is likely only a temporary inconvenience and should be addressed. Overall simply excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlesmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

You pay a lot for the location, which is worth it if you spend all your time in Gucci and Hermes, perhaps not otherwise. Deluxe studio was good, But cramped when the sofa bed was unrolled. Bathroom classy, though no bath. Air conditioning noisy. Roof terrace sublime, a glorious place late at night and for breakfast. Staff very helpful, though we were disappointed that they recommended Da Pietro as a restaurant on our first night - like, it is clear, every other hotel nearby.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Camdenuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Mr. Camdenuser,


I appreciate you taking the time to share comments on your recent stay. Many thanks for your kind mentions of our Roof Top Terrace and Portrait Suites Team.

I am concerned to see that other aspects of your trip fell short of your initial expectations. As a hotel, we constantly evaluate everything that goes into providing a remarkable guest experience. Your note about the noisy air condioning give us the opportunity to double check all the Suites Air Conditioning System. We are so sorry for this. Regarding the restaurant suggestion Hostaria Da Pietro is in our Restaurant List, as one of the most popular restaurant in the area. But once again i wish to thank you again for your feedback, sometimes we keep follow to suggest the restaurants we know and personally tested without checking montly is something has been changed regarding food quality and customer care . This note will be addressed directly to our Lifestyle Team and sure will help us to shape and strengthen our current initiatives. If your travel plans bring you to Rome again I hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence with Portrait Suites Hotel. Please contact me directly to discuss these matters further.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
280 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Portrait Suites on a recent four day trip in Rome. Words can simply not express how wonderful our time at this hotel was. Everything from the moment you check in, to your last bags loaded into the car at departure is so well done.

The first thing you will find different about the hotel is the check in process. When you arrive, there is no open lobby. In fact you have to ring the bell to be let into the hotel every time you enter. At check in, you are greeted by a manager, and immediately taken to a beautifully appointed waiting office, where you are offered the adult beverage of choice, and address the formalities of registration.

You are then shown to your room, which has the latest amenities, comfy bed, very comfortable seating area, an iPad for your use during the stay with Roman highlights, a Nespresso machine (a great in room treat) and a kitchenette/mini-bar (which even has a parmesan grater in it just in case you decide to whip up some pasta during your stay). The room is filled with little Ferragamo gifts of fragrances, candles, etc that make taking home room amenities much nicer than a small soap bar and shampoo.

The rooftop honor bar is the best, with anything you might want to drink available for your own mixing (or they will mix it for you). It is complete with a view of Rome that is simply sublime especially the view of the Spanish Steps (just two short blocks away). There is also a lovely fireplace area to sit at as well. Breakfast is served in this area (I assume only when weather permits), but it was delicious and extras beyond a simple continental breakfast were available if you liked.

If you stay at the hotel, make sure that at least once you walk up or down the stairs. The hallways are filled with photos and moments of Ferragamo's business (including an invoice issued to Marylin Monroe (6 Pairs of shoes - $282 plus tax)

The staff is professional and can address any need you might have. They were pleasant and very helpful. As you can see if you look at some of the other reviews I have posted, we travel extensively, and stay in some nice hotels. This is simply one of the best. If this hotel is in your budget, don't think twice if you are going to Rome - just book it!

Room Tip: Our room was on Via Cortino. We noticed some of the other reviews mentioned noise. We did not find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank cr8it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience to Portrait Suites on your last stay. It is always a pleasure to read such wonderful comments from our guests.

I will share your nice comments with our team, the will appreciate.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.


Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,474 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing