We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvement on Perfection”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Improvement on Perfection”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have stayed at Portrait Suites several times, and it has become our Rome hotel of choice because it is simply outstanding on so many levels. While I don't re-review properties on TripAdvisor unless there's a good reason to do so, there are several good reasons here. First, breakfast has been changed from a simple Continental bread basket to an opulent selection of anything you could want, both hot and cold selections. Second, our room was supplied with a simple but useful compact mini-gym weight set. Third, the hotel now enables you to select your pillow, linens, and other things, all listed on your room's iPad. All of these improvements reflect the hotel's responsiveness to its guests' concerns, as several reviews had noted the previously limited nature of the included breakfast and the lack of a gym. Portrait Suites clearly pays attention to its clients.

In addition, my husband loved being able to draw his own draught beer from the beer tap that has been added to the rooftop Honor Bar. Finally, while the staff advised us that they dine incognito at restaurants in order to make educated recommendations to the hotel's guests, we had to laugh one evening when we spotted not one but two staff members dining separately at the restaurant where they had directed us!

All in all, we are very impressed that Portrait Suites continues to strive to improve itself when, in our opinion, it has already achieved perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,

since i'm here to Portrait Suites from the opening in 2006, i had few times where i could'nt find any word to express my feeling, here is one of those.

I's true, we improve the breakfast with a breathtaking roof top personalize buffet; it's true we custumize each single Suite following your preferences as pillows, sheets, fruits, minibar, music, breakfast and much more;
It's true the Lifestyle Team suggest each restaurant visiting each of them in "incognito", to better understand the guest needs, to book not just a restaurant but your restaurant, not just a table but the best table; It's true we have the " En Suite Training Program", that allow each of you to have weights and Yoga facilities directly in your Suite, without use any common areas. It's true we base our "En Suite"service working with the most professional personal trainers an massauses.
It's true we improved our roop top honour bar following yuor suggestions,as you being able to draw your own draught beer from the beer tap and organize a complimentary little appetizers roof top buffet just to get ready before dinner.

Finally, i wish to thank you for your review,for your time and for your kind words, we really appreciate it.

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you once more all the Portrait Suites Team, they allow me to be proud of working with each of them, i perfectly know haw hard is to mantain high standards, smiling and provides the best customer care for each of our guests, you are great guys!!

Dear BrynMawrBK,

I know i will have another opportunity to thank you personally,

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    43
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
170
410
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The portrait suites certainly lives up to its reputation by fellow travellers...and some! My wife and I have spent the last 4 nights here and have been impressed by the service of all of the staff. The hotel is in a great location and so accessible to all the major sites making it easy to see all the history of the area and also finding time to do some shopping. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be coming back to stay in the future. A fantastic experience with friendly, knowledgable staff.

Room Tip: 653. It has a balcony and allows you the option of sitting out in the morning and late afternoon enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinLutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Great location, great service, great style and a very comfortable bed. Staff was amazing.
Situated just "steps from the Spanish Steps - easy walking distance to great shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. I would recommend breakfast on the roof top terrace - a delightful way to start the day with an amazing view.
The only negatives I can think of - very slow internet connection and no work out room/gym.
Not cheap - but well worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KimberlyS707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear KimberlyS707,

Thank you for choosing to stay to Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

We will do our best to improve our Internet Speed Connection, i perfectly understand how the lack of internet connection is one of biggest stress for travellers and logging on to the internet helps our guest feel most at home in their Suite.
Communicating with family is the top way to de-stress when away from home.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest,

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Myself and my 2 daughters, 15 and 9 years old, just stayed at the Porttrait suites for 5 nights end of June. It was truly splendid. Nice, clean, homely hotel, tastefully decorated. Staff was awesome, especially Francesca!! Thanks, Francesca. She took her time to give us tips on tours, good restaurants. All the restaurants she recommended were great-Da Pietro, Gina and Dilla. Other staff were really nice too, but for some reason, all the guys kept recommending us to go to Re Cafe for dinner. It's like they did not know of any other good restaurants. We actually never went in there to eat, because it was always empty, with no one there, and this is usually telling that the restaurant isn't very good.
Location of hotel is perfect- close to the awesome shopping, Spanish steps, short walk to Trevi Fountain and to Villa Borhgese.
Breakfast was lovely, you get a full breakfast, with eggs.... On the top open terrace floor, with a beautiful view.
Service was perfect!
As nothing can really truly be 100%, the only downside was they do not provide an iron in the room. We had to give our clothes to their maid to iron every morning, and she brought them back to our room. We were told it would be free, but on check out, saw I was billed a lot for it. However, again Francesca kindly took it off the bill, and said it was a misunderstanding.
Thanks Francesca, and to all the staff at Portrait suites. We will see you soon. We were really delighted to have spent some time in your hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in their standard suite, and it was great, so I imagine the bigger suites will be even nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iyabo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel is amazing only to be matched by the outstanding Staff and their impeccable attention to all details in making our stay as memorable as possible. The décor of the rooms and the building left nothing to the imagination other than exactly what you would want before you know you want it. The best part in addition to the location, décor, breakfast and cocktails is really the people who work there. I cannot say in words to describe how much they did to make us feel like royalty. Thank you!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite well worth the money being we had two levels with a sauna and exercise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Katleen P ,

how can i answer to this feedback? You.... make us feel like royalty with your words.

We promise you to keep going in offering to all of you a different concept of hospitality.

Many thanks for the time you have dedicated to post this review,i see it's your first review on Tripadvisor.

It's really difficult to find the right words to express my happiness and gratitude for such amazing description of your experience.

I will share your review with the Team involved in this project.

I wish you the best,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The location is outstanding! We were one block from the Spanish Steps. We reserved the Via Condotti Suite for 3 nights. It was spacious with elegant, tasteful decor and wonderful amenities. The staff were readily available and helpful with anything we needed. The rooftop terrace is a beautiful spot to enjoy a glass of wine and unwind. The only negative was that the elevator was broken twice during our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Jennifer L,

i wish you to thank you for your nice words and we really appreciate the time you spent to write this review.

I remember very well those days, unfortunately we had to fix completely the elevator!!

Every day the employees and overall our guests depend on the safe and reliable operations of our building's vertical transportation system. It is of critical importance to the owners and ultimately to visitors who travel throughout these buildings each day.

To prevent the situation from worsening we had to stop the elevator and call immediately the maintanance company.

We really apologize for all the incoveniences we caused and we thank you for your understanding during that days.
Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future in case your travel plans will bring you again in Rome.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I am SO glad we stayed here, perfect location near the spanish steps, you really are a VIP here with the staff knowing all of the small number of guests. I have stayed at some of the large hotels in Rome and you are just one of many. Here you get special attention to your needs from the staff who do get to know you and what you are looking for.

The rooms are huge, bathrooms are wonderful, the Top floor bar, breakfast area is wonderful with an amazing view over all of Rome. It was quite full while we were there but never felt busy or crowded. This is the hotel for me in Roma.

Molto molto bene Portrait Suites.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drswoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,747 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,261 in Rome
420 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,261 in Rome
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
#14 of 1,261 in Rome
480 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,556 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#4 of 1,261 in Rome
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing