We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Rome...”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Portrait Suites in July. The hotel is wonderful! The personalized service was outstanding! The room was simply beautiful with every amenity you could think of. The wonderful staff work so hard from serving breakfast on the roof top to the concierge arranging wonderful meals and anticipating our needs. Drinks on the roof were a wonderful addition both before and after dinner. I would not look anywhere else for my next trip to Rome as The Portrait Suites is my new happy place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hanoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Been in this hotel for first time though I tried others in previous trips to Rome, I must say that this was a different experience with their personalized services and their pre-arrival form where you request all services and arrangements you need before your reach your hotel, It is amazing and we loved their services and very friendly staff. I do recommend that while in Rome, you need to choose this hotel to be in the real hospitality of a real accommodation,

Room Tip: Any room may feel the comfort of a real hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abdullah62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have stayed at Portrait Suites several times, and it has become our Rome hotel of choice because it is simply outstanding on so many levels. While I don't re-review properties on TripAdvisor unless there's a good reason to do so, there are several good reasons here. First, breakfast has been changed from a simple Continental bread basket to an opulent selection of anything you could want, both hot and cold selections. Second, our room was supplied with a simple but useful compact mini-gym weight set. Third, the hotel now enables you to select your pillow, linens, and other things, all listed on your room's iPad. All of these improvements reflect the hotel's responsiveness to its guests' concerns, as several reviews had noted the previously limited nature of the included breakfast and the lack of a gym. Portrait Suites clearly pays attention to its clients.

In addition, my husband loved being able to draw his own draught beer from the beer tap that has been added to the rooftop Honor Bar. Finally, while the staff advised us that they dine incognito at restaurants in order to make educated recommendations to the hotel's guests, we had to laugh one evening when we spotted not one but two staff members dining separately at the restaurant where they had directed us!

All in all, we are very impressed that Portrait Suites continues to strive to improve itself when, in our opinion, it has already achieved perfection.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Guest,

since i'm here to Portrait Suites from the opening in 2006, i had few times where i could'nt find any word to express my feeling, here is one of those.

I's true, we improve the breakfast with a breathtaking roof top personalize buffet; it's true we custumize each single Suite following your preferences as pillows, sheets, fruits, minibar, music, breakfast and much more;
It's true the Lifestyle Team suggest each restaurant visiting each of them in "incognito", to better understand the guest needs, to book not just a restaurant but your restaurant, not just a table but the best table; It's true we have the " En Suite Training Program", that allow each of you to have weights and Yoga facilities directly in your Suite, without use any common areas. It's true we base our "En Suite"service working with the most professional personal trainers an massauses.
It's true we improved our roop top honour bar following yuor suggestions,as you being able to draw your own draught beer from the beer tap and organize a complimentary little appetizers roof top buffet just to get ready before dinner.

Finally, i wish to thank you for your review,for your time and for your kind words, we really appreciate it.

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you once more all the Portrait Suites Team, they allow me to be proud of working with each of them, i perfectly know haw hard is to mantain high standards, smiling and provides the best customer care for each of our guests, you are great guys!!

Dear BrynMawrBK,

I know i will have another opportunity to thank you personally,

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The portrait suites certainly lives up to its reputation by fellow travellers...and some! My wife and I have spent the last 4 nights here and have been impressed by the service of all of the staff. The hotel is in a great location and so accessible to all the major sites making it easy to see all the history of the area and also finding time to do some shopping. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be coming back to stay in the future. A fantastic experience with friendly, knowledgable staff.

Room Tip: 653. It has a balcony and allows you the option of sitting out in the morning and late afternoon enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinLutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Great location, great service, great style and a very comfortable bed. Staff was amazing.
Situated just "steps from the Spanish Steps - easy walking distance to great shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. I would recommend breakfast on the roof top terrace - a delightful way to start the day with an amazing view.
The only negatives I can think of - very slow internet connection and no work out room/gym.
Not cheap - but well worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KimberlyS707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear KimberlyS707,

Thank you for choosing to stay to Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.

We will do our best to improve our Internet Speed Connection, i perfectly understand how the lack of internet connection is one of biggest stress for travellers and logging on to the internet helps our guest feel most at home in their Suite.
Communicating with family is the top way to de-stress when away from home.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest,

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Myself and my 2 daughters, 15 and 9 years old, just stayed at the Porttrait suites for 5 nights end of June. It was truly splendid. Nice, clean, homely hotel, tastefully decorated. Staff was awesome, especially Francesca!! Thanks, Francesca. She took her time to give us tips on tours, good restaurants. All the restaurants she recommended were great-Da Pietro, Gina and Dilla. Other staff were really nice too, but for some reason, all the guys kept recommending us to go to Re Cafe for dinner. It's like they did not know of any other good restaurants. We actually never went in there to eat, because it was always empty, with no one there, and this is usually telling that the restaurant isn't very good.
Location of hotel is perfect- close to the awesome shopping, Spanish steps, short walk to Trevi Fountain and to Villa Borhgese.
Breakfast was lovely, you get a full breakfast, with eggs.... On the top open terrace floor, with a beautiful view.
Service was perfect!
As nothing can really truly be 100%, the only downside was they do not provide an iron in the room. We had to give our clothes to their maid to iron every morning, and she brought them back to our room. We were told it would be free, but on check out, saw I was billed a lot for it. However, again Francesca kindly took it off the bill, and said it was a misunderstanding.
Thanks Francesca, and to all the staff at Portrait suites. We will see you soon. We were really delighted to have spent some time in your hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in their standard suite, and it was great, so I imagine the bigger suites will be even nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iyabo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel is amazing only to be matched by the outstanding Staff and their impeccable attention to all details in making our stay as memorable as possible. The décor of the rooms and the building left nothing to the imagination other than exactly what you would want before you know you want it. The best part in addition to the location, décor, breakfast and cocktails is really the people who work there. I cannot say in words to describe how much they did to make us feel like royalty. Thank you!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite well worth the money being we had two levels with a sauna and exercise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear Katleen P ,

how can i answer to this feedback? You.... make us feel like royalty with your words.

We promise you to keep going in offering to all of you a different concept of hospitality.

Many thanks for the time you have dedicated to post this review,i see it's your first review on Tripadvisor.

It's really difficult to find the right words to express my happiness and gratitude for such amazing description of your experience.

I will share your review with the Team involved in this project.

I wish you the best,

Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,960 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,271 in Rome
738 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,271 in Rome
263 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
247 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,271 in Rome
3,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £392 - £726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing