We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property!”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful property!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was our first time staying at this hotel but certainly will not be our last! Every aspect of our stay was superb. We were traveling with our small dog, and the hotel went above and beyond to ensure that our furry friends stay was as good as our own! They provided him with a small bed, toys, treats, and even sent out for fresh cooked chicken for his dinner! As for our own experience, from start to finish everything was amazing. Our room was so luxurious & chic {love the radiant heated flooring in the bathroom!}. Service is wonderful, and you can't beat the location! Watching the sunset over a glass of wine from the rooftop bar is not to be missed. We'll be staying here again in April of this year, and I can't wait!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Andy,

thank you for your amazing review. The Portrait Roma Pet Program has been worked out by Lifestyle Team. They tried to make our pet's stay as amazing as yours. We truly take in great consideration the value to have a pet in our family, and when some of us decide to travel with, it means a lot.
The Pet Program is finalized to custom your pet stay as you prefer, the Lifestyle Team has been trained to take care of their needs as well.
Thank you for your time and for the sweet description of our property, we really appreciate it.
Please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime in the future,

With my best Regards,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
165
406
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

High quality standard rooms, friendly staff. Minutes from Plaza di Spagna.
Shame they do not have a restaurant and no common area.
Would definitely go back with friends next time because it is ideal for shopping.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Portrait Suites and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return with your friends.

We really apologize , but given that the only common area is our rooftop, and unfortunately is an open space, the best period to enjoy it is not january for sure. Anyway our welcome floor is always at our guest's disposal with complimentary snacks and bevarage at any time.
Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Divsion Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful rooms and building, superb staff. Genuine 5 star luxury hotel. Style and warmth like only the Italians can do.
Located near Spanish steps. Rooftop sitting area with bar. Kitchenette in room with nespresso machine, mini dishwasher etc.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Antman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

one of our purposes with the "Portrait" brand ,is delivery the Italian Concept of hospitality all around the world, thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate your consideration.
We are very close by to open a new "Portrait" Hotel in Florence, in spring 2014. Stay in a Portrait Hotels should be an experience, our target is that an experience became memorable.
We pride ourselves in personal service, and we can’t wait to start this new challange, hoping to have your trust again.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Portrait Roma is just the best hotel we stayed. Great location in the heart of the city, fantastic service, great rooms..... This hotel is THE benchmark for a luxury hotel. And all these great things are delivered with a lot simplicity, human touch and personalized attentions.

If you want to enjoy this fanstastic city of Roma, we strongly recommend you to envisage Portrait Roma.

Room Tip: Please ask for 4th floor or above for the view. Due to the small size of this hotel (14 rooms) don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the time you have dedicated to post this review, it's really difficult to find the right words to express my happiness and gratitude for such amazing description of your experience.

We all are very proud to have the opportunity to work at Portrait Roma Hotel in Roma, as part of Lungarno Collection.

Your review is a strong message to enforce our will to do always better and offer the guests a truly unique experience out of the time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.


Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Just a minute walk from Spanish Steps, nustled in the midst of all luxury boutiques (Stella McCartney, Hermes that is bang opposite, Ferragamo {who is this hotel by}, Prada, Gucci and the likes) and walking distance from high street shopping it was a centrally located amazing property.

At many luxury properties in Europe I found the staff to be very snooty but they were exceptionally good and very customer friendly (in fact had the wow factor). Its a boutique hotel so dont expect a big reception area or huge lobbies. Its tastefully decorated with good sized rooms but no common areas except the welcome room and their terrace. No restaurant but they have in-room breakfast and a small kitchenette.

Beauty in detailings, I loved everything about the hotel. Its not the best place if ure travelling with kids though.

Room Tip: Not good option for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank styledestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for the time you spent to post this review. It's really important for all of us involved in the Portrait Hospitality Concept.

You gave to all the readers a perfect description of the property, his concept, and the staff attitude which should be as friendly as possible, each of our guests should feeling to be in their friend's home and not in a luxury and snooty place.

Aniway i take this opportunity to let you know that our Lifestyle Team has different suggestions of activity for all the children that are coming to Portrait Roma, as well the Portrait Roma Kids Program included various complimentary item, with a useful play bag ready upon their arrival, together with a special welcome amenities.
Given that is not allow to any external guest to come in,even to visit our amazing rooftop , Portrait Roma is considered one of safest hotel in town, which could be very important if you are travel with children.

Thanks again for your time, and please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance you may need.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were warmly welcomed by the receptionist who guided us to this cosy reception room where they served us coffee and a customised itinerary for our stay in Rome which impressed us, but also made us feel the money was worth it. This hotel is owned by the Lungarno Collection; founded by Salvatore Ferragamo which explains the history of the fashion label hanging along walkways in the hotel and why guests of the hotel are given 10% off for Ferragamo and other selected brands.

We were given one of the suites with a great panoramic view of the city from our balcony where we dined for breakfast. No better day to start your day in Rome with a breakfast overlooking the beautiful city.
The sunset view from the rooftop too, was spectacular. (fantastic spot for panoramic shots)

The room was detailed with Ferragamo and on top of it, was well equipped with an in-suite gym which came in useful when we were feeling a tad guilty stuffing ourselves with gelato and pastas

With the cost, we have already expected a standard of service, cleanliness, and perfection yet, we were still pleasantly surprised when Portrait Roma exceeded it

Expect to be surprised (:


Here's a note of thanks to the wonderful team at Portrait Roma, who made our stay in Rome, a wonderful and memorable one

Cheers!

EL

Room Tip: Suite with a Balcony will allow you to dine with the scenic view of Rome in the background ( watch o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELwonderlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your review. I appreciate the time you spent to describe the experience you had at Portrait Roma Hotel
The daily efforts to maintain the high standard are reinvigorated by these words, I will share your review with the Team involved in this project. Many thanks from all of us,

We really hope to welcome you back in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I've travel all over the world and I must say this is by far my favorite hotel. The staff is nothing less than amazing and completely attentive to almost any request during our stay. Especially Francesco and Francesca they have made our stay in Rome the best stay here yet. The suites are beautiful with an extreme attention to the even the smallest details such as US style outlets to the heated bathroom floors. There isn't even a front desk to check in at it's more of a lounge and you are given personalized attention and served refreshments upon check in.

I think the rates are extremely fair for the level of service and I cannot stress enough how great the whole experience is. If you are looking for a high end hotel in Rome do not look further this is the hotel to stay at!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil516718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Rooms Division Manager at Portrait Roma, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

many thanks for the time you decided to dedicate to us writing this amazing review.
The Staff and me we are very proud about your kind words, a strong message to enforce our will to do always better.

We pride ourselves on creating a wonderful experience for our guests and we thank you for your feedback. I will make sure to share the great comments with Francesco and Francesca, and the entire team. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Portrait Roma once again.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future for any assistance you may need to became our repeater guest.

Sincerely,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Rooms Division Manager
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,259 in Rome
409 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,259 in Rome
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
#22 of 1,259 in Rome
476 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#5 of 1,259 in Rome
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing