We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't Get Any Better!”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doesn't Get Any Better!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We chose this hotel after recommendations from reading Trip Advisor. We could not fault anything. We arrived after a very disappointing (and incredibly expensive) 3 nights with the Aman Grand Canal in Venice only to be simply delighted with our choice of stay in Rome! Our stay was just like being a guest in someones home. Everything is thought of, even down to the 'spaceship' coffee maker! Breakfast was a delight and so beautifully presented. Our only complaint is that we should have STAYED MUCH LONGER! We cannot wait to return. We travel frequently and have yet to stay in any hotel anywhere that comes even close to Portrait Suites. Excellent. Simply Excellent. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MammaGia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
159
391
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Excellent location -Room was very nice-staff very attentive ,and the in room breakfast very good. The hotel is located on the Via Condotti ,so in a very central position close to many of the main tourist sites

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LC36LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This ticks all of the boxes. Location - easy walking distance to most major attractions and shopping, beautiful suites - with all appointments and details thought through (eg rechargers to fit old and new iplugs), superb outlook - from the huge suite windows and from the roof top terrace where you can enjoy breakfast or an end of day drink, fantastic service - a small hotel means that you don't deal with "departments (front desk, concierge, housekeeping etc) but with a single "host" who can help manage every aspect of your visit to Rome. And some very nice touches - like fruit in the room (which was repelinished during our stay), an in room ipad and the use of a guest lounge combined with an office rather than a front desk. Finally, if you like running the gardens at the top of the Spanish steps (50 metres away) are terrific and suprisingly very quite early in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zlejins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deurle, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay in Portrait Roma was a very positive experience. Everything was taken care of: reservations in the best restaurants in town, champaign in the room, one night we didn't feel like going out and delicious food from neighborhood restaurants was taken up to the rooftop terrace where we had a romantic diner next to the fireplace, dvd's on the history of Rome and his emperors, delicious breakfast every morning in our room and a very helpful staff. This is the place to be in Rome!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a trip to rome staying at the Portrait Roma, and cannot wait to return!

Ive traveled the world and have stayed at some pretty nice places...this one might just top them all. As other TA reviews note, the location and design are superb. Staff is incredible. They went out of there way to make our trip special. We stayed on Valentines day, and while we went up to the rooftop, they dropped off chocolate strawberries and champagne in the room. The rooms and the rooftop were always spotless.

Its expensive, but I can honestly say its worth every penny.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ToshiMoto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This quite wonderful boutique hotel has just about the perfect location for exploring Rome. Weather permitting you can take breakfast on the roof-top overlooking the Spanish Steps, and it is only 25 mins walk through the atmospheric Centro Storico to the Vatican. Piazza Navona 15 mins max: Pantheon 10 mins. Rooms are designed to make the most of the space: in ours, not one of the top range rooms, there was a small dressing area, while the bed was huge and very comfortable (although the double was made of two singles, and a mattress-topper would have been appreciated). The marble bathroom (walk-in shower only, no bath) had a luxurious heated floor, and was beautifully designed too. What makes this hotel extra special is the staff, who could not have been more welcoming or obliging. Nothing was too much trouble. They booked the Villa Borghese for us and also bought Roma passes in advance. Portrait Roma oozes style and is very special. Watch the extras though - a packet of crisps from the minibar cost five pounds+! We will definitely be back, though - loved it.

Room Tip: They are all great, but some have balcony and a view: ours had neither - not that we minded much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Portrait Roma in Rome is a beautiful small boutique hotel in Rome. Everything about the hotel is either artistic or designer made or set in the period of the 1960s. In fact the owners have a boutique below the hotel. The rooms are not called rooms but studios. Each studio is modeled after an eminent personality. A microwave and a dishwasher are provided in the studio along with a minibar. The studios are furnished tastefully through the services of a designer. The bathrooms too are designer oriented. The latest gadgets such as docking station for iPod and an iPad are provided. The breakfast serving continental fare is free. The high speed Internet access is also free. The hotel is very conveniently located near the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the Ara Pacis Museum. Another great feature of the hotel is the stupendous view of the city from the terrace.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JakeTporry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#6 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing