We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent...”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A great boutique hotel with only 14 rooms about 500m from the Spanish steps in the heart of Rome. Rooftop space is used for breakfast and then afterwards drinks in an "help yourself" bar.. Very very good service, rooms are well designed and appointed for a modern traveller with charging docks and Bluetooth radios as standard.. We loved it - stayed for 5 nights - no complaints at all and would go back..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Steverhowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Incredible 10 stars standard of service.
New concept of welcome, lifestyle team well trained to organize a perfect stay for a memorable experience during your stay in Rome.
Suites well appointed and personalized with your favored pillow, sheets, music.
Complimentary and fast wi-fi, incredible spot to spend few days in Rome with a feeling to stay in a private club instead in a five star hotel.
Eligible Mini bar and breakfast products.
Thank you to all the Portrait Roma Team and to Ferragamo family for this new concept of Italian hospitality, luxury details everywhere in this spot.
The Mini Device with 3G connection portable and full of tips by Portrait Roma Lifestyle Team with routes and map with the most attractions of Rome is unique and even i travelled all over the world is the first time i have seen it!
We love Portrait Roma and can't wait to book again!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank garcia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel, which was in a perfect location in Rome. The rooms were beautifully appointed with plenty of hanging space. One of the highlights was the roomtop bar which gave a wonderful of the skyline of Rome

Room Tip: only 14 rooms, which is good. our room (431 had a view of the street below)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I've traveled to Italy about 8 times all over the country and I have to say this one really tops the cake. The hotel is so cute and cozy and every detail is perfected. The design was incredible and the staff was even better. We arrived on a Sunday only staying one night so the hotel gave us an upgrade. We were so surprised and it was such a generous treat. They staff were some of the friendliest people I've ever met and their recommendations were right on par. The location was fantastic. I actually found out terrible news that my grandmother passed away while we were staying here and all these factors helped make me feel taken care of and was so comforting during such a hard time. We felt right at home here which was very much needed. Book this place and you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank midgiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Love love love this hotel, amazing views and great clean rooms. Will certainly visit again, so glad we booked this hotel. Staff very friendly and make your stay even more pleasant. Definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We enjoyed our 2nd visit to Portrait Roma in July. This is a great little hotel with exceptional staff and first class service. The location is unbeatable and we loved the roof top bar where we could start each day with a great breakfast and then retreat there again in the evening for wonderful aperitivo whilst watching over the city skyline! The rooms are luxurious and very well appointed. Loved the daily fruit bowl and in-room nespresso. Our host Roberto and all the staff treated us like royalty and gave us fantastic ristorante recommendations. The location is also handy to many of Romes major attractions the Spanish steps only a 2 min walk away up Via dei Condotti.
This is a special place we can't wait to return to Portrait Roma a piu presto!

Room Tip: The best room is on Level 2 facing Via Condotti it has a classic balcony that gives you a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank donandlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My second stay at Portrait Roma. I loved it the first time, and even more the 2nd! The service is exceptional. From the moment you check in (thanks to Roberto) to the moment you (unfortunately) leave, you are treated like royalty. The rooms are gorgeous, and the staff impeccable. I cannot praise the staff more highly. They are warm, welcoming, and beyond helpful. We stayed in room 652, a duplex with a sauna, an exercise bicycle, and a wardrobe bigger than many NYC studio apartments! Really amazing.

The only "negative" that I can raise is one of the recommendations for dinner, and I can't really fault the hotel for this issue. We went to Hostaria Da Pietro on the recommendation of the hotel, and our experience was not so great. Our waiter forgot about us for quite some time, and then our order was not taken correctly. The manager (maybe the owner?) joked about the bad service at the restaurant, but that was fairly lame. He did try to make it up to us by bringing us an impromptu egg/truffle dish, but I'm not a big fan of eggs so we gave it to the table next to us. Anyway, may this be the biggest problem I ever encounter while abroad :-)

I cannot wait to go back to Rome and treat myself and my partner to a few more days at this spectacular hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tribecadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianlucaVallerotonda, Direttore at Portrait Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Tribecado,

i wish to thank you for your feedback and for your positive notes about our level of service even if our Lifestyle Team miss one of their point of strength: leave memorable experiences.
We really apologize.

They already provided to remove the restaurant from the " Suggested List", with the promise in the future to be more attentive to reconfirm always the quality of service they offer.

Our guest's feedback is an excellent mean for us to improve our purpose to offer to all our guests not only and a simple stay but unforgettable memories during their stay in Rome offering bespoke experiences, tested restaurants, and personalizing each single suggestion.

Awaiting to welcoming you and your partner again in our Portrait Roma, let me take the opportunity to thank you for your kindness and understanding.

Best Regards,
Gianluca Vallerotonda
Hotel Manager Portrait Roma
g.vallerotonda@lungarnocollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,271 in Rome
457 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,271 in Rome
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,271 in Rome
260 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
241 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £396 - £729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing