We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel”
Review of Portrait Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portrait Roma
Ranked #2 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A very trendy, intimate boutique hotel. Hardware in excellent condition. Service is great; very attentive. Only downside is no hotel gym; they do provide dumbbells in the room but it is still a bit strange working out in the room. Nevertheless, it is far better than the other choices in Rome, which tend to be run-down.

Room Tip: We stayed at a deluxe studio and it was very nice. Only problem is the walk-in closets are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
162
399
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was my first trip to Rome as a guest of my son's family and the portrait Roma was the perfect place from which to see the Central area of the city. From the moment of welcome, the entire staff treated us like family/royalty. The room was comfortable, spacious and every conceivable amenity was available. I loved everything about it. The rooms were located on the floors above the famous Faragamo shoe boutique and the entire decor reflected it's heritage. Pictures of outrageously glamorous shoes and past receipts from famous clients decorate the walls. The housekeeping is extraordinarily attentive throughout the day. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Roman Forum and Colosseum, and Ancient Rome. If transportation is needed, Uber car service and cabs are easily secured. One of my favorite experiences here was the breakfast buffet on the rooftop garden patio overlooking the skyline of the city all around with the sounds of church bells and voices practicing opera. Only in Roma! I simply must return here.

Room Tip: Top floors have terraces but any room here is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensheim
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A great boutique hotel with only 14 rooms about 500m from the Spanish steps in the heart of Rome. Rooftop space is used for breakfast and then afterwards drinks in an "help yourself" bar.. Very very good service, rooms are well designed and appointed for a modern traveller with charging docks and Bluetooth radios as standard.. We loved it - stayed for 5 nights - no complaints at all and would go back..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steverhowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Barrios, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Incredible 10 stars standard of service.
New concept of welcome, lifestyle team well trained to organize a perfect stay for a memorable experience during your stay in Rome.
Suites well appointed and personalized with your favored pillow, sheets, music.
Complimentary and fast wi-fi, incredible spot to spend few days in Rome with a feeling to stay in a private club instead in a five star hotel.
Eligible Mini bar and breakfast products.
Thank you to all the Portrait Roma Team and to Ferragamo family for this new concept of Italian hospitality, luxury details everywhere in this spot.
The Mini Device with 3G connection portable and full of tips by Portrait Roma Lifestyle Team with routes and map with the most attractions of Rome is unique and even i travelled all over the world is the first time i have seen it!
We love Portrait Roma and can't wait to book again!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garcia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel, which was in a perfect location in Rome. The rooms were beautifully appointed with plenty of hanging space. One of the highlights was the roomtop bar which gave a wonderful of the skyline of Rome

Room Tip: only 14 rooms, which is good. our room (431 had a view of the street below)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I've traveled to Italy about 8 times all over the country and I have to say this one really tops the cake. The hotel is so cute and cozy and every detail is perfected. The design was incredible and the staff was even better. We arrived on a Sunday only staying one night so the hotel gave us an upgrade. We were so surprised and it was such a generous treat. They staff were some of the friendliest people I've ever met and their recommendations were right on par. The location was fantastic. I actually found out terrible news that my grandmother passed away while we were staying here and all these factors helped make me feel taken care of and was so comforting during such a hard time. We felt right at home here which was very much needed. Book this place and you will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midgiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Love love love this hotel, amazing views and great clean rooms. Will certainly visit again, so glad we booked this hotel. Staff very friendly and make your stay even more pleasant. Definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,627 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,257 in Rome
402 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,257 in Rome
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#7 of 1,257 in Rome
228 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,257 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portrait Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portrait Roma

Property: Portrait Roma
Address: Via Bocca di Leone, 23, 00187 Rome, Italy (Formerly Portrait Suites)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#2 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portrait Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality is an art and Portrait Roma has made it a masterpiece. In a new concept of bespoke tourism, we have transformed uniform luxury into spontaneous personalisation. Live a private mansion with the services of a 5 star hotel built around a city, a suite tailored to you and experiences crafted to your lifestyle. Let us make your stay in Rome a portrait of you. And let us make it better than perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portrait Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portrait Hotel Rome
Portrait Suites Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing