We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel wasnt 4 star”
Review of Barcelo Aran Blu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Aran Blu
Ranked #408 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The hotel wasnt 4 star”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

The staff was very warm ; the breakfast wasnt bad. The room for 3 person was small. We had a front room with a seavew big balkony( i like it ) but it was very noisy. the beach is puplic (the hotel hasnt privat place). The location isnt good very far from restorants and supermarkets...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariam409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloManagement, Management at Barcelo Aran Blu, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Dear “Mariam409”,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and suggestions.

We are extremely glad to learn that you enjoyed the sea view from the room as well as our staff friendliness.

We take this opportunity to inform you and other travellers, that since the 15th January 2012, this hotel is being managed by the group Barceló Hotels & Resorts.

For this reason, please note that we are working on the mentioned "to be improved" aspects in order to completely fulfill your expectations on your next visit.

Once again thank you for your comments and suggestions; we look forward to welcome you on you next visit to Barceló Aran Blu in Rome-Ostia.

Best Regards from Italy,

The management
Barceló Aran Blu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    195
    105
    46
    44
See reviews for
91
232
25
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Well, what can I say? We stayed one night there because it was close to the airport in Rome. We wanted something on the mediterranean. I was told it was a 4 star. We did not feel safe when we pulled up to the front. It was isolated feeling. There was parking but it was very tight getting our small car down the ramp and into the basement lot. The attendant was a very nice girl and the check in was nice. The room was the biggest disappointment. My daughter was locked into the bathroom while we went to park the car. It took 15 minutes to get her door unlocked. The room had this look as if it was decorated but a very long time ago. The fake modern cheap furniture with scuff marks everywhere. (A party room) The TV was so small on the wall that we could barely see it. The door would not dead bolt and when I went down to the lobby to see what could be done, the man walked up and said that the one lock was enough and the 2nd was broken and it was OK. We thought about leaving but it was late in the evening and kids were tired. We all wanted to leave but had to just suck it up and stay. When I sat on the bed, I thought "OH MY GOODNES" How was I going to make it through the night. It was a rock!!! I told the kids everything was going to be fine. I was not sure of that. I was scared and uncomfortable. They were very unhappy. We went to sleep and then woke up fine. We packed up got out of there and said our goodbye to the nice hotel clerk and made it through. I can see this place being OK if your expectations are not high as far as the room. The view was beautiful in the morning and right on the water. A nice balcony made the morning. We were where the boat yard was. It was a different feeling in the morning but the room was still not good. Sorry but I am giving this hotel a 2 1/2. Get nicer beds, fix the doors, get new updated furniture and some nice low lighting and then they will have their 4 stars. They have the nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shooflyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We chose this hotel to be close to the airport for an early-morning flight. The hotel was nearly empty but we were given a very poor room in the back. We requested to be moved to the beach side and agreed to pay an upcharge which they ended up not assessing. The room was much nicer but all the hotel's carpets are very soiled. The WiFi is complicated - free in lobby and free for 1/2 hr in the room but only with a cable. The linens and furniture are top quality - obviously expensive which makes it even more difficult to understand the condition of the carpets and somewhat poor service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We spent two nights at the Aran Blu at the end of our Italian vacation. We had stayed at many stellar properties and this hotel was somewhat of a disappointment. The location is good for traveling to the airport and has a nice view of the sea. The room was somewhat small. It was clean although the carpet was worn and a not particularly clean. We were given a room on the back of the hotel where we heard a constant barking of a dog from the nearby apartments. When we asked to be moved to the front of the hotel, we were told that wasn't possible as it was a different price range. We indicated our displeasure as the hotel was far from full and then went out to dinner. When we returned, the desk clerk hurried over to tell us that she had listened to the dog and would definitely move us to the front of the hotel at no charge - not sure why she had this change of heart but it was appreciated. There are a few restaurants on the nearby boardwalk, although in October a number of them were closed. We did however, find a nice bar & restaurant, with free wifi where we ate both nights. The hotel only provides 30 minutes of free wifi and it is just available in lobby area. Although the hotel was adequate, I would probably not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Good hotel with modern design.
Breakfast is rather poor, there's no good expresso :)
If you travel in cold time of the year, be aware that to go downstairs (ex. for breakfast) you'll have to pass the out-side zone on your floor, because the lift is situated separately from main buildings (between them). That's very uncomfortable, if it's raining & cold...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

If you are in Rome by car, a good alternative could be to stay in Ostia, a nice sea-small town, just few km away from Rome. In such respect the Aran Hotel is a very good choice: directly in front of the beach, this is a nice and modern hotel with nice decorated rooms and with an excellent quality/price ratio. Only negative point is that the shower is in the middle on the baathroon and has not protection (no glass, nor even plastic). But the 90 euros they will charge you are extremely well spent. Again: you absolutely need a car.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabioDaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spent a night at the Aran Blu in order to drive to the ruins in Ostia Antica before driving to Fiumicino airport. It was an excellent choice - we had chosen a room with a sea view and in fact this had a charming, spacious balcony overlooking the beach and the marina. Our room was comfortable and modern with an excellent bathroom. The staff at the desk were friendly and efficient and the parking - under the hotel - is extremely secure. Not a hotel with great character, but for a short stay it did us fine and provided just what we needed. Wandering out to eat at the marina in the evening was very pleasant - a good tip from the desk-staff. The Aran Blu is very conveniently situated - the fabulous ruins at Ostia Antica are only about 10 minutes drive away, and the airport is maybe 15 minutes.

Room Tip: I was very glad we had a room with a sea view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Scaletta
Hotel La Scaletta
#1 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
442 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sirenetta
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
265 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belvedere Century
Belvedere Century
#6 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Del Mare
Hotel Del Mare
#14 of 23 in Fiumicino
259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Riviera
Best Western Hotel Riviera
#9 of 23 in Fiumicino
371 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Aran Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Aran Blu

Property: Barcelo Aran Blu
Address: Lungomare Duca Degli Abruzzi 72 | Lido Di Ostia - RM, 00121 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Aran Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Aran Blu **** hotel located in the tourist port of Ostia is a cozy design hotel with large glazed areas affording beautiful views of the Mediterranean. Its modern rooms were renovated in 2014 and fully equipped with all the comforts for an unforgettable stay on the beachfront, most of them with a terrace and some with sea views. Indulge in succulent Italian cuisine prepared in the restaurant by its Executive Chefs and visit the "Tramonto Sky Terrace"where you can taste the best cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Aran Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Aran Blu Hotel Rome
Aran Blu Rome
Hotel Aran Blu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing