We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, marginal hotel”
Review of Barcelo Aran Blu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Aran Blu
Ranked #414 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, marginal hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We booked this after a cruise, and just wanted a clean room close to the airport for an early flight the next day. Booked a back side room as we had seen the ocean for 7 days, and €25 savings. The hotel advertised shuttle service was not available, and a €40 taxi from and a €32 taxi to the airport was our reward. The hotel itself is fairly new, modern and nicely decorated. The location is good, across the street from the beach, there are several restaurants and shops close by. Which is good because the restaurant/bar in the hotel is apparently seasonal. Not open in April. WiFi is available for free in one corner of the lobby only. Good luck. The room on the backside we had faced an apartment building, very close. Could hear conversation from apartments, and barking dogs, all night. Well, at least we could get a nice shower and be refreshed for the long flight home. Wrong. The shower would alternately scald you and then just go ahead and put some nice cold water on your new 1st degree burn for you. I am used to some temperature fluctuations in hotels, it is not uncommon. This was the worst I have seen. One elevator was inoperative. The hair dryer in the room (wired directly to the wall) was inoperative. Unsure of the quality of other hotels in the area, but we will surely try something else next time.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JPetzoldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    188
    97
    44
    41
See reviews for
81
218
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel because they claim to offer shuttle service to the airport. The morning we were leaving, I confirmed with the gentleman at the desk that there would be a shuttle waiting for us, he said there would be. After waiting twenty minutes, I asked the woman at the desk how much longer he would be, she said he was on the way. They both tried many times to get in touch with the driver with no luck. He finally called back to tell them that no one had told him he was needed and wouldn't be coming. I speak Italian fluently and I understood the whole conversation between them. The young woman at the desk then lied and said the driver was in an accident and was running late and suggested we take a taxi, luckily we had a few Euros left. When I confronted her about lying and told her that I speak Italian and understood everything, she was mortified and said she thought it was better to lie then tell me he wasn't coming. Overall was not impressed with this hotel and not to mention we had to ask for another room upon checking in because the first room they gave us had not been cleaned!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLU77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We booked the Aran Blu as it was described as an airport hotel on the site we booked it through, it is not.
It is about a 15 minute, 25 euro taxi to the airport, which is fine if you know beforehand.
The town of Ostia is apparently a popular holiday resort for people from Rome, but from our walk around the town it is mainly residential.
If you leave the hotel and turn right to the marina, it is beautiful, lots of shops and lovely restaurants.
As for the hotel, our room, 409, was lovely, immaculate with a stunning sea view.
The staff are very welcoming and helpful.
My only possible complaint would be that there was no English speaking channel on the TV.
If we needed a transit hotel for the airport again, I would definitely book the Aran Blu.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view will be superb, preferably on floor 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
506 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I booked on line and knowing the Hiltons at Rome airport I wanted to have somewhere close and different,there is a pickup service but do not rely on it,the drive was about 10 minutes from the airport and it was located right across from the Marina and sandy beaches.Of modern construction and with two wings from a central reception,Glass and marble,very clean and tidy and a lovely welcome.My budget room was clean and had all I needed but it was rear facing and with frosted glass,seaview are a little more but were all taken.there is a small and tidy restaurant open for breakfast but otherwise no other in house facilities.The beach access is across the street and plentiful beachfront restaurants via the promenade to the left and the Marina to the right with an out of place but popular Mac Donalds.The hotel staff were charming the rooms clean and bright all good points,I would be happy to stay there again.

My only negative comments are worth paying attention to as I ventured out in the side streets at the back of the hotel,the town was not so much a town but blocks of low cost housing,dirty streets with slogans and grafiti and not such pleasant looks from the locals,hardly anything open,until I had walked back to the seafront and there are some quite good places as long as you stay on the seafront,at night the side streets could be a no go area.The hotel was a breath of fresh air.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a seaview,its great looking out to sea................
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talentpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Where to start really. The website picture is a bit misleading as the hotel is one room and one corridor thick. If you don't have a sea view (50% of the roms) then you are face to face with the occupants of the apartment 20 feet away on their balcony across the street behind the hotel. We arrived around 8.00pm after a long drive and were looking forward to a meal in the Blu restaurant rather than a late search through the town for a suitable place to eat. The restaurant was busy and noisy but when we asked to book a table we were informed with no apparent awareness of the irony involved that yes it was open but only for the coach party of Italian visitors from Milan.The receptionist had to be further prompted to recommend a nearby restaurant in the marina whose entrance was handily placed just across the street. There was a McDonalds but on closer inspection of the marina there were three other restaurants available. The room was very stylish and very comfortable with a large balcony overlooking the busy street , narrow beach and Marina entrance.The hotel is a long walk from the centre of Ostia which is not really a big disadvantage as theer is little to see there. In fact the Marina was a bit of a saving grace as it is an easy walk from the hotel. It is however rather soul-less. Visit Ostia Antica and only use this place for one night.

Room Tip: Get a sea view on the top floor to keep above the traffic as it is a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I booked this hotel through Hotwire.com, so didnt know what I would get until booking was completed. We were looking for a more affordable hotel for our last night in Italy due to an early morning flight and therefore were less picky about our usual criterias. Hotel itself looks really nice, modern and clean. Room was small, 2 single beds separated, balcony with chairs and table but...view outside of balcony was far from welcoming. An apartment building less than 100 meters behind the hotel is what you get when you have a back view room. There is a film on the patio door and window that keeps your privacy but I didnt venture outside. Ostia itself is a bit sketch, especially in that area (didnt go in the city center). Internet in the lobby only. 25 Euros cab ride to the airport. All in all, wouldnt pick this one again.

Room Tip: Sea view. Not back view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We had a room booked and prepaid for months ahead of time. When we stepped out of the taxi, a guy on a scooter drove right up on the sidewalk next to me, tried to grab my purse and knocked me down, my head slammed into their planter and knocked it over. The hotel clerks didn't even ask if I was ok, just righted the planter. They then told us, the room wasn't available due to "technical problems", promised to send us to a nicer, sister hotel back in Rome and that they'd pay for our fare to the airport since the 2nd place was so far. The new hotel was horrible and weird and unfriendly and they didn't honor the return to airport taxi which cost us another 48 euros.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dumoyer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Scaletta
Hotel La Scaletta
#1 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
427 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sirenetta
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belvedere Century
Belvedere Century
#3 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#2 of 23 in Fiumicino
1,061 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel I Triangoli
10.8 mi away
Hotel La Genziana
Hotel La Genziana
#445 of 1,257 in Rome
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Aran Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Aran Blu

Property: Barcelo Aran Blu
Address: Lungomare Duca Degli Abruzzi 72 | Lido Di Ostia - RM, 00121 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Aran Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Aran Blu **** hotel located in the tourist port of Ostia is a cozy design hotel with large glazed areas affording beautiful views of the Mediterranean. Its modern rooms were renovated in 2014 and fully equipped with all the comforts for an unforgettable stay on the beachfront, most of them with a terrace and some with sea views. Indulge in succulent Italian cuisine prepared in the restaurant by its Executive Chefs and visit the "Tramonto Sky Terrace"where you can taste the best cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Barcelo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Aran Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Aran Blu Hotel Rome
Aran Blu Rome
Hotel Aran Blu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing