We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice site but it was very noisy where we were”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Happy Village & Camping
Ranked #679 of 1,100 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Galway
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Nice site but it was very noisy where we were”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We chose this site because it was nearer to Rome where we wanted to visit. The site itself was lovely with pristine facilities. We were situated on the same level as the restaurant and bar which was unfortunate. There was a birthday party on for some young child which was terribly loud and went on very late. The noise was deafening and the poor gentleman who was doing the entertaining hadn't a note in his head bless him. I wouldn't mind the music was lovely but the piano was out of tune and he was too. If you plan on staying here take a pitch on the lower level outside the entrance if you can, they are bigger and away from the noise of the bar. They ran a minibus for free into the Metro which was nice.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bar area it's too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M-P7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    60
    52
    32
    44
See reviews for
70
90
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My friend booked this place through expedia and because of some issues with his card the reservation was cancelled. Although the lady saw that on the computer she wouldn't honor our reserved rate and because we arrived on the last shuttle we had to stay there for a night that was not worth the price. The wifi is 4 euros for 2 hours and it may or may not work regardless if your in the wifi area or not! Restaurant does not allow you to bring any outside drinks or food! Last shuttle is at 9:30 so you have to be back from the city relatively early!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Rose91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The site was miles away from the train station with a shuttle bus running at 8.30am, 10.30am then 5.30pm, 7.30pm & 9.30pm if you don't make them you are stuck. Local bus ends at 7pm. The staff were very unhelpful. The website claims to sell tickets for travel and visits but they don't. The superior bungalow was filthy, not equipped properly, the lights didn't work. The swimming pool was filthy, the shop had nothing. My children hated the place. Would never go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMJ-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

When arriving it became apparent the cheap price was because i has booked a 'basic' room! which was basic- perfect for a group of mates who literally needed somewhere to kip!

after upgrading to one of the lovely bungalow caravans you'll see on the picture this place was amazing!!

there is a beautiful restraraunt on site- gorgeous food & staff! we were fortunate enough for a full italian night with a band and dancing as is was off-peak season!

the staff were amazing- especially gabrielle, the main waitress and the owner- could not have been more welcoming and treated us like loyalty!!

the free shuffle bus is alwaaays on time to an from Prima Porta train station where you easily catch the train straight into Rome centre!

the bungalow was warm- clean- modern- amazing shower- big mirror- tv(italian)- plug sockets etc etc. really nice!

i would recommend this place to another couple if they didnt mind the 40 min journey into Rome- which really didnt bother us!! :-) xxx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessicaBxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to try save some money and for what we paid it was alright.
Positives - the free shuttle bus was always leaving on time and was at the train station early so we didn't had to wait in the dark in a dodgy looking town.
The restraunt bar has good and cheap food. Especially the pizza massive for like 7 euro.
Friendly staff aswell

Negatives. Paid 4 euro for wifi that last two hours. Which is ridiculous to start with but in the end it didn't work at all. At least they refunded our money
Our bungalow seemed clean enough however it also seemed really damp. All our stuff was Damp by the time we left.
Also it takes a good 35-40 minutes to get to Rome termini which I didn't mind but if we don't like the travel I wouldn't stay here. Oh and remember that the train you get to the shuttle bus it only stops if u press a button

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The site has good amenities and access to central Rome is reltively easy, either by site's own minibus (chargeable) or by bus or bus/metro. Unfortunately the site website makes no mention of a number of changes that are underway. Adjacent to many of the camper van spots is a large construction site which has also taken up a number of their camper van spots. Workers to this site access via the campsite at 7am every morning so you can forget any thoughts of a lie in. The buildings are multi storey flats and will signiificantly alter the outlook for areas of the site such as the pool complex and a number of the campervan locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have just come back from this site and found it very good, very clean facilities we drove our motor home there and were happy to be able to just leave it and catch the train to rome we just worked around the times available (which there were plenty) we had our own food and ate in Rome when we were, we found that prices not different to any major city. We purchased the swim hats which were only 3 euro's anyway. All in all it was a very good site and very good value for money considering all the facilities and the free shuttle bus was a bonus, good to come back to peacful site after a very hot hectic day in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
8.4 mi away
Scheppers Hotel
Scheppers Hotel
#1,036 of 1,258 in Rome
258 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Jonico
Hotel Jonico
#725 of 1,258 in Rome
339 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Camping Tiber
Camping Tiber
#132 of 1,100 in Rome
256 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seven Hills Camping Village & Resort
3.2 mi away
Flaminio Village Bungalow Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Village & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Village & Camping

Property: Happy Village & Camping
Address: Via del Prato della Corte 1915, 00123 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #679 of 1,100 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Village & Camping 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Shuttle Bus from Happy Camping to the nearby Metro station of Prima Porta, which allows to reach the old city center (Piazzale Flaminio) in just 18 minutes. Completely new bungalow with or without bathroom with or without kitchen. All with small private garden. Swimming pool for adults with fully equipped solarium + supervised swimming pool for children (open from May to September). Bar with porch and T.V. room, market, pizzeria and panoramic restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, PitchUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Happy Village & Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Village And Camping
Happy Village & Camping Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing